• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Easy2Boot. I can,t get it to work

Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
Trying to get Easy2Boot it is not easy for me.:(I did all this guy did. This is what comes up Step 1.Install Load in to memory mouse and keyboard not working so i can.t say yes .It seems to load stuff anyway.
Next this you must press f6 then press WINVLOCK driver Firadisk driver Ahci driver i have no idea what there taking about:( Examples Winblock Atom Netbook dq67 series 6 Firadisk +Desktop Workstation server what has all that stuff got to with XP?
Now press F6 when prompted by XP and load the drivers
If Fieadisk giver problems ,reboot and try option 3 Winvblock
IF you still have problems, use option 2 but press F6 and add all the drivers listed by XP set up. Does any of this stuff make sense?:( Has anyone else had problems with this? I have no idea why the keyboard and mouse don't work? How come Phil did not have any of these problems? It did say on here that the ISO had no drivers?
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,772 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,701 (1.10/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-2697v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, 2x EVO 860 500GB, LG 14x Blu-Ray Rewriter
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 21.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
I agree with Mussels above, find an older version of Rufus. Or burn a dvd if you can. Must be people in here with retro builds that know how?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,725 (4.91/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
PS2 keyboard required as USB drivers aren't installed.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
PS2 keyboard required as USB drivers aren't installed.
It does not have a PS2 connection.:(

To start with, could you tell us what you're trying to do, why, and with what hardware?


Rufus apparently supports Xp without any hassle, if you use the older version 2.18 found here
I am trying to get XP on my Dell620 mt for Retro Gaming. I did put it on a CD on my other DELL 580
but it had no drivers. I have downloaded Snappy drivers
This version is ideal if you want to be able to use the tool on the go without any Internet connection.
You need to use a torrent client to download the whole package for offline use.
SourceSizeVersionDOWNLOAD
Torrent24,9 GB1.21.2 (R2102)
Or should I just go for the Lite version?
And will this work it keeps on asking for the CD for the drivers? That is what happened before on the Dell580.I have just put it on the PC it says no internet connection it is working on my Win10 on the same PC.On Win10 it asked me to restart but it went to XP and it has been doing check and replacing invalid security files?Thousands off files :( Why?For some reason that checking has affected my Win 10 drive which is on another disc?It is repaying it, very weird. o_OI could understand if they were both on the same drive.There was over 300,00 thousand invalid files on there and it was still going when i turned it off.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,772 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
PS2 keyboard required as USB drivers aren't installed.
Wow i'd forgotten that was a requirement, but yeah XP sure wont support USB 3.0 ports out of the box

I do not use, trust or recommend any driver download programs - period.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
Wow i'd forgotten that was a requirement, but yeah XP sure wont support USB 3.0 ports out of the box

I do not use, trust or recommend any driver download programs - period.
I tried the cd disc I burned even that one failed to work it loaded everything but failed to Reboot back :(I don,t know why but even one done with RuFus failed to work :( I am sure the Snappy Drivers will work fine. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
785 (8.35/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
So personally I would still use Rufus, download the drivers you need as well as your windows xp iso and nlite, run nlite and impregnate the windows iso with the drivers you need then copy the new iso to usb via Rufus if you don't have any working usb you can copy the new iso to cd. This should mean the drivers you want are imbedded in during the install.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,772 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
So personally I would still use Rufus, download the drivers you need as well as your windows xp iso and nlite, run nlite and impregnate the windows iso with the drivers you need then copy the new iso to usb via Rufus if you don't have any working usb you can copy the new iso to cd. This should mean the drivers you want are imbedded in during the install.
^ That's the best way, it's been a long long time since i used Nlite, but integrating drivers is the way to go (or just using a VM)
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Why not go to the E2B website and look at the XP pages?

A link to a tested and recommended XP ISO is provided in the 'Tested Payloads' page (e.g. 2018 ISO)
You MUST use the E2B+DPMS version of E2B
Free help and online chat from the author (me!) is available on the website.
Other XP videos are available.
Check that Legacy USB is enabled in the BIOS and use a USB 2 port if possible.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
Why not go to the E2B website and look at the XP pages?

A link to a tested and recommended XP ISO is provided in the 'Tested Payloads' page (e.g. 2018 ISO)
You MUST use the E2B+DPMS version of E2B
Free help and online chat from the author (me!) is available on the website.
Other XP videos are available.
Check that Legacy USB is enabled in the BIOS and use a USB 2 port if possible.
Hi, Steve thanks for all that info:) I looked on your youtube and watched your video about it.:) Unfortunately with all that stuff I did to get XP on my PC. It seems to have mucked up my Windows10
which is on another drive. I could not get it to boot to say it needed to repair it in the end
all I got was flickering from this - to the dell startup boot-up screen.:(I have a Dell Windows7 disc just installed it but no internet connection no Ethernet controller and no GPU showing.:( Nothing seems to go write.:(
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
You cannot expect XP setup to know about windows 10 as it was invented 15 years later! Equally you cannot expect win7 to know about windows 10 either.
If you want to install different versions of Windows, you must do it in chronological order, so start with XP, then win 7, then win 10.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
308 (0.30/day)
Location
UK, Leicester
System Name Main PC
Processor 9900k@4.8ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality K6 Z370
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL14
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750
I use easy2boot, great for multi purpose boot usb device.

