• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does anyone care about 10Gb LAN? (Poll)

Do you want 10Gb LAN on a Motherboard?


  • Total voters
    140
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
87 (0.29/day)
10 GBit ist about 1 GByte data rate.
Without a harddrive able to provide such a constant data rate your network would have to wait for your harddrive all the time, assuming all your home network (switches, cables, ..) is 10 GBit capable.
My personal conclusion: without a good SSD on your NAS and a network with 10GBit support this a waste of resources.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,867 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
As the thread states, I am looking to see if people care if motherboards have 10Gb LAN.
I use it daily, as I have a 10 Gbps in my PC and my NAS.
Makes a huge difference.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.39/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
indifferent cuz isp router only.

but i do got junk laying around . . . :D
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,204 (0.36/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
10 GBit ist about 1 GByte data rate.
Without a harddrive able to provide such a constant data rate your network would have to wait for your harddrive all the time, assuming all your home network (switches, cables, ..) is 10 GBit capable.
My personal conclusion: without a good SSD on your NAS and a network with 10GBit support this a waste of resources.
Good point. But with PCIe 5.0 drives apparently being released later this year, that bottleneck will be overcome. Of course, its only for those who have the budget for them.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
508 (0.69/day)
Its going to be another decade before I can replace all these 5400 rpm data disks with SSDs - until then, all my disk-to-disk transfers are all slower than gigabit.

I figure by the time I can justify that, the 2.5G ports will finally become standard. ( plenty enough speed bump on my existing Cat5e, for anything except reading from an SSD Nas, because buffer-emptied write speed off cheap ssd is likely lower than 300 MB/s.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
2,036 (0.43/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor R9 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling EK 360mm AIO D-RGB
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x16gb (CL16@3800MHz)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 3090 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe | Intel 660p 2TB NVMe
Display(s) Acer Predator XB323QK 4K 144Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | GoXLR | AKG K612PRO | Beyerdynamic DT880| Rode Pod Mic
Power Supply Corsair AX 850w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite V2
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
VR HMD Oculus Rift
Software Window 11 Pro
I would assumed anybody looking at getting 10gb connection on their NAS has done some research how their NAS drive need to be setup either having SSD/NVME cache or RAID SSD or else as you mentioned is pointless
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
294 (0.18/day)
Indifferent for now. My network at the house is 1GB currently and is nowhere close to being saturated even with multiple Plex streams, internet use, etc.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,867 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I would assumed anybody looking at getting 10gb connection on their NAS has done some research how their NAS drive need to be setup either having SSD/NVME cache or RAID SSD or else as you mentioned is pointless
Pointless you say? No SSD involved.

2018-04-03.png
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
2,036 (0.43/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor R9 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling EK 360mm AIO D-RGB
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x16gb (CL16@3800MHz)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 3090 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe | Intel 660p 2TB NVMe
Display(s) Acer Predator XB323QK 4K 144Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | GoXLR | AKG K612PRO | Beyerdynamic DT880| Rode Pod Mic
Power Supply Corsair AX 850w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite V2
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
VR HMD Oculus Rift
Software Window 11 Pro
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,867 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Welp I take it back, guess depends how many spinning drives you have on your pool or even if your NAS running zfs
That was just four drives in RAID-5.
Not using traditional RAID at the moment thought.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,704 (1.34/day)
System Name Red Pill
Processor Ryzen 9 3900x @ 4.2
Motherboard Asus X570-E Gaming
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro - 2x NF-A14 PPC-3000rpm
Memory 32GB GSkill DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
Storage 1tb NVME MP600 Pro XT, 1tb NVME WD Black, 4tb WD Black, 10tb Seagate Barracuda Pro
Display(s) 3x Dell u2518d | 25" 1440P
Case Lian Li o11 DXL
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Senn HD558 / Senn PC38X
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
The lack of movement in network throughputs is absurd at this point.. My internet connection has a faster download than the LAN side of the modem is capable of, my WiFi is capable of higher speeds than most my LAN... 15 years ago when fast hard drives could run 80MB/s it wasn't as annoying. I'm not sure where / if design issues come into play or if it's been grossly ignored because it's not really a need for most.. I have no 10Gb+ connections for anything other than vhost/san connectivity, and switch stacking. -- Can't justify the costs for my own use yet, but it's past time we move from 1gb.
 
