• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Driver Sweeper, Win7 SP1 and YOU!!

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Update 1: I cannot find any of the .inf files in the log.

Any other suggestions?
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.24/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Update 1: I cannot find any of the .inf files in the log.

Any other suggestions?
What you should then try is the System Update Readiness Tool for Win7
x64
x86
 

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
I tried it and it finished installing and checking without any error. I tried SP1 after it and the same error appeared: 80073712.
 

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
I did Option 1 and it seems SP1 is installing right.

One note for you is that the missing files showed up in CheckSUR.log and not CBS.log.

You may want to look more into that and change your initial post.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
454 (0.08/day)
Location
Canada/quebec/Montreal
System Name Custom DIY
Processor Intel i7 2600K @ 4.8 Turbo 1.4v
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro 8801
Cooling XSPC RS240 + 120mm Rad/fan
Memory Corsair 1866 Vangence 9-10-9-27-2T
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX570 SLI
Storage OCZ Revodrive 110GB + 2x1TB seagate
Display(s) ASUS MT276HE
Case CoolerMaster Sniper
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Series
Power Supply ANTEC TP-750 Blue 750Watts
Software win7 64
Benchmark Scores http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1347866
i ad problem like this ... (ad nvidia card baught ati) .. only way i was able to install SP1 is using "upgrade for repair" upgrade my W7 with W7 ... then applied sp1 then windows update then drivers.
 

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Update: The installation ran fine, but when I restarted it said that the installation failed and gave me an error code which I can't remember now.

I am trying different things and once I get it working, I will post the solution. Shame on Driver Sweeper for this mess. Never using it again!
 

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,262 (3.40/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 4.8GHz 1.28v
Motherboard MSi Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360 & 6x Corsair LL120s
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 32GB 3200 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samung 970 EVO 250GB (OS), Samsung 970 EVO 1TB (Games)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 1440p Freesync 2 (G-Sync) HDR 165Hz | 2x Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1220 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
How about just dont use Driver Sweeper??
 

AlienIsGOD

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
5,082 (1.17/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name Aliens Ryzen Rig | Hand Me Down Special
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 @ 3.8ghz all cores | i5 3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite (F50a BIOS) | EVGA Z77 FTW
Cooling CM HYPER 212 RGB Black edition | CM Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan | 4 x 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 8GB | Sapphire RX 480 Reference
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 SSD+480 GB M.2 SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | SSD + HDD
Display(s) Acer ED273 27" VA 144hz Freesync |Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P
Case NZXT H500 Black | NZXT 810 Switch
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750w 80+ Gold
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse w/ Razor Goliathus Chroma XL mousemat | Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB w/ Romer G tactile keys | Logitech G513 Carbon w/ Romer G tactile keys
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
I personally use Driver Cleaner Pro that I go from Sapphire Select Cub and have no problems w/ SP 1.
 

karnak

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
System Name The Zimbu Dragon
Processor Phenom II X4 940 BE
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-T
Cooling Scythe Ninja
Memory OCZ DDR2-800 2x2GB
Video Card(s) ASUS 5850 DirectCu Top
Storage 500GB x3
Display(s) Samsung 2253BW
Case CoolerMaster 330
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Is it wrong that I never use driver sweeper or similar and have never had a driver issue?
 

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,262 (3.40/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 4.8GHz 1.28v
Motherboard MSi Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360 & 6x Corsair LL120s
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 32GB 3200 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samung 970 EVO 250GB (OS), Samsung 970 EVO 1TB (Games)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 1440p Freesync 2 (G-Sync) HDR 165Hz | 2x Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1220 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Is it wrong that I never use driver sweeper or similar and have never had a driver issue?
no. Software is a bit more advanced now and just doing an uninstall from the control panel removes the drivers well enough. However if your going from Nvidia to ATi vice versa then use Driver Sweeper or reformat your system.
 

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
I got SP1 installed successfully. Here is what I did.

1. Option #2. Reboot.

2. Ran sfc /scannow and it returned no files missing.

3. Install Windows Update Readiness Tool. Reboot.

4. Install SP1.
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.24/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Good to read that you finally got it sorted out.
 

Kralnor

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Having used Driver Sweeper previously to remove ATI drivers also prevented me from installing SP1, but following the instructions for Option 3 in the OP (manually adding back manifests and directories) solved the problem for me.

I registered just to say thanks for that :D
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,481 (0.84/day)
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
I had a problem last night where my primary 5870 got stuck with high clocks and 100% gpu load. Videos would play without a problem but I just rebooted to fix it. Don't know what I was watching that caused it but I do know that prior to SP1 I didn't have that problem ever. I had 11.2 drivers before and after SP1 install so I know it isn't the driver.
 
Top