• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does GPU-Z not detect driverless GPU?

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
349 (2.96/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Nettop
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
So recently I just purchased & acquired 2 extra used, beatened-up laptop that is nearly as old as I am most likely for my workflow. Given that they are mid-range class laptop, installing Windows XP was my best option. I do not know the make & model of these laptops as I only received the laptop unit & it's power adapter only (meaning, no box or manual or info). I got most drivers working for it's components except for their GPU. I was hoping I could use GPU-Z to detect & find out what kind of GPU does these laptops have but GPU-Z turns up with no result. So what other software can I use to find out what GPU these laptops have. For all I know, the GPU could be NVidia, ATI, Intel, a potato, or even an anal-probing alien. BTW, I'm using GPU-Z 2.33.0.

First time posting in this forum, so I'd appreciate any help I can get. Thanks...
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,132 (4.55/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Bios, or Device Manager?
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
349 (2.96/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Nettop
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,269 (3.52/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
It should be able to detect something, do you see anything in device manager for vga cards?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,865 (2.00/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,141 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Just go to Device Manager and in it's properties check Hardware ID of "VGA Compatible" device under video adapters.
Example of Hardware ID string : "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2562&CC_0300"
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
349 (2.96/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Nettop
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
It should be able to detect something, do you see anything in device manager for vga cards?
It just shows up as "Generic VGA Controller". I'm sure WinXP can't identify what the hardware model is without a driver.

GPU-Z screenshot?
Sorry, just had those laptop set up yesterday, so I haven't installed any screenshot software on it yet.

Just go to Device Manager and in it's properties check Hardware ID of "VGA Compatible" device under video adapters.
Example of Hardware ID string : "PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2562&CC_0300"
That works... It's shows four strings on the one I haven't identified yet:
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&SUBSYS_C706144D&REV_09
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&SUBSYS_C706144D
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&CC_0300


Anyway, I have managed to identify one of them as GeForce Go 6200 after installing some legacy driver from Nvidia. The other one I suspect is an Intel. Maybe Intel GMA?
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
23,173 (4.27/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
If the CPU is a Pentium dual core it is possibly this which came up when searching that Subsystem ID ..........

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,269 (3.52/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
8086 0106 is sandy bridge integrated graphics, gpuz should be able to detect it, even with no driver installed, most fields should ready correctly
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
748 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
How much RAM on this thing?
Unless you are some kind of Windows XP drivers developer, putting WinXP on this is bad idea.
Why don't you use a more modern OS, such as Windows 7? :confused:
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,190 (0.55/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
It just shows up as "Generic VGA Controller". I'm sure WinXP can't identify what the hardware model is without a driver.


Sorry, just had those laptop set up yesterday, so I haven't installed any screenshot software on it yet.


That works... It's shows four strings on the one I haven't identified yet:
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&SUBSYS_C706144D&REV_09
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&SUBSYS_C706144D
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&CC_0300


Anyway, I have managed to identify one of them as GeForce Go 6200 after installing some legacy driver from Nvidia. The other one I suspect is an Intel. Maybe Intel GMA?
Googling those device IDs gives the answer straight away...

You wouldn't have this problem if you were using Windows 10 or even Windows 7.

8086 0106 is sandy bridge integrated graphics, gpuz should be able to detect it, even with no driver installed, most fields should ready correctly
Even on the ancient POS that is Windows XP?
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
349 (2.96/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Nettop
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
If the CPU is a Pentium dual core it is possibly this which came up when searching that Subsystem ID ..........

After installing the driver, as it turns out, that is the processor/gpu inside the laptop. Thanks for that.
8086 0106 is sandy bridge integrated graphics, gpuz should be able to detect it, even with no driver installed, most fields should ready correctly
It didn't gave the needed info to know what it was on WinXP. Maybe only works on Windows NT 6?

How much RAM on this thing?
Unless you are some kind of Windows XP drivers developer, putting WinXP on this is bad idea.
Why don't you use a more modern OS, such as Windows 7? :confused:
Googling those device IDs gives the answer straight away...

You wouldn't have this problem if you were using Windows 10 or even Windows 7.
The Intel GPU came with 1 GB DDR3 RAM, while the GeForce GPU came with 256 MB DDR2 RAM, which is why Windows NT 6 won't give my a smooth workflow experience. Besides, I love WinXP's GUI so I can dedicate the laptop for school & general stuff, while the desktop can be used solely for gaming, maybe.


Looking at the Intel CPU/GPU combo spec page above, it says that the CPU came out in 2012. I would have thought that, that one came out in the late 2000s considering I got them both for about equivalent to US$100 each & how beatened up they both look. The other one is a 2006 laptop.

Anyway, my problem is solved, so thank you everyone for their input.
 
Top