• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Editing .mp4 from Nvidia Shadowplay

Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,555 (0.33/day)
Location
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 10700KF @ 3.8/5.1GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z490-P Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 CPU cooler.
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 64GB (4x16GB) 3600MHz CL16 DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 PRO M.2 NVMe SSD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG43UQ 4K UHD 144Hz G-Sync HDR 43in + 2 x ASUS VG258Q FHD 144Hz Freesync 25in Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) EPOS Sennheiser GSX 1000 V2 amplifier + EPOS Gaming GSP 601 Headset
Power Supply Corsair AX1000 Titanium Modular
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores Old system: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
So I've got a couple of videos from games that need trimming down and audio removal, and for the life of me I can't get the video/audio trimming to work in anything.

The Shadowplay software doesn't let me edit it for some reason.

Sony Vegas 12/17 doesn't support the file type.

Youtube lacks a audio removal feature.

VLC media player just exports an empty file when I convert it without the audio.

Windows 10 Photo App gives me the error ''It looks like you don't have permission to save changes to this file, try saving a copy instead.'' I WAS SAVING A COPY. No audio removal in this as far as I know.

VSDC free video editor won't let me trim the file for some reason (not sure what I'm doing wrong).


Can anyone recommend editing software? (free if possible, but I'm willing to spend money) I'm at my wits end here.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
1,005 (0.91/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 4TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
DaVinci Resolve is the editing software I use. It's probably your best option for a free video editor.

Kdenlive is another free editor you could try.

For converting file formats, I use HandBrake.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,555 (0.33/day)
Location
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 10700KF @ 3.8/5.1GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z490-P Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 CPU cooler.
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 64GB (4x16GB) 3600MHz CL16 DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 PRO M.2 NVMe SSD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG43UQ 4K UHD 144Hz G-Sync HDR 43in + 2 x ASUS VG258Q FHD 144Hz Freesync 25in Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) EPOS Sennheiser GSX 1000 V2 amplifier + EPOS Gaming GSP 601 Headset
Power Supply Corsair AX1000 Titanium Modular
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores Old system: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
Thanks Ill give them a look.

I'm sad I can no longer use Vegas, very familiar with that software.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
1,005 (0.91/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 4TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Thanks Ill give them a look.

I'm sad I can no longer use Vegas, very familiar with that software.

I'd imagine HandBrake would be able to convert your recordings into a format that Vegas can use.

OBS is another screencap software you could try. It's so configurable that some people find it daunting, but if you look into it, you can set it up exactly the way you want it.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,555 (0.33/day)
Location
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 10700KF @ 3.8/5.1GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z490-P Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 CPU cooler.
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 64GB (4x16GB) 3600MHz CL16 DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 PRO M.2 NVMe SSD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG43UQ 4K UHD 144Hz G-Sync HDR 43in + 2 x ASUS VG258Q FHD 144Hz Freesync 25in Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) EPOS Sennheiser GSX 1000 V2 amplifier + EPOS Gaming GSP 601 Headset
Power Supply Corsair AX1000 Titanium Modular
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores Old system: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
I'd imagine HandBrake would be able to convert your recordings into a format that Vegas can use.

OBS is another screencap software you could try. It's so configurable that some people find it daunting, but if you look into it, you can set it up exactly the way you want it.
I was only using a converter to remove the audio. I actually did try Handbrake, still installed.

When I record the playback with OBS it's just laggy and stuttering, not sure what setting I've ruined.

However none of that matters now as DaVinci Resolves is absolutely perfect for what I need. Thank you so much.

This software is actually amazing.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
2,646 (1.25/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.4
Processor 5900X
Motherboard B550M TUF Wifi (2006)
Cooling NH-C14S iPPC
Memory 32GB 3600 16-19-19
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (0.981V)
Storage 3TB SX8200/SN750/Blue3D
Display(s) S2721DGF/GW2765HT
Case Sliger Cerberus
Audio Device(s) Scarlett Solo Gen3
Power Supply Seasonic SGX-650
I was only using a converter to remove the audio. I actually did try Handbrake, still installed.

When I record the playback with OBS it's just laggy and stuttering, not sure what setting I've ruined.

However none of that matters now as DaVinci Resolves is absolutely perfect for what I need. Thank you so much.

This software is actually amazing.

OBS seems to have a horrible time with high refresh games on high refresh monitors. Still haven't found a way past it through configuring OBS. I can record Genshin Impact okay because the game forces 60Hz cap, but I can't record War Thunder, MW2019 or any other game I run at 120/144/165Hz. You probably still need to use Shadowplay.

You can try Openshot editor, I used it for a while and it was fine for simple edits. I switched to Premiere 2020 because Openshot is a little thin on features, and also is horribly slow in exporting as it seems to still have no support for GPU acceleration Windows.

For free, yeah it doesn't get better than Davinci Resolve.

Aside from that, yeah Premiere is all I got, it's too good, expensive af and pretty overkill. If that many programs are having trouble opening/editing/exporting your recordings, seems like something's up with Shadowplay or the way it's saving? I've never had issues with Shadowplay output in the past, but then again that was when I was still on 60Hz.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,555 (0.33/day)
Location
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 10700KF @ 3.8/5.1GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z490-P Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 CPU cooler.
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 64GB (4x16GB) 3600MHz CL16 DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 PRO M.2 NVMe SSD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG43UQ 4K UHD 144Hz G-Sync HDR 43in + 2 x ASUS VG258Q FHD 144Hz Freesync 25in Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) EPOS Sennheiser GSX 1000 V2 amplifier + EPOS Gaming GSP 601 Headset
Power Supply Corsair AX1000 Titanium Modular
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores Old system: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
OBS seems to have a horrible time with high refresh games on high refresh monitors. Still haven't found a way past it through configuring OBS. I can record Genshin Impact okay because the game forces 60Hz cap, but I can't record War Thunder, MW2019 or any other game I run at 120/144/165Hz. You probably still need to use Shadowplay.

