• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DTS DCH Driver for Realtek HDA [DTS:X APO4 + DTS Interactive]

Joined
Jun 6, 2021
Messages
112 (0.11/day)
System Name FireBreather
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 7950x
Motherboard CrossHair Extreme x670E
Cooling Asus RoG Strix LC2 360 AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB Series 64GB (2 x 32GB) 288-Pin SDRAM DDR5 6000 CL30-40-40-96 1.40
Video Card(s) 7900 XTX Taichi
Storage 3x- PCI-E 4.0 Nvme 2TB 7GB/s - 2TB N7 USB-3.1 Nvme 1GB/s
Display(s) ASUS - VG259QM 2k 280hz HDR - LG-C1 4K 120hz OLED with Dobly vison
Case ROG Helios
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX ALC4082 codec, and an integrated ESS® ES9218 quad DAC
Power Supply HX1500i - 1500Watt
Mouse Corsair Dark Core
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 pro
Benchmark Scores Time spy - 29000 Port Royal - 17500 Cinabench R23 - ST = 2150 MT = 40000
you need to have a realtek audio chip that is compatible with the driver on your motherboard
 

Bruhimnoob

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2021
Messages
18 (0.02/day)
Hello ferather , you had told me the way to use fx configurator , I applied dts settings fix to the hdmi device but i have conexant chip it is showing dts interactive but saying test tone not playing and my lg tv as in built decoder with dolby digital plus which seems tobe working but i am greedy i want dts too.can you please explain step by step in detail
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
Ah right I thought you had a Realtek, I will need to remove the Realtek APO from the settings but keep the update I added. Once done I will give you the full guide in the other post.

Edit: Just to double check, are you using this DTS DCH driver with a conexant chip? You might need to undo this change and use the actual driver.
 
Last edited:

Bruhimnoob

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2021
Messages
18 (0.02/day)
Thank you very much ,and i wanted to ask one more thing can i use HeSuVi headphone surround virtualiser with equaliser apo.
Also, i have a dell latitude 6430u with some IDT high definition audio codec im not able to understand what even is that

i dont use dts dch with conexant laptop which is dell inspiron 5520
I have another pc with alc 887 gigabyte h81m-s in which your mod is working perfectly and im using impulse response on top of that with equaliser apo upmix
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
No problem, I have not really used HeSuVi very much, I didn't like it. As soon as I heard DTS APO4, and Interactive:X that was the end of my journey for audio.
I also tried the Dolby atmos, its good, but my ears prefer DTS. Another one I like is Boom3D, although I don't use it on my AMD.

 
Joined
Jun 6, 2021
Messages
112 (0.11/day)
System Name FireBreather
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 7950x
Motherboard CrossHair Extreme x670E
Cooling Asus RoG Strix LC2 360 AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB Series 64GB (2 x 32GB) 288-Pin SDRAM DDR5 6000 CL30-40-40-96 1.40
Video Card(s) 7900 XTX Taichi
Storage 3x- PCI-E 4.0 Nvme 2TB 7GB/s - 2TB N7 USB-3.1 Nvme 1GB/s
Display(s) ASUS - VG259QM 2k 280hz HDR - LG-C1 4K 120hz OLED with Dobly vison
Case ROG Helios
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX ALC4082 codec, and an integrated ESS® ES9218 quad DAC
Power Supply HX1500i - 1500Watt
Mouse Corsair Dark Core
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 pro
Benchmark Scores Time spy - 29000 Port Royal - 17500 Cinabench R23 - ST = 2150 MT = 40000
dts seems to have much better compatibility with games and over all much higher quality from my experiments had a ton of issues with dd live when it comes to games with positional audio being all out of wack
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
The Realtek APO from 9200.1 is a big improvement from 9175.1, there is no distortion under testing.
My AMD is also more 3D, I programmed it like Realtek, DTS APO4 > Realtek APO.

AMD DCH - DTS Edition - YouTube (Screen recorder, downmixes to 2 channel).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
139 (0.11/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X (H²O)
Motherboard ASRock X470 Taichi
Cooling NZXT X61 + 2x PH-F140XP | NZXT X41 + PH-F140XP
Memory G.Skill 32 GiB DDR4@3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT (H²O)
Storage Crucial MX200 250GB, SEC 970 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 34GL750
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) ALC1220, UR44
Power Supply BeQuiet! SP E10 700W
Mouse EndgameGear XM1
Keyboard Cherry RS 6000M
Software KDE neon | Win10
Double click install, wait for Windows to tell you to restart, wait 5-10 seconds then restart.
I follow your guide, but what should I now "double-click install"?
Which package? Do you mean the DTS DCH 6.0.9200.1 or the FXconfigurator or ..?

