• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DTS:X APO4 + DTS Interactive for Most Devices [USB Supported]

Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
Features: DTS:X Ultra (APO4) | DTS Sound Unbound (APO4) | DTS Interactive (+APO4).

Download: https://www.mediafire.com/folder/t56tbrq4bv6r6/DTS+Ultra+Pack
Apps: https://www.mediafire.com/folder/tk7ola8b5j6xt/DTS+UWP+Appx

Ignore the Realtek app, its a shared folder.

----

1: Install the C++ libraries. 2: Double click 'Install.bat' (Ultra folder). 3A: Edit-restore the .reg files in 'SETUP\Config\' to setup each output device.

To setup the .reg file(s), open FX Configurator, and select the output device you want, a SPDIF device in my case, then copy its GUID.
Edit the .reg file(s), replacing {DEVICE-ID} on both lines with the copied ID, save, close, then apply the .reg file(s).

Roundup.png

Import the .reg file via FX Config (device selected), if needed.

----

3B:

If you are using a driver with other APO's, you will need to enter the DTS APO keys from 'Class ID's.txt' manually using FX Config.
The DTS FX keys go first (DTS then other), and the DTS encoder must always go last in the list for composite EFX.

HDA Realtek.png


If you are using no specific driver, the Microsoft generic audio driver, you can also add the DTS APO keys manually.
Below I add the DTS encoder to SPDIF with Microsoft, move the keys to composite to add more.

No Driver.png

If you don't want the Microsoft APO's, use the .reg files (3A).

====

4: Restart the computer.

====

Notes:

Once you select 'DTS Interactive', disable the device, restore the .reg again, enable, 'DTS Interactive' is now default.
The DTS encoder (Interactive) is for SPDIF-HDMI only, you can also swap SPDIF-HDMI to 'Stereo'.
Use 'Stereo' or 'Multichannel' for analogue endpoints such as speakers, headphones.

----

If nothing happens when using stereo modes with speakers or headphones and the Ultra app, use the provided [OEM] files.
Replace the files in [APO4x] of the main installer, then re-install, once installed restart the computer.

Note: For [Realtek USB], you will need the [OEM] files by default, so swap them over.

====

If you have a Realtek HDA or USB device, go to the Windows Sound Panel, then recording, right click and show disabled.
Enable 'Stereo Mix', mute the stream, then set it to play to SPDIF to keep the encoder always on.

https://ibb.co/477T74G | https://ibb.co/MVgzT5s

If you don't have a Realtek device, you can try a virtual device (such as VAC), then disable the playback it adds.
Alternatively, you could plug in a spare cable, or microphone and use that in the same way.

====

Win CAudio (optional) (link to download), will disable some hidden Microsoft APOs which degrade audio.
You only need to apply the change once per Windows install, check after updates.

====

MSI Utility (optional) (link to download), will enable MSI mode on supported devices, reducing latency.
Guide included, if you would like to know more about MSI mode, see here.

====

If you are stuck with Windows downloading drivers-other over the top of DTS Ultra, see the guide below.
In more extreme cases, remove them, then use Windows Update MiniTool to hide them.

Regedit: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\DriverSearching
Create a new DWORD: DriverUpdateWizardWuSearchEnabled (if it exists, set it to 0).

====

If you are using multichannel and would like to add a stereo to 5.1+ upmixer, see this thread.

====

Disable Windows Store auto-updates to stop Sound Unbound (licensed) updating.
If you own Sound Unbound via account, you can update both apps.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
139 (0.12/day)
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz 3.60 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. B85M-D3H
Memory 8,00 Go (7,89 Go utilisable
Video Card(s) GPU 1 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970/ GPU 0 Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600
Display(s) Samsung Q60T
Case Zalman case
Mouse USB NGS
Keyboard Old Dell keyboard
In my PC when I activate DTS Interactive there is no audio. Any fix ?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
Is HDMI set to 5.1-7.1 or stereo? Interactive on HDMI requires stereo mode, if you would like to use multichannel PCM, use the Multichannel.reg (not the Interactive one).
The receiver might also need to be set to bitstream mode, my extractor for example, is set to bitstream, which accepts digital compressed, and analogue.

Edit: With my extractor, if I set it to 5.1, then select DTS Interactive from the drop-down, it puts HDMI into stereo automatically.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
Also note, the composite (multi-line) boxes should be the only boxes with keys in 'FX Config', the exclusive (one-line) boxes override the composite ones.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
same thing with stereo no thing happen :confused:
apo4 stoped all time cant active it ??
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2021-07-19 204209.jpg
    Capture d’écran 2021-07-19 204209.jpg
    213.7 KB · Views: 449
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
You have to program a custom manually, as I mentioned in post one. I cant really explain fully what you need to do as each custom has its own FX and processing keys.
I can say the default Microsoft driver (no actual driver installed) does not support end point (EFX) processing, and you will need to remove endpoint.

