• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does ARTIFACT SCANNING working with GTX950/Windows 10

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,906 (4.44/day)
Likes
3,379
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
I don't think so. ATiTool is greatly depreciated at this point. The top tests are either Furmark or Kombustor, but such tests are usually not recommended because they cause extremely high loads and could possibly damage your card. Most people set a benchmarking utility (3Dmark, unigine) to loop and watch for artifacts or crashes. Others just game on and hope for the best.
 
Likes: Vario
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#3
I still use it for testing video cards and OC
In many instances it detects artifacts way earlier than games
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,906 (4.44/day)
Likes
3,379
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
I've since made an effort to actually push my graphics card (thanks to 7 days to die, game loves fast vram it seems). I used OCCT GPU test. It does have an artifact scanner. So far so good since I found my max stable clock with OCCT...
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#6
I've since made an effort to actually push my graphics card (thanks to 7 days to die, game loves fast vram it seems). I used OCCT GPU test. It does have an artifact scanner. So far so good since I found my max stable clock with OCCT...
In my experience, Atitool seems to detect them earlier than OCCT when OCing (i.e it needs less scan time to detect them) while OCCT takes longer but that was with older GPUs
It's true that OCCT is more modern, is actively developed, supports DX11, has more options, and is more likely to be more relevant with more recent video cards
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
871 (0.26/day)
Likes
457
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#7
would ya be so kind and test gputool if it works under win 10?
TIA
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
I've since made an effort to actually push my graphics card (thanks to 7 days to die, game loves fast vram it seems). I used OCCT GPU test. It does have an artifact scanner. So far so good since I found my max stable clock with OCCT...
I'm having a problem with OCCT not downloading. The page just refreshes every seconds. Even clicking the link it wont work. Using Google Chrome.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#9
would ya be so kind and test gputool if it works under win 10?
TIA
Sin título.png

And is a Windows 10 insider build running on my desktop, to make things harder :)
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
I've since made an effort to actually push my graphics card (thanks to 7 days to die, game loves fast vram it seems). I used OCCT GPU test. It does have an artifact scanner. So far so good since I found my max stable clock with OCCT...
I take back what i said about it not downloading, it must be a chrome thing. I downloaded on IE just fine.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,906 (4.44/day)
Likes
3,379
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#11
I take back what i said about it not downloading, it must be a chrome thing. I downloaded on IE just fine.
I think I had the same issue. Instead of trying a different browser (using Chrome as well) I just downloaded it from Major Geeks.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#12
I take back what i said about it not downloading, it must be a chrome thing. I downloaded on IE just fine.
I don't have any issues with Chrome and the official OCCT site :confused:
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
2,470 (1.34/day)
Likes
1,326
Location
USA
#13
Out of curiosity inspired by this thread, I ran AtiTool again and it seemed to still work fine and pushed my card to it's limit. Not bad for a really old tool! Shows just how well it was written. To be fair, FurMark is much better suited for stress testing a GPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,475 (0.42/day)
Likes
660
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#14
Out of curiosity inspired by this thread, I ran AtiTool again and it seemed to still work fine and pushed my card to it's limit. Not bad for a really old tool! Shows just how well it was written. To be fair, FurMark is much better suited for stress testing a GPU.

Why would you suggest a tool, that stresses a GPU beyond the capacity of any game? Especially for someone who may be new to overclocking like the OP is.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
2,470 (1.34/day)
Likes
1,326
Location
USA
#15
Why would you suggest a tool, that stresses a GPU beyond the capacity of any game? Especially for someone who may be new to overclocking like the OP is.
I didn't, they were using it on their own. I was just tinkering. But pushing a card to it's limit will show whether a card can run in stable in it's overclocked state. Besides, everyone has to start somewhere.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,201 (0.53/day)
Likes
883
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/Backup/HTPC
Processor 5820K@4.4/X5650@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD5 WiFi/Asus P6TD Deluxe/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Coolermaster TPC-800/Antec C40
Memory HyperX Fury 16GB 2133 MHz/Corsair Vengeance 10GB/Crucial Balistix Tactical 4GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 FE/GTX 690/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/OCZ Trion 100/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c + Asus VC239H + Sammy T200/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Aerocool Aero-500/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX+SMSL SA50(Tannoy F1)/AMD HD/ Intel HD Audio+ Logi Z323
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair TX650/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit
#16
I didn't, they were using it on their own. I was just tinkering. But pushing a card to it's limit will show whether a card can run in stable in it's overclocked state. Besides, everyone has to start somewhere.
Thing is, it wont. When in Furmark, the card's driver wont allow the card to activate its boost clocks, as it has been known for Furmark to be a power virus, so nvidia blocked it.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
2,470 (1.34/day)
Likes
1,326
Location
USA
#17
Thing is, it wont. When in Furmark, the card's driver wont allow the card to activate its boost clocks, as it has been known for Furmark to be a power virus, so nvidia blocked it.
ATITool, is tool old. Doubt they're blocking it. However, there a simple trick to making Furmark stress a card to it's maximum, Run it outside the "Program Files" directory and rename the EXE. Run in portable mode it doesn't get "detected" unless the NVidia driver now look at the Digital Sig.
 

cronnin

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#21
Nice, thank you. Will it report errors like AtiTool, or do I have to stare at the animation for hours and look for "bad" pixels?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
871 (0.26/day)
Likes
457
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#22
if there are problems it says so in the left corner + the time when it happend.
 
Top