Basically there is two different types of images you can put on there, you can just drag and drop the iso files, if you do that it will boot in some cases but not for all types of boot media.

The better way is to convert to a PTN image, which will when you use it, convert the partition table on the USB stick so it boots of the primary and it will be like as if you using a dedicated boot device but whilst also having conveniance of multi boot.

Its a bit too much to explain how to do it on here though, its a case of read the manual I am afraid, the easy2boot website has massive pages of text documentation.


Also I am not currently using the latest version, there was some changes that had me confused.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
98 (0.14/day)
Processor Xeon E-2124
Motherboard Fujitsu D3644-B1
Cooling Akasa AK-959CU
Memory 32GB Kingston DDR4 (4x KSM26ES8/8ME)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse 550 2G 64-bit
Storage Samsung 870 Evo, Samsung 980
Display(s) Fujitsu B22-8 TS Pro
Case Akasa Raptor
Power Supply Antec HCG-620
Mouse Logitech MX500
Be careful with the Windows boot loader, it's unfortunately very easy to mess it up accidentally.

In reference to the drivers, if I recall correctly, because XP was around when SATA started being a thing, it can't cope with non-legacy installs unless you slip a SATA driver onto the disc.

Not having ethernet/wireless drivers available at first boot used to be pretty common too, it's pretty much the only driver CD I still keep :banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
You cannot expect XP setup to know about windows 10 as it was invented 15 years later! Equally you cannot expect win7 to know about windows 10 either.
If you want to install different versions of Windows, you must do it in chronological order, so start with XP, then win 7, then win 10.
I realise that ,but the Windows 10 was on a seperate drive.I would understand if they were on the same drive but not on a seperate drive.How do i go about instaling the Ethernet adapter?It says it is not available. Is that right that you have to sign in conect broadband before you get an internet conection?I put my password in then it says *Conecting though WAN minipost (PPPOE)
Error 651 the modem (or other connecting device)has repored an error.I will do it but have to use another Windows pc to get the Easy2boot and ISO and the other file you mentioned in your video.

I use easy2boot, great for multi purpose boot usb device.

Basically there is two different types of images you can put on there, you can just drag and drop the iso files, if you do that it will boot in some cases but not for all types of boot media.

The better way is to convert to a PTN image, which will when you use it, convert the partition table on the USB stick so it boots of the primary and it will be like as if you using a dedicated boot device but whilst also having conveniance of multi boot.

Its a bit too much to explain how to do it on here though, its a case of read the manual I am afraid, the easy2boot website has massive pages of text documentation.


Also I am not currently using the latest version, there was some changes that had me confused.
Thanks for your input on this :)I am a newbe on this tech stuff as you can tell .:(

Be careful with the Windows boot loader, it's unfortunately very easy to mess it up accidentally.

In reference to the drivers, if I recall correctly, because XP was around when SATA started being a thing, it can't cope with non-legacy installs unless you slip a SATA driver onto the disc.

Not having ethernet/wireless drivers available at first boot used to be pretty common too, it's pretty much the only driver CD I still keep :banghead:
So i am not the only one with that ptoblem.I would have thought it would have been included in the Windows 7 disc.Thats like me banging my head against the wall with all this.o_O
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,772 (8.27/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I realise that ,but the Windows 10 was on a seperate drive.I would understand if they were on the same drive but not on a seperate drive.How do i go about instaling the Ethernet adapter?It says it is not available. Is that right that you have to sign in conect broadband before you get an internet conection?I put my password in then it says *Conecting though WAN minipost (PPPOE)
Error 651 the modem (or other connecting device)has repored an error.I will do it but have to use another Windows pc to get the Easy2boot and ISO and the other file you mentioned in your video.


Thanks for your input on this :)I am a newbe on this tech stuff as you can tell .:(


So i am not the only one with that ptoblem.I would have thought it would have been included in the Windows 7 disc.Thats like me banging my head against the wall with all this.o_O
In the olden days you were meant to use a floppy/USB/CD to add the needed drivers, at the formatting disk/drive selection screen for SATA/IDE/RAID drivers - anything else needed to be manually installed, usually via the floppy or CD that came with the hardware after you were in the OS

It's only very recently, that being able to just plug in and go with automated driver updates with a modern OS has become truly viable thanks to generic universal standards, but that of course requires the basics of storage, user input, and network drivers to begin
 
Top