• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ECS nForce4-A939 Voltmods

Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Location
Serbia, Belgrade
System Name Jorge Costa de Alfinho
Processor AMD BH-G2 @ 3Ghz (1.3V)
Motherboard GA-MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Alpenföhn Broken
Memory 4x 2Gb Black Dragons @900Mhz CL5 1.95V
Video Card(s) GA 8400GS
Storage WD 640Gb
Display(s) ASUS VW222U
Case MoBo box :)
Audio Device(s) SB0350
Power Supply ASUS U-75HA
Keyboard CM Suppressor
Software MAME32
Many greetings! I need help about ISL6566.
I still can't crack it at all! :D

Need to know how to find i.e. how to be sure I am find VID pins?
What to measure?

I post 2 pics bellow, one (green PCB) is Biostar NF4UL-A9A and second (blue PCB) is GA-K8NS-9-RH.
Both have ISL6566 as CPU PWM so i can with feedback vcore mod to gain only 0.15V.
Problem more for GA is that MoBo don't react on BIOS set V more than 1.425 so with current vcore, max V it can gain is 1.425V + 0.15V. I need, if it can be (simply) maked to gain 1.55V + 0.15V.
On Biostar MoBo, situation is little better, currently I can gain 1.525V (real) + 0.15V. Finally about 1.65V which is enough for Venice's.

If you can help me how to get 1.55V as default on both MoBo's I will be very grateful.

Is on Biostar model, is RN8 place for VID's, if it is, where is fifth VID?

Second quest is:
How to find resistors for vdroop?
 

Attachments

  • nf4ul-a9a vid.jpg
    nf4ul-a9a vid.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 1,053
  • k8ns-9-rh vid.jpg
    k8ns-9-rh vid.jpg
    154.8 KB · Views: 922

celemine1Gig

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
27 (0.00/day)
All you need to do to find the vid pin-connections, is to use a digital mutlimeter and set it to continuity test mode (test for a resistance close to zero, i.e. direct connections). Then you let one probe touch the known vid pin on the isl6566 controller and probe around for points directly connected to it on the board in that area. Or sometimes you can even follow the traces on the mobo, just by visual inspection.
Just repeat the process until you have found all 5 vid-pin connections.

BTW, the controller can supply far more voltage in VRM9 mode, but that modification would most likely need more time. AND, ~1.7V should be more than enough for todays CPUs.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Location
Serbia, Belgrade
System Name Jorge Costa de Alfinho
Processor AMD BH-G2 @ 3Ghz (1.3V)
Motherboard GA-MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Alpenföhn Broken
Memory 4x 2Gb Black Dragons @900Mhz CL5 1.95V
Video Card(s) GA 8400GS
Storage WD 640Gb
Display(s) ASUS VW222U
Case MoBo box :)
Audio Device(s) SB0350
Power Supply ASUS U-75HA
Keyboard CM Suppressor
Software MAME32
OK, i will find it (direct connections).
If I manage right, when found VID's only have to do is short-pin him (never mind which, I understund table ;) ) to GND? If I have luck it will be near searched pin (just like on Yosur ECS or some ASRock MoBo's)?
But, what if some of that has resistor or capacitor connected?
Can it be?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,197 (0.88/day)
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910


:)

Someone may find this useful!

(Pictures are pretty)
Very nice work.

edit: lol, i need to L2read. You are using a dip switch!

Wonder what other mobos use this for voltage control.. :D
 
Last edited:

celemine1Gig

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
27 (0.00/day)
BTW, Superstarr, you just told me that you were confused that you couldn't find pull-up voltage points on your boards.
Pull up means that you just need a higher voltage than the reference point, to make the signal appear as a digital 1, i.e. high. Or lower than the reference for a digital 0 (low), as pull-down voltage. If I remember correctly, 1.2V was the reference point for the ISL6566. That means that you could use for example 3.3V (directly from the NT as pull up and ground as pull down. ;)

Ahh, and another little update: There is an easier VDroop mod. ;) Just didn't find it back then when I wrote the article.
 

