• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Download speed has gotten slow!

Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#1
Well lads.

I will put it simply, for example.. on speedtest I would get 95meg line average as I have a 100meg line, and only get 25/35mbps average now...
Now the past few days I have noticed that when I download on steam, it never reaches any higher than 3.5mbps compared to 10mbps average that I usually get.

I have no idea why this is?
My brother has pretty much the exact same PC and wireless adapter as me! and he gets the usual 10mbps on steam and is currently getting 80/85mbps on speed test?!?!

He is even further away from the router than me!!

What is going on??? Why on earth has my PC gotten slower download rate than him?
How can I fix this and get my full bandwidth once more??
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#2
Are you on wired or wireless? If you are on wireless check your wireless router settings, otherwise check cables.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#3
Wireless. I have checked settings and they are as they should be, I see nothing out of the ordinary so it must be something to do with the OS??
Currently using Windows 8 64-bit
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#4
SMH...:shadedshu wireless... :banghead:

great for iPad, not so great for a rock-solid connection
time to debug...

run a long ethernet cable to your router and compare speeds.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#5
I don't have a cable that long sadly!
I know the router is fine so I guess it's my flipping dongle? I will take his dongle and see if that changes anything!

Edit: Nah! his didn't change anything either :/

Edit again!: Figured it out! I got a male usb to female usb cable that's 2m and just plugged it into that and attached it to my desk. Now getting 80/85mbps!
So I guess it's important to raise the dongle up off the floor? Oh well!
Happy days! Cheers lads!
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Yes, the position of the adapter can have a huge affect on your connection performance. Sometimes simply moving it about a foot can make it go from super slow to working fine.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#7
Well lads.

I will put it simply, for example.. on speedtest I would get 95meg line average as I have a 100meg line, and only get 25/35mbps average now...
Now the past few days I have noticed that when I download on steam, it never reaches any higher than 3.5mbps compared to 10mbps average that I usually get.

I have no idea why this is?
My brother has pretty much the exact same PC and wireless adapter as me! and he gets the usual 10mbps on steam and is currently getting 80/85mbps on speed test?!?!

He is even further away from the router than me!!

What is going on??? Why on earth has my PC gotten slower download rate than him?
How can I fix this and get my full bandwidth once more??

I had this issue just recently and solved it.

Got a 60Mb/s connection, but it suddenly dropped to 8Mb/sec. At first I thought it was spyware/adware. Done the usual scans and nothing malicious was found. Downloaded tools like TCP optimiser to help "fix" the connection. I literally tried everything.

I rebooted my router to default manufacturer configuration, did tweaks within windows, nothing worked.

I was adamant it was my ISP. Called up Virgin Media and they sent me a new router. Router came and no luck. They sent an engineer round and he disconnected the wireless card and used the physical cable and I got a full 60Mb/s. So I knew the problem was on my end.

So this left the issue to be either my computer (OS level) or the wireless card. I'm cheap and hate buying stuff so didn't want to spend money on a wireless card. Eventually I reinstalled Windows 7 and now I'm getting my full 60Mb/s again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
669 (0.16/day)
Likes
28
Location
England, UK
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI SE
Cooling 2 Exhaust fans
Memory 2x512MB DDR400 RAM
Video Card(s) Connect3D ATI Radeon X1900XT 512MB
Storage 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax
Display(s) Packard bell 17" CRT
Case Stock
Power Supply 580W Hiper Type-R
#8
EDIT: Only just saw that you got it working, I've had that issue before putting my router in a corner on the floor meant that i had really bad range. Put it higher up on a window and gained enough range to cover my house!

:toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#9
Yeah it's quite staggering the difference it can make by adjusting the height of the router and adapters! I will remember this that's for sure :L

@Dent1 That's quite the story! So it turned out to be the OS?? How long was it before you reformatted the system? I hope I never run into that issue!

@Seany1212 I have my router put on top of a supercer! Gives it an almighty boost in range :L
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
Yes, the position of the adapter can have a huge affect on your connection performance. Sometimes simply moving it about a foot can make it go from super slow to working fine.
This. Put your adapter closest to the access point. My friend made the mistake of putting the adapter on the back of his tower where the AP was in front (and downstairs) from the PC. The signal and speed were terrible until I put the adapter in one of the front USB ports instead so the wi-fi signal didn't have to travel through the PC chassis. Positioning can have a big impact on performance depending on the ambient conditions.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#11
Yeah I tried it at the back of the case and it only got 4mbps! It actually wouldn't load a webpage?! seems a bit drastic!

Edit: My brother has raised his dongle even higher which is right under his window.. he is getting 102/105mbps constant now! Quite impressive!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#12
Yeah it's quite staggering the difference it can make by adjusting the height of the router and adapters! I will remember this that's for sure :L

@Dent1 That's quite the story! So it turned out to be the OS?? How long was it before you reformatted the system? I hope I never run into that issue!

@Seany1212 I have my router put on top of a supercer! Gives it an almighty boost in range :L
It was almost 2 years ago since I last formatted my HDD. But my connection issue lasted about 4 months before I formatted it again
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#13
SMH...:shadedshu wireless... :banghead:

great for iPad, not so great for a rock-solid connection
time to debug...

run a long ethernet cable to your router and compare speeds.
This. I always use ethernet cable. Wireless is for smartphones and tablets.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#14
SMH...:shadedshu wireless... :banghead:

great for iPad, not so great for a rock-solid connection
time to debug...

run a long ethernet cable to your router and compare speeds.