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1,679 (3.63/day)
Location
Lithuania
System Name Shizuka
Processor Intel Core i5 10400F
Motherboard Gigabyte B460M Aorus Pro
Cooling Scythe Choten
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Aegis 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon V2 RX 580 8GB ~100 watts in Wattman
Storage 512GB WD Blue + 256GB WD Green + 4TH Toshiba X300
Display(s) BenQ BL2420PT
Case Cooler Master Silencio S400
Audio Device(s) Topping D10 + AIWA NSX-V70
Power Supply Chieftec A90 550W (GDP-550C)
Mouse Steel Series Rival 100
Keyboard Hama SL 570
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
A must if you edit vid file on your NAS.
Radical idea, but why not just put that storage inside computer? Seems like complete no-brainer.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
771 (0.15/day)
Location
USA
Radical idea, but why not just put that storage inside computer? Seems like complete no-brainer.
Depends on what your working with. For example a single RED 6K project I did was 2TB in size. If I want to work on my computer, it will need to be backed up anyways and any adjusts to my project must be saved each day. At that point, might as well work from the NAS which already has a redundancy.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
2,036 (0.43/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor R9 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling EK 360mm AIO D-RGB
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x16gb (CL16@3800MHz)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 3090 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe | Intel 660p 2TB NVMe
Display(s) Acer Predator XB323QK 4K 144Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | GoXLR | AKG K612PRO | Beyerdynamic DT880| Rode Pod Mic
Power Supply Corsair AX 850w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite V2
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
VR HMD Oculus Rift
Software Window 11 Pro
Radical idea, but why not just put that storage inside computer? Seems like complete no-brainer.
Radical not really, though my personal rig is very capable I feel more safe my work is backed up and I can access my file remotely if needed.
 
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1,679 (3.63/day)
Location
Lithuania
System Name Shizuka
Processor Intel Core i5 10400F
Motherboard Gigabyte B460M Aorus Pro
Cooling Scythe Choten
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Aegis 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon V2 RX 580 8GB ~100 watts in Wattman
Storage 512GB WD Blue + 256GB WD Green + 4TH Toshiba X300
Display(s) BenQ BL2420PT
Case Cooler Master Silencio S400
Audio Device(s) Topping D10 + AIWA NSX-V70
Power Supply Chieftec A90 550W (GDP-550C)
Mouse Steel Series Rival 100
Keyboard Hama SL 570
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Depends on what your working with. For example a single RED 6K project I did was 2TB in size. If I want to work on my computer, it will need to be backed up anyways and any adjusts to my project must be saved each day. At that point, might as well work from the NAS which already has a redundancy.
Why not just use RAID on desktop? RAID 1 always "backs-up".

Radical not really, though my personal rig is very capable I feel more safe my work is backed up and I can access my file remotely if needed.
Wait. So you upload it via wifi from camera and then connect to NAS from computer with cable?
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
771 (0.15/day)
Location
USA
Why not just use RAID on desktop? RAID 1 always "backs-up".
Rule #1 - Never keep important data in one place. This goes for a NAS as well. But depending on your setup, the NAS might have a UPS and a larger redundancy making it a better choice to work from. Don't forget if you have more than one person working on a project its not ideal to live on someones personal computer.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
2,036 (0.43/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor R9 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling EK 360mm AIO D-RGB
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x16gb (CL16@3800MHz)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 3090 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe | Intel 660p 2TB NVMe
Display(s) Acer Predator XB323QK 4K 144Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | GoXLR | AKG K612PRO | Beyerdynamic DT880| Rode Pod Mic
Power Supply Corsair AX 850w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite V2
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
VR HMD Oculus Rift
Software Window 11 Pro
Why not just use RAID on desktop? RAID 1 always "backs-up".


Wait. So you upload it via wifi from camera and then connect to NAS from computer with cable?
My set-up: 10gb fiber to my NAS's (TrueNas vm thru Proxmox server) then 10gb to my unRaid for archiving. I can digest the media on my PC and directly transfer it to NAS folder or thru iSCSI drive from TrueNas, heck I can even fire up another VM with usb passthru and digest media that way.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,454 (4.66/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Good point. But with PCIe 5.0 drives apparently being released later this year, that bottleneck will be overcome. Of course, its only for those who have the budget for them.
A PCI-E Gen3 NVMe SSD can hit these speeds, even the shitting ones even. In my case I have an NVMe SSD as a cache drive in my server, so I often see 10Gb throughput to and from my server to my desktops.

RAID 1 always "backs-up".
RAID1 never backs up.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
23,082 (3.72/day)
Location
Washington
System Name Stardust
Processor I9 12900
Motherboard NUC12EDBi9
Cooling Proprietary
Memory 64GB Mushkin Redline DDR4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) 3x Gigabyte M28U (4k IPS)
Case Little bitty itty NUC 12 Extreme case
Audio Device(s) Schiit Hel 2 on ATH-R70x's
Power Supply FSP 650w
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO (White)
Keyboard Ducky One 3 Pure White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
287 (0.96/day)
Processor R7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3733 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GAMING X
Storage Crucial MX500 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic G225fB
Case Antec 302
Power Supply be quiet! Pure Power 11 700W
My internet barely hits 1Mbps and I don't have a NAS so nope.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,204 (0.36/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
A PCI-E Gen3 NVMe SSD can hit these speeds, even the shitting ones even. In my case I have an NVMe SSD as a cache drive in my server, so I often see 10Gb throughput to and from my server to my desktops.