If DTS DCH 6.0.9200.1, should I choose main driver ... or alternative?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
If DTS DCH 6.0.9200.1, should I choose main driver ... or alternative? - Main

You only need to install, after that you don't need to do any extra steps, other than install apps.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
139 (0.11/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X (H²O)
Motherboard ASRock X470 Taichi
Cooling NZXT X61 + 2x PH-F140XP | NZXT X41 + PH-F140XP
Memory G.Skill 32 GiB DDR4@3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT (H²O)
Storage Crucial MX200 250GB, SEC 970 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 34GL750
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) ALC1220, UR44
Power Supply BeQuiet! SP E10 700W
Mouse EndgameGear XM1
Keyboard Cherry RS 6000M
Software KDE neon | Win10
Thanx for your help!
Did it some hours before with "alternative driver". It works.
I thought, that this is a Realtek driver because of the number format "6.0.9200.1", that's why I choose Alternative.
Could I change it without problems with de- and re-installing it?

All seams to be fine but resistance of my headphone. It's a pity, that I can't change it from ~1500 ohms to around 60-100 ohms.
My DT 770 PRO has 80 ohms. With 1500 ohms the gain is really high. But it's okay, I can reduce the volume of the audio endpoint.

The "Surround Sound" of stereo sources sounds like DHT4, Dolby Atmos and so on. The options are nearly the same too.
Maybe the most benefits are MultiChannel Support. I'll test it with some films and games.

Best regards
 

Attachments

  • DTS-Headphone.png
    DTS-Headphone.png
    37.8 KB · Views: 94
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
There is a slight bug with the Realtek APO, and DTS Settings, on My AMD the settings work perfectly, but on my friends PC, I had to remove the Realtek lines to make the .reg work.
The strange part is, they only thing that changes is the EFX keys, from DTS-Interactive to DTS-Realtek, where SFX and MFX are unchanged.

I am currently investigating the issue, the DTS APO has no issues, and I can use the .reg as much as I like for DTS APO.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
139 (0.11/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X (H²O)
Motherboard ASRock X470 Taichi
Cooling NZXT X61 + 2x PH-F140XP | NZXT X41 + PH-F140XP
Memory G.Skill 32 GiB DDR4@3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT (H²O)
Storage Crucial MX200 250GB, SEC 970 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 34GL750
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) ALC1220, UR44
Power Supply BeQuiet! SP E10 700W
Mouse EndgameGear XM1
Keyboard Cherry RS 6000M
Software KDE neon | Win10
@Ferather
I tried out the 'main driver' of your DTS DCH 6.0.9200.1 and found one problem, what I not had with 'alternate driver'.
On SPDIF I coudn't change the format setting. It was fixed on 16 bit / 48.000 Hz ... and DTS Interactive.
The analogue Realtek loudspeaker and headphone are not effected, only SPDIF.

With 'alternate driver' I could change that.

P.S.
You were a moment faster! :D
Do you mean the same issue what I'm telling you right now?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
No, hehe.

1. On SPDIF I coudn't change the format setting. It was fixed on 16 bit / 48.000 Hz ... and DTS Interactive.

That is correct, the Realtek panel will say 16/48, but its wrong. The output is 24/48 DTS, not 16/48 PCM.
The main driver is dedicated 6 channel SPDIF with Interactive, you cannot choose 2 channel PCM.


2. The analogue Realtek loudspeaker and headphone are not effected, only SPDIF. With 'alternate driver' I could change that.

Correct, the alternative is set to the default 2 channel PCM for SPDIF, and therefore all the PCM options can apply.


The 'DTS Settings' where produced to allow you to change this at a later date without re-installing the driver.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
139 (0.11/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X (H²O)
Motherboard ASRock X470 Taichi
Cooling NZXT X61 + 2x PH-F140XP | NZXT X41 + PH-F140XP
Memory G.Skill 32 GiB DDR4@3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT (H²O)
Storage Crucial MX200 250GB, SEC 970 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 34GL750
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) ALC1220, UR44
Power Supply BeQuiet! SP E10 700W
Mouse EndgameGear XM1
Keyboard Cherry RS 6000M
Software KDE neon | Win10
Thank you for explantation. That helped me to understand.
So the 'alternative driver' is my choice. I did it right the first time by my intuition.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
DTS Settings Quick Guide:

1.png2.png


----

If you plug in speakers-headphones, after a full machine start, you might need to restart 'DTS APO4 Service'.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
DTS DCH 6.0.9205.1 (Signed)

Features: DTS:X Ultra, DTS Headphones:X v2, DTS Interactive:X (APO4).