d44ve

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
2,520 (0.48/day)
Processor Intel E6600 @ 4.2GHZ Wo0t!
Motherboard ASUS Striker Extreme & eVGA 680i A1
Cooling Phase Change !!
Memory OCZ SLI 1066MHZ (2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTX
Storage Western Digital 320 GB
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Lian-Li V2000
Software Vista Ultimate
screw that.... I couldnt solder that damn good
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Location
Serbia, Belgrade
System Name Jorge Costa de Alfinho
Processor AMD BH-G2 @ 3Ghz (1.3V)
Motherboard GA-MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Alpenföhn Broken
Memory 4x 2Gb Black Dragons @900Mhz CL5 1.95V
Video Card(s) GA 8400GS
Storage WD 640Gb
Display(s) ASUS VW222U
Case MoBo box :)
Audio Device(s) SB0350
Power Supply ASUS U-75HA
Keyboard CM Suppressor
Software MAME32
BTW, Superstarr, you just told me that you were confused that you couldn't find pull-up voltage points on your boards.
Pull up means that you just need a higher voltage than the reference point, to make the signal appear as a digital 1, i.e. high. Or lower than the reference for a digital 0 (low), as pull-down voltage. If I remember correctly, 1.2V was the reference point for the ISL6566. That means that you could use for example 3.3V (directly from the NT as pull up and ground as pull down. ;)

Ahh, and another little update: There is an easier VDroop mod. ;) Just didn't find it back then when I wrote the article.

OK, i Understund. If I want to Pull-Down I must solder to GND or if I want to Pull-Up I must solder it to "NT".
But, what is NT and how I can find it if it's not around VID point as on Your ECS or ARSock like I have before (see attach).
It was 5 VID points and 5 Pull-Up points in same square.
On current MoBo's (see post 2) isn't that situation. Where to search for Pull-Up points and how find it with multimer?
 

Attachments

  • pull up.jpg
    pull up.jpg
    137.2 KB · Views: 1,075

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,452 (3.82/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse M55 RGB PRO (White)
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
sweet i have this board in another rig and was wondering how to adjust the vcore past a measly.2
 

celemine1Gig

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
27 (0.00/day)
OK, i Understund. If I want to Pull-Down I must solder to GND or if I want to Pull-Up I must solder it to "NT".
But, what is NT and how I can find it if it's not around VID point as on Your ECS or ARSock like I have before (see attach).
It was 5 VID points and 5 Pull-Up points in same square.
On current MoBo's (see post 2) isn't that situation. Where to search for Pull-Up points and how find it with multimer?

Ooops, I'm sorry. posted on german forums at the same time NT=Netzteil=Power Supply=PSU :)
3.3V directly from the PSU.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Location
Serbia, Belgrade
System Name Jorge Costa de Alfinho
Processor AMD BH-G2 @ 3Ghz (1.3V)
Motherboard GA-MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Alpenföhn Broken
Memory 4x 2Gb Black Dragons @900Mhz CL5 1.95V
Video Card(s) GA 8400GS
Storage WD 640Gb
Display(s) ASUS VW222U
Case MoBo box :)
Audio Device(s) SB0350
Power Supply ASUS U-75HA
Keyboard CM Suppressor
Software MAME32
Can this VID (ISL6566) mod be worked on Processor?
Look atachment (pic):
 

celemine1Gig

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
27 (0.00/day)
Can this VID (ISL6566) mod be worked on Processor?
Look atachment (pic):

Sorry for the late reply. Was very busy the last weeks.

On topic: Of course this would work. You mod the CPU and not the board. And the VCore range is the one specified by AMD, so all motherboards should support it.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Location
Serbia, Belgrade
System Name Jorge Costa de Alfinho
Processor AMD BH-G2 @ 3Ghz (1.3V)
Motherboard GA-MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Alpenföhn Broken
Memory 4x 2Gb Black Dragons @900Mhz CL5 1.95V
Video Card(s) GA 8400GS
Storage WD 640Gb
Display(s) ASUS VW222U
Case MoBo box :)
Audio Device(s) SB0350
Power Supply ASUS U-75HA
Keyboard CM Suppressor
Software MAME32
Thanks again!
This is "sufficient" mod (1.55V + 10-15% with feedback mod) for Venice's.
If I do it, I will post pics. I plain to do that with liquid silver.
Best regards!
 
Top