You can try Openshot editor, I used it for a while and it was fine for simple edits. I switched to Premiere 2020 because Openshot is a little thin on features, and also is horribly slow in exporting as it seems to still have no support for GPU acceleration Windows.

For free, yeah it doesn't get better than Davinci Resolve.

Aside from that, yeah Premiere is all I got, it's too good, expensive af and pretty overkill. If that many programs are having trouble opening/editing/exporting your recordings, seems like something's up with Shadowplay or the way it's saving? I've never had issues with Shadowplay output in the past, but then again that was when I was still on 60Hz.
There's literally no way to change the file type. Only quality of recording FPS and how far back it records.

Something to do with how it encodes on the hardware.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,770 (2.87/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Thanks Ill give them a look.

I'm sad I can no longer use Vegas, very familiar with that software.
You have an outdated version of Vegas codex. Sony Movie Studio which is cheaper version of Vegas is like $50 and will edit it and work the same.
virtualdubmod will work for free but its a little tricky

There's literally no way to change the file type. Only quality of recording FPS and how far back it records.

Something to do with how it encodes on the hardware.

You can run it threw Handbreak to change the file type.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,003 (0.35/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 6800XT Gaming OC
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case MSI MPG 110M
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
I rushed through this to give my input but:

I did a lot of quick editing in Davinci resolve from what I recorded on Shadowplay and other recording software. Use it to showcase how well a PC I am selling, does at various games.

I found that the issue is that when recording, there are a few problems - file type and issue of syncing audio and video.

Adobe premier pro seems to be the only editing software that can edit the raw file and still have syncing correctly. It is the variable refresh rate. So to get around all of this, use handbreak and set it at a constant 60fps and then convert it to a file format that works for you (I use MP4).
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,541 (0.45/day)
Every format conversion reduces the output quality by a bit.

Any normal video editor should support H.264 MP4 60 fps media. This is a common standard.

If not supported by Vegas, switch to another video editor.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
1,555 (0.33/day)
Location
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
System Name Toaster!
Processor Intel Core i7 10700KF @ 3.8/5.1GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z490-P Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 CPU cooler.
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 64GB (4x16GB) 3600MHz CL16 DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 PRO M.2 NVMe SSD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG43UQ 4K UHD 144Hz G-Sync HDR 43in + 2 x ASUS VG258Q FHD 144Hz Freesync 25in Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) EPOS Sennheiser GSX 1000 V2 amplifier + EPOS Gaming GSP 601 Headset
Power Supply Corsair AX1000 Titanium Modular
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K70.
Software ALL HAIL WINDOWS 10.
Benchmark Scores Old system: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6805248
You have an outdated version of Vegas codex. Sony Movie Studio which is cheaper version of Vegas is like $50 and will edit it and work the same.
VirtualDub will work for free but its a little tricky



You can run it threw Handbreak to change the file type.


I trialed Movie Studio 17 and it wouldn't let me import it.

I need to fiddle with Handbreak to get a handle on how it works. Couldn't get it do what I wanted. But I probably won't need it now.

Thank you.

I rushed through this to give my input but:

I did a lot of quick editing in Davinci resolve from what I recorded on Shadowplay and other recording software. Use it to showcase how well a PC I am selling, does at various games.

I found that the issue is that when recording, there are a few problems - file type and issue of syncing audio and video.

Adobe premier pro seems to be the only editing software that can edit the raw file and still have syncing correctly. It is the variable refresh rate. So to get around all of this, use handbreak and set it at a constant 60fps and then convert it to a file format that works for you (I use MP4).
I'm noticing colour issues too. Is that because of the FPS difference?

I'm not that fussy though, I'm not making anything special here, just brief highlight videos.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,541 (0.45/day)
Nvidia ShadowPlay produces standard H.264 AVC in MP4 container output files. Nothing special there.

Every normal video editor should support such format. Try Corel VideoStudio or another editor.
 

Attachments

  • Clipboard02.jpg
    Clipboard02.jpg
    193.1 KB · Views: 8
  • Clipboard03.jpg
    Clipboard03.jpg
    264.9 KB · Views: 6
  • Clipboard04.jpg
    Clipboard04.jpg
    202 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,003 (0.35/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 6800XT Gaming OC
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case MSI MPG 110M
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
I trialed Movie Studio 17 and it wouldn't let me import it.

I need to fiddle with Handbreak to get a handle on how it works. Couldn't get it do what I wanted. But I probably won't need it now.

Thank you.


I'm noticing colour issues too. Is that because of the FPS difference?

I'm not that fussy though, I'm not making anything special here, just brief highlight videos.
Did you convert it to a solid FPS like 60 before convert? All I do is:

> Record video
> Open Handbrake
> don't change anything else other than in Video > Framerate (FPS): Select Constant. Set to 60.
> don't select optimize for web. I get issues with that.
> Video Codec is H.264 (That is what I use)
> Movie slider to 0 for lossless

Then take that video, open it up in Davinci resolve. It may ask you to convert to whatever will work in it, just say yes.

Didn't experience any loss in my vids.
 
Top