RAID1 never backs up.
No way in hell can Gen 3 Nvme SSDs hit Gen 5 speed throughput. That overflow of data above 3,500MB/s (PCIe 3.0 peak transfer speed) is stored in the system RAM until it can be written to a permanent storage device.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
587 (0.98/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Unova
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor (B0)
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B550-E
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 + Gelid GC-Extreme
Memory 64 GB (4x 16) Dominator Platinum B-die @ DDR4-3600 16-17-16-34-1 1.375V
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming OC GeForce RTX 3090 24 GB
Storage WD Green SN350 480 GB (x 2), Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB, Intel SSD 320 160 GB, Lexar NS100 256 GB
Display(s) Sony XBR-55X905F
Case Lian Li PC-O11 Air
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 1300W 80+ Gold
Mouse HyperX Pulsefire Haste
Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
Software Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 22H2
No way in hell can Gen 3 Nvme SSDs hit Gen 5 speed throughput. That overflow of data above 3,500MB/s (PCIe 3.0 peak transfer speed) is stored in the system RAM until it can be written to a permanent storage device.

I believe they meant that 3500 MB/s turns out to be around 28 Gbps of bandwidth, so even lower end Gen 3 drives should be able to saturate a 10GbE uplink (1250 MB/s) :)
 

Lenne

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
8,578 (2.43/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Gaming / HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / Intel Xeon X5675
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool h2o
Memory 32GB HyperX DDR4 / 24GB mixed DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti / Asus R9 290X Platinum
Storage ~2TB of SSDs + 2TB / 240GB of SSDs + 1.25TB
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080p / 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) DAC + Superlux HD668B / Corsair HS35 Carbon
Power Supply Fractal Ion 550W / Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB / IBM Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro ENG / Win 10 Pro ENG
Nah, 1Gbit is enough (at least for now) for me and my Internet connection is also just 100Mbit. I may change my mind if I put a server to the corner. :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,444 (1.99/day)
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name main/SFFHTPCARGH!(tm)/Xiaomi Mi TV Stick/Poco F3 5G/Formuler Z7+/Realme Pad
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2/i7-3770/S905X/Snapdragon SD870 5G/HiSilicon Hi3798MV200/Helio G80
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk/HP SFF Q77 Express/uh?/uh?/uh?/UH?!?!?!???
Cooling Enermax ETS-T50 Axe aRGB /basic HP HSF /Aluminum heatsink/Heatpipe/Aluminum heatsink/Aluminum
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Aegis DDR4/8gb DDR3 1600/2gb LPDDR3/6gb LPDDR5 dual channel/2gb LPDDR4/6gb LPDDR4x
Video Card(s) Powercolor Red Devil RX 6700 XT 12gb/Asus GT 730 2gb/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 650/Mali 450MP4/Mali-G52 MC2
Storage 250gb 870EVO/500gb 860EVO/2x1tb/NVMe 512gb+1tb/1tbSE770G&P1-Arion/500gb/8gb/128gb/8gb+uSD 64gb/128gb
Display(s) X58222 32" 2880x1620/273E3LHSB 27" 1920x1080/Samsung E4 6.67" FHD+120hz/32"FHDTV/10.4" IPS 1200x2000
Case Cougar Panzer Max/Elite 8300 SFF/None/back/front glass GG5/OTT/Aluminum
Audio Device(s) Fiio Q1 Mark II+Logitec Z333/SB Audigy RX/HDMI/Nothing ear (1)/HDMI/quad speaker Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Chieftec Proton BDF-1000C /HP 240w/12v 1.5A/4Smart VoltHub PD/QC3.0 9-12V 1.96A
Mouse Speedlink Sovos Vertical-Asus ROG Spatha-Logitech MX Ergo/Xiaomi XMRM-006/touch/Formuler Q2F9
Keyboard Deltaco DK440R/none/touch/Formuler RCU 02F9
VR HMD Medion Erazer
Software Win10 64/Win8.1 64/Android 5.1.1 custom/Android TV 8.1/Android 12/Android 7.0/Android 11
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
voted no, just like Nexus mods premium subscription is useless to me since the capped non premium max speed is literally my connection max speed (~30Mbits), i would see zero improvement, plus my mobo has a 1Gb/2.5Gb (2.5Gb is overkill then :laugh: ) if i used a NAS/server maybe ... although 2.5Gb would be enough.


Nah, 1Gbit is enough (at least for now) for me and my Internet connection is also just 100Mbit. I may change my mind if I put a server to the corner. :)
ah well ... i am not alone :laugh:
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,244 (1.64/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Ares OEM DDR4-3200 (B-die)
Video Card(s) Inno3D RTX 3070 Ti iChill
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
10G network has been on my bucket list for awhile, though I have a small server rack at home. Already got some cheap SFP+ adapters, just need to save up some cash on a semi-decent switch.
I was eyeing something like a Mikrotik CSS610-8G-2S+IN: by far the cheapest, has two SFP+ ports for my PC and NAS, and 10x 1GbE ports for other devices, which means it can replace my Edgerouter 10X in the rack. CS305-1G-4S+ is another good option, but nearly twice as expensive.
Consumer 10gig ethernet is still wa-a-a-ay out of my pocket's reach.
 
Top