• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Doubling ram...how much better will it be?

ny_driver

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
777 (0.19/day)
Likes
28
Location
central new york
System Name Overclock_Machine
Processor DFI LP UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Motherboard Opteron 146(3746MHz)
Cooling A/C Chiller w/ mod-Apogee XT/EK-FC4890 Special Edition
Memory 2 x 512MB OCZ Gold VX PC4000
Video Card(s) HD4890-Sapphire OC Edition
Display(s) Acer G235H-23" LCD
Case no, thanks
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Corsair TX-850w
Software Tiny7/XP
Benchmark Scores 6.625Ghz 965BE - CPU-Z 25,607 points 3dmark06 - 2 cards@952/1050
#1
I have 2 @ 512 crucial ballistix (2-2-2-8).....I just purchased 2 more of the same and they should be here by the weekend. Do you think my fps will improve much? GTR2 is very computer hungry.:banghead: Thanks for the input mates;)
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#2
Not really, you need a better GPU for that.
 

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.79/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#3
Not really, you need a better GPU for that.
Ditto, but 2 gigs will be nice for RTS games like COH if you get a better vid card :p ati will be releasing some dx10 cards soon you should wait for that and wait for Nividias 8600 series... should be coming out in a month or 2 @ most. dont get a 8800gts/gtx, your cpu will bottleneck it to much.. chances are the 8800gts will be bottlenecked by mine even.
 

ny_driver

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
777 (0.19/day)
Likes
28
Location
central new york
System Name Overclock_Machine
Processor DFI LP UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Motherboard Opteron 146(3746MHz)
Cooling A/C Chiller w/ mod-Apogee XT/EK-FC4890 Special Edition
Memory 2 x 512MB OCZ Gold VX PC4000
Video Card(s) HD4890-Sapphire OC Edition
Display(s) Acer G235H-23" LCD
Case no, thanks
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Corsair TX-850w
Software Tiny7/XP
Benchmark Scores 6.625Ghz 965BE - CPU-Z 25,607 points 3dmark06 - 2 cards@952/1050
#4
geez...I'm already looking at being bottlenecked by the cpu again?:eek:what about the HIS x1950pro/512mb/iceQturbo?
 

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.79/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#5
Thats a great card man, I just rather a dx 10card because they kick ass in dx9 games more than dx9 cards :p its a worthy "investment".

The 8800 series is Nividas top of the line dx10 for now.. the gts is like 2x my 1900gt thats almost the same as 1950pro acording to tom hardware review or some other site that compares one video card to the other.

but your choice on his1950pro 512 is a good one.. I heard ALOT of good about the 1950pro being so much better than teh 1900gt.. Ill find the link comparing the 2 though and edit this post.

Look in here. http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=28975
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.84/day)
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#6
Chewy. From where on do you think my X1950Xt is no longer bottlenecked by my CPU.
Do i need a dual core for that?

Thanks m8
 

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.79/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#7
Im not sure, but someone told me they set up a friends rig for him and the 8800gts was being bottlenecked by the e6400 or 6300 he had installed in the system.. even when overclocked.

I dont know much anything on AMD cpu's since I just really got into hardware like 8 months ago. I know the amd3700 is a great single core chip but games are going to start utilizing duel core more often soon. Is your 1950xt bottlenecked by your cpu? I wouldent think so, thats a good chip prob near as fast as mine but single core.?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.22/day)
Likes
63
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
#8
I have an AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Dual Core running on a radeon X1650 Pro that is my brothers and I just was wondering when I do buy another video card seeing this one is not really mine, say I bought an 8600GTS or somthing would it be worse because of my 3800+ Dual Core?
 

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.79/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#9
I think you should be ok, if not just oc some.. and no it wont be worst your cpu will become the bottleneck.. Im not sure about amd cpu's though but I give them respect even if c2d is better than the current competition.

In my case where the e6300/6400overclocked (I think it was @3.2) there was not to much of a bottleneck with the 8800gts but it was there.. me I would like to get a top end r600 card and than in the summer get Q6600 (quad core). :)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#10
Chewy. From where on do you think my X1950Xt is no longer bottlenecked by my CPU.
Do i need a dual core for that?

Thanks m8
I scored 12613 with a totally stock x1950XT in a C2D rig. So, if you are lower than that stock, then you are being bottlenecked.

edit - In 3dmark05 that is.