Main directory: https://www.mediafire.com/folder/9yrokjhyh2slx/DTS_DCH_Drivers
Apps: https://www.mediafire.com/folder/tk7ola8b5j6xt/DTS_UWP_Appx

To install-update the drivers, right click uninstall the device in 'device manager', tick 'delete driver', pnputil to remove the extension (see here).
In 'device manager' again, in 'system devices' disable 'High Definition Audio', I have two and its the first one, restart*, install, enable.

* Make sure you run CCleaner registry cleaner a few times, and remove any apps before restarting.

System Devices.png

----

See '\TOOLS\' for extra steps to unlock more features, settings, via the Realtek policy editor (RTK Device Tool.txt).
Enable 'Stereo Mix', mute the stream, then set it to play to the device, to keep the encoder always on.

----

Known issues: Some digital output devices are not detected properly with Ultra when in stereo output mode.
Workaround: Switch to speakers-headphones then back each startup (or use VB cable, other).

Some VPN's software may block the APO4 service, and need configuring.

----

https://ibb.co/ZG3cC4S | https://ibb.co/L0gD9Q7 | https://ibb.co/477T74G | https://ibb.co/MVgzT5s

----

DTS settings can be used to setup another device, or set SPDIF to stereo mode.

https://ibb.co/bW0y3cG | https://ibb.co/CmLK7KR | https://ibb.co/0QZFqbc
 
Joined
May 20, 2018
Messages
221 (0.10/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Metal-Tom-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme
Cooling Boxed
Memory Mushkin DDR4 16 GB
Video Card(s) ASUS RX560 4GB
Storage 1x M2-SSD @256GB/1x Intenso SATA-SSD @120GB/1x Intenso SATA-SSD @240GB/2x WD10EZRX @1TB/1,5 TB HDD
Display(s) 1x Samsung LE40F86BDX (TV)/1x Samsung SyncMaster T240
Case Thermaltake Kandalf LCS
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220A
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 80+ 750W
Mouse Logitech M210
Keyboard Logitech K260
Software Win 10 Pro x64 v20H2
@Ferather, you do surely know about destroyin' Windows's Registry by using the CleverCleaner? Microsoft asks everytime when contactin' Support, if this harmful App is in Use
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
I've only used CCleaner, and Registry Repair. I didnt know about CleverCleaner until you just said.
I can see how you might muddle that with a CCleaner reference.

Looks dated, and its last update was 2012, so it possibly will harm your PC.

----

@Metal-Tom, can I ask how you ended up downloading CleverCleaner and not CCleaner?

Also note, I only suggest CCleaner as a habit, not because its required, updates may change registry locations.
If an app adds a registry entry, removing the driver will not remove the entry, as it's not in the driver.
 
Last edited:

drnick88101

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
The Realtek APO from 9200.1 is a big improvement from 9175.1, there is no distortion under testing.
My AMD is also more 3D, I programmed it like Realtek, DTS APO4 > Realtek APO.

AMD DCH - DTS Edition - YouTube (Screen recorder, downmixes to 2 channel).
How did you install DTS on your AMD output? The link didnt work for me. Will the instructions on the first page work for amd output?
 

drnick88101

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
@Ferather Can i just run Sound Unbound by running the service without installing the driver?
It doesnt work for me.
Install the app file manually (it should be a file ending in .appx) in powershell by typing:
Add-AppxPackage packagename.appx

it will attempt to install the program and you will get an error message when it fails. post the error message, it will probably be something about missing dtsapo or something like that
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
@drnick88101, with the Realtek driver installed I use 'DTS Settings' and FX Config. Open FX, and select the AMD, then select 'Copy GUID' on the right.
Make a backup (also on the right), edit the .reg file and replace both {DEVICE-ID} points with the GUID you copied (paste it).

Disable the device via Windows settings, apply the .reg, change the format (see this video).
For Interactive, you select Interactive, disable, and repeat restore the .reg.

1.png

2.png
3.png

----

@Bryan Ü, what is the ALC and is it a custom?
 

drnick88101

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
@drnick88101, with the Realtek driver installed I use 'DTS Settings' and FX Config. Open FX, and select the AMD, then select 'Copy GUID' on the right.
Make a backup (also on the right), edit the .reg file and replace both {DEVICE-ID} points with the GUID you copied (paste it).

Disable the device via Windows settings, apply the .reg, change the format (see this video).
For Interactive, you select Interactive, disable, and repeat restore the .reg.

View attachment 210442

View attachment 210443
View attachment 210444

----

@Bryan Ü, what is the ALC and is it a custom?
Doing it now! Im assuming I use the one named DTS Preset? Whats the difference between multichannel interactive and multichannel?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,686 (2.29/day)
DTS Preset is to set a global on the device, one with Interactive one without.

1627665639611.png

If you are using the alternative install, but want Interactive on another device DM me.
 
Last edited:
Top