This. I always use ethernet cable. Wireless is for smartphones and tablets.
Says who? Been using wireless for like 7 years with very few issues.

Gaming, torrents, music, not a problem. Its 2013.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#15
Gaming, torrents, music, not a problem. Its 2013.
Slightly off topic, which option do you use in your torrent program preferences? Enabled or forced; I'm saying because Virgin Media is known to throttle the speeds.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
SMH...:shadedshu wireless... :banghead:

great for iPad, not so great for a rock-solid connection
time to debug...

run a long ethernet cable to your router and compare speeds.
This. I always use ethernet cable. Wireless is for smartphones and tablets.
That's why I get this at work on a SpeedTest over wireless, right?

Screen Shot 2013-08-28 at 10.38.41 AM.png
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#17
Slightly off topic, which option do you use in your torrent program preferences? Enabled or forced; I'm saying because Virgin Media is known to throttle the speeds.
Virgin Media do not throttle their speeds unless you reach their daily bandwidth quota between 4:00PM-11:00PM weekdays, or 11:00AM-11:00PM Weekends of 3.6GB. The throttle is only lasts 60mins, then the temporary throttle is lifted.

On a 60Mbit connection, the throttle is only 30%, so you still are getting 42Mbit/sec which is still insanely fast and still better value for money than anything BT offer including Infinity.

To answer your question I use "forced" in Utorrent. Only because I'm paranoid that some motion picture company will track me and sue me.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
To answer your question I use "forced" in Utorrent. Only because I'm paranoid that some motion picture company will track me and sue me.
That doesn't change anything. That just encrypts the traffic. The RIAA/MPAA get people by connecting to the torrent and actually establishing a connection with people who are connected to the tracker. Something like PeerGuardian2 PeerBlock (I guess it changed names?) is a better option if you're really concerned about being hunted down.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#19
That doesn't change anything. That just encrypts the traffic. The RIAA/MPAA get people by connecting to the torrent and actually establishing a connection with people who are connected to the tracker. Something like PeerGuardian2 PeerBlock (I guess it changed names?) is a better option if you're really concerned about being hunted down.

The way I see it is there is no disadvantages to having encryption disabled, so I leave it on anyways.

My downloading habits have changed drastically over the last few years I tend to only download free mixtapes rather than retail music and with YouTube, Iplayer, 4OD and On Demand streaming in general I find myself downloading movies and TV shows less frequently. I'm not a big fan of seeding so I cut the torrent off as soon as I finish downloading. At one point in time I bought a proxy IP. Integrated really well into IE and utorrent and didn't really affect my latency much but my paranoia has since dissipated slightly.

I just ran a speed test. I'm on wireless for anyone that thinks Ethernet Is the only way.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#20
try the speedtest on an ethernet cable and your ping will decrease.

and their is nothing that you can you to stop being tracked on a torrent, because you do not have control over the "internet"...
have you not been reading about the NSA Debacle, and how Eric Snowden "let the sunshine in" :pimp::slap:

but the NSA tracking the bittorrents is NOT what the NSA does... it is just "noise" to them.
it is the Sophisticated filters that the ISP use to manage the traffic that is tracking you.

using a VPN is a way to hide your location or use TOR, but that use in frowned upon because their are more inportant things that need to be Anonymized than bittorrent traffic.

in anycase an ip address is not you. but you are being "tracked" if only to sent the packets to the right address. so perhaps the best method (if you are paraniod about being tracked) is to delete or get rid of the file after you have watched it...)

personally i do not like bittorrent, but that is just me, and i have not had a reason to use bittorrent over the 'donkey'... i guess i prefer to search for the porn in emule.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,515 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#21
try the speedtest on an ethernet cable and your ping will decrease.
This is not necessarily true. With the proper hardware and reduced interference you can get within 1 MS of that of a wired connection. There is a lot of factors when it comes to wireless but if you know what you are doing buying and setting up the LAN network you will be good.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#22
try the speedtest on an ethernet cable and your ping will decrease.


On wired I get almost the same ping.

My ping is actually lower than my friends whom are on wired because they have crap ISPs.

I think with my ping not being even lower is more of a ISP and exchange distance bottleneck than wireless interface.


and their is nothing that you can you to stop being tracked on a torrent, because you do not have control over the "internet"...
have you not been reading about the NSA Debacle, and how Eric Snowden "let the sunshine in" :pimp::slap:

but the NSA tracking the bittorrents is NOT what the NSA does... it is just "noise" to them.
it is the Sophisticated filters that the ISP use to manage the traffic that is tracking you.

using a VPN is a way to hide your location or use TOR, but that use in frowned upon because their are more inportant things that need to be Anonymized than bittorrent traffic.

in anycase an ip address is not you. but you are being "tracked" if only to sent the packets to the right address. so perhaps the best method (if you are paraniod about being tracked) is to delete or get rid of the file after you have watched it...)

personally i do not like bittorrent, but that is just me, and i have not had a reason to use bittorrent over the 'donkey'... i guess i prefer to search for the porn in emule.
Interesting.

I'm not a fan of emule or other non torrent P2P. I always end up with fake files.

With torrents I can read the comments or just search under release groups I trust so I know its authentic before I download.

I've been reading up on Newsgroups, but still haven't figured out how to use it. Apparently there is a fee?