• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DP to DVI adapter not working on Radeon RX 5700 XT

calisun

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
I have created a post on AMD Support Forum and nobody is answering, so I thought I would create a post here hoping someone here will be able to help.
Original post on AMD Forum

My question is, anybody has any suggestions on how to get it to work?
What about updating GPU Bios, is that suggested?
 

calisun

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
And the sad part is, I mentioned their competition "NVidia" in one of my responses and now my post is de-listed. It is still there if you know direct link to it, but it is not showing up in the Recent Content of the forum, even if I add response (It did before).
How pitty and sad on AMD Part.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,191 (5.06/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
What adapter are you trying to use?

Most inexpensive DP->DVI adapters are passive and might not work unless the port is DP++. You might have to make sure you are using an active DP adapter.
 

calisun

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
At first I did have a generic adapter, but after browsing several forums, I found suggestion to get Active adapter. So later I got an Active adapter and still no luck.
The 2nd adapter I got is
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,298 (0.37/day)
And the sad part is, I mentioned their competition "NVidia" in one of my responses and now my post is de-listed. It is still there if you know direct link to it, but it is not showing up in the Recent Content of the forum, even if I add response (It did before).
How pitty and sad on AMD Part.
You prob were leaning towards trolling from their perspective becuase your issue is with the DP converter not the gpu. FYI, the converters SUCK. They all do. Even if you splurge and get the 100 buck powered by usb converters, they STILL SUCK.

I'd also add that you are going thru the same shit we all did like 5 years ago when ppl were still trying to run mixed port monitors to run eyefinity or nv surround. Sometimes it worked, most of the time it didn't and it came with a bazillion issues that randomly cropped up. PPL don't run mixed panels today, regardless.

Btw, I just double checked since it's been years since I messed with mixed ports, but Nvidia doesn't even allow using mixed ports with Surround. That means you would get no where fast with mixed port panels.
 
Last edited:

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,436 (0.45/day)
It's impossible to find an adapter that does a perfect signal conversion.

The monitor with DVI can be either digital or analog.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (6.06/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
At first I did have a generic adapter, but after browsing several forums, I found suggestion to get Active adapter. So later I got an Active adapter and still no luck.
The 2nd adapter I got is
That one should work but it is only single-link aka 1920x1200 @ 60 Hz maximum. Are you trying to exceed that?

1) Make sure the DVI cable is securely fastened on both ends. It may have fallen out of one end.
2) DP to DVI induces latency which causes problems across all vendors (especially on Windows). HDMI to DVI is definitely preferred but it too is limited to 1920x1200 @ 60 Hz unless it's super fancy.
3) Have you verified that the monitor still works at all?
4) Make sure the monitor is set to use DVI input.

Navi does support adapters. I'm using a DP to DVI active adapter right now.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
68 (0.17/day)
Location
The Heart of Dixie
System Name Aurene
Processor Intel Core i7-9700K
Motherboard ASRock Z390M Pro4
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 2x16 GiB G.Skill PC4-26600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX Vega64
Storage ½ TB Samsung 960Pro + 2 TB Crucial MX500 + NAS
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF + LG 32UD99-W
Case Fractal Design Define Mini-C
Audio Device(s) Audioengine HD3 + S8
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus PX-850
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Rosewill RK9000BR
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,930 (4.23/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
What you need is a DisplayPort to DVI Active Adapter.
Single-link DVI is good for up to 1920x1200 @60Hz. Dual-link DVI is required for higher resolutions.
Some of these are available as a cable that includes the active adapter. Here's an inexpensive ($14½) single link example:
https://www.amazon.com/CableCreation-DisplayPort-Eyefinity-Support-Multi-Screen/dp/B019Q7I2M0/
He has an active Display Port to DVI-D Adapter.

My guess is he is using it backwards and it's not bi-directional.
 
Last edited:

calisun

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
Caring1, can you please clarify your statement? "My guess is he is using it backwards"
You also said: "He has an active DVI-D to Display Port adapter."
The adapter I have is DP to DVI, not the other way around.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,436 (0.45/day)
You need two things:

1. Quality DP to HDMI adapter.
2. HDMI to DVI cable.

Plug the DVI monitor to the native HDMI output.

Plug the TV to the DP output with the adapter.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,930 (4.23/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Caring1, can you please clarify your statement? "My guess is he is using it backwards"
You also said: "He has an active DVI-D to Display Port adapter."
The adapter I have is DP to DVI, not the other way around.
typo, my bad.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,444 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
I agree with @Regeneration and @FordGT90Concept it's easier with HDMI to DVI but it can be done and it's just takes quality adapters where all the licenses are corrent so the cheap passive once off aliexpress, ebay, taoboa and so on doesn't do jack you need adapter from like Delock, Dell or Startech depending on where in the word you are you might have other real options.

Passive normally only do 1920x1080@60hz not higher so you need active adapter and they cost a lot more but they can do 1920x1080@144hz and I tested the Dell Bizlink adapters and I could do 2560x1440@100hz without many problems but that was on a Yamakasi Catleap monitor overclocked but I usually ran it at 90Hz to get rid of too much blurr and other problems.

Link: https://www.amazon.com/Dell-BIZLINK-DisplayPort-Adapter-Powered/dp/B003XYBA72

I could even run 2meter quality DVI cables at the same hz.
 
Top