There is two possible reasons it does not work, not programmed correctly, or a VPN or other software is blocking the service.

If you would like to use TeamViewer to help you, message me.

====

Updated: https://www.mediafire.com/file/iex7du4aisxgp6b/DTS-X_Ultra.7z/file

----

@Bruhimnoob, this should work strait away with your conexant chip, although you might need to use FX to remove-move any LFX-GFX keys to composite.
In the Windows settings, right click the device, disable it, restore the edited .reg file with the device ID, then enable the device.

If you have a Realtek device on the system, you can use the 'DTS Settings' provided with the DTS DCH driver.

1626793307997.png

1.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
this my endpoint and what step to program custom !! need to edit 'dtsapo4xext.inf' ?
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 182937.jpg
    Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 182937.jpg
    157.7 KB · Views: 478
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
Ok all looks good from here, you simply need to add the DTS FX (SFX, MFX, EFX) to the correct composite boxes.

DTS_SFX_CLSID = "{07531B73-E4CA-4B94-9D0E-D3C9A7825FE5}"
DTS_MFX_CLSID = "{FCDD3010-BB3F-4B24-8074-A18FC7D558F7}"
DTS_EFX_CLSID = "{599C2638-CC15-4FFE-B16A-9246260D2DF7}"

Check these keys are not already preset, add them if not, usually DTS MFX should be first in the list for detection.

DTS Interactive must always be last in EFX, else it might not work properly (digital out).

DTS_Encoder_CLSID = "{A515262A-68B3-441A-A310-0D145362EE87}"
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
I found them like that !
but now have new realtek console not for msi !! but dts still disabled !!
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 192459.jpg
    Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 192459.jpg
    134.9 KB · Views: 459
  • Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 185123.jpg
    Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 185123.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 426
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
By DTS disabled you mean the service is not running? Or do you mean the app, the app needs be installed if not already.

1626806459727.png
1626805967321.png

If you found it that way there could be an issue with past drivers.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
yes apo4 is stopped why !!!
but when I delete this file apo4 work but dts not !!
tested DJ Urko Driver DTS old version work and apo4 is activated but with this new dts no
Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 202017.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 213053.jpg
    Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 213053.jpg
    126 KB · Views: 285
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
I dont know, all I know is somehow you have mixed up drivers and extensions, probably the reason it does not work.
Its also possible those other modded drivers have done something to the system, Windows.

DTS DCH is fully OEM, and works perfectly when the system is correct, I am yet to get an issue.

----

@popm, I can book you in for TeamViewer tomorrow if you want, and I can help you as much as I can with the install and setup.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
So its working now? What was causing the issue? your last sentence is a little wonky :p

----

Here is something that might help some of you with the same issue, where presets fail to load for unknown reasons. To the reg files add:

"{7A8B74C8-FA66-4460-8542-D6119C59E9D4},2"="C:\Windows\System32\DTS\PC\APO4x\dts_apo4_oem_config_1025133B.xml"

to

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\MMDevices\Audio\Render\{DEVICE-ID}\Properties]

result:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\MMDevices\Audio\Render\{DEVICE-ID}\Properties]
"{7A8B74C8-FA66-4460-8542-D6119C59E9D4},2"="C:\Windows\System32\DTS\PC\APO4x\dts_apo4_oem_config_1025133B.xml"
--Plus the other settings
 
Last edited:

Bruhimnoob

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2021
Messages
18 (0.02/day)
in my case it is showing conexant smartaudio hd for laptop and another source high definition audio device under lg tv it is converting laptop audio to digital and sending to lgtv now what to do.Dts sound unbound installation failed
 

Attachments

  • dts not playing test tone.PNG
    dts not playing test tone.PNG
    98.4 KB · Views: 340
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
I see thanks, one is GPU (HDMI), the other is the internal sound card. Which device are trying to program?
If you like, I can guide you via TeamViewer (no need to install, you can run no install).

Edit: Im guessing internal since your TV does not support DTS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
Would you like me to guide you via Teamviewer, its not ideal to text type. If you are trying it with the TV, I can see it does not support DTS and will not work.

1626879643104.png
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
Please note, the Microsoft driver does not support endpoint processing, and you will end up with fail to play.
The device should be using a vendor driver, to get EFX (endpoint) support (Interactive, other).

1626885229664.png
 

Bruhimnoob

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2021
Messages
18 (0.02/day)
if nothing works i might try to stream audio from my other pc in which your driver is working to the laptop and to tv through icecast
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,692 (2.28/day)
Shame about the TV not supporting DTS, and the Microsoft driver. You did everything correctly, if you need any further help simply ask.
 
Top