• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Enabling AHCI on Windows 7 systems with AMD

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,256 (2.25/day)
Location
Pune
System Name Biggest Investment | Dell OptiPlex
Processor FX 8320 | intel i7 8700
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Some OEM stuff
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Turbo Jet (sounds like it)
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | 16 x 2 GB DDR4 2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sappghire Pulse RX 580 8GB | Shit Inside
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 | 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | WD 500GB Green
Display(s) Dell 2240L | 2x Dell E1916H
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current) | Teeny
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | Probably delta
Mouse Logitech G400, F310, F710
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard.
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores i dont have any marks on my bench
I didnt know of this till today.
this thing rocks. i am getting read/writes of excess of 100MB/s on my 4yr old 80GB itachi and the 500GB WD!

be sure AHCI is disabled in your BIOS

1. Goto start.
2. Type regedit.
3. Click on regedit.exe
4. Follow this path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>system>CurrentControlSet>services>msahci


Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE



Open system


Open currentcontrolset


Open services


Open/Select msahci


Select start


Right click and select modify


Put in the value 0 in the selected region


Press OK and exit regedit.

5. Reboot into BIOS.
6. You will find AHCI under SATA configuration or something like that.
7. Enable AHCI mode on one group. Connect all HDDs to this group(enable other groups if necessary). Note Optical Drives may/may not work with AHCI.
8. Save BIOS settings and reboot into Windows.
9. Windows will ask to restart to apply changes. Do EET!!
10. After rebooting, goto your motherboard product page and download the latest AHCI/RAID driver.
11. Will probably be in a zip file. extract it to some C:\temp (say)
12. Open Device Manager.
13. Click on the IDE/ATAPI controlers.
14. Select the AHCI controller ( it will be named AHCI<something>)
15. Right click, select update drivers
16. Select "Browse my computer for software" Option.
17. Point to the c:\temp folder which contains drivers. Press ok. Your Drivers will be automatically installed.
18. Reboot as necessary.
19. Enjoy new write Speeds.
20. Spread the love :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,321 (0.37/day)
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @4.7 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler
Memory 4*8 GB (32 GB) Kingston HyperX Fury @3000 MHz 15-16-16-35 2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Zotac GTX 1660Ti Amp Edition 6 GB DDR6
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006
Display(s) Dell S2418H, 1080p 75 Hz, HDR
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M
Mouse Cooler Master Storm Devastator
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You wrote and presented all the instructions super awesome :)
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
3,186 (0.85/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT 8GiB
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze w/random fans and no aRrGeeBee
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlasterX AE-5 + GigaWorks t40 series II
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1909)
Benchmark Scores It plays a game or two in TV resolution from time to time
Not that there isn't any info about that on the internet, but still very good job. :toast:
In my case, I have still to find a way to enable AHCI on (mobile) platforms with nVidia chipsets. :(
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.16/day)
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,717 (0.46/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor Ryzen 1500X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3000mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 450
Storage Crucial M500
Display(s) Philips 1080 24'
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 425W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Microsoft have program Microsoft Fix it 50470. It enables AHCI automatic.
http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9741862
I forgot to install the AHCI driver during my last Windows intallation and now I want to enable AHCI mode.
Do I need the driver to enable AHCI mode in the bios? and what happens if I enable AHCI mode without the driver?
What's the difference with the AHCI driver my motherboard ships with?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,904 (2.12/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
you should not need todo anything other then enable ACHI in the bios and possibly install the chipset drivers ... on windows 7 at least
the absolutely worst thing that's gonna happen is that it might not boot in achi mode ... there's a registry fix for that iirc
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,143 (5.09/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\pciide

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\iaStorV

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\iaStor

I believe these cover Intel, AMD, and nVidia(not totally sure on nVidia). Just change the Start value in each of these to 0. Also, this allows you to go from AHCI to RAID as well.

you should not need todo anything other then enable ACHI in the bios and possibly install the chipset drivers ... on windows 7 at least
the absolutely worst thing that's gonna happen is that it might not boot in achi mode ... there's a registry fix for that iirc
Even with Win7 it sometimes won't boot. This is the registry fix.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,886 (2.99/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
ok, sorry this has always confused me. could somebody give a layman's answer to what AHCI is and how is differs from RAID and other things in the bios? Also, why would I need to disable AHCI in bios but enable in Windows??
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,877 (1.57/day)
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i3 8350K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Intel DC P3700 1.6TB / Intel Optane
Display(s) LG 34UC98 Curved Ultrawide
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
The Advanced Host Controller Interface (AHCI) is a technical standard defined by Intel that specifies the operation of Serial ATA (SATA) host bus adapters in a non-implementation-specific manner.

The specification describes a system memory structure for computer hardware vendors to exchange data between host system memory and attached storage devices. AHCI gives software developers and hardware designers a standard method for detecting, configuring, and programming SATA/AHCI adapters. AHCI is separate from the SATA 3Gb/s standard, although it exposes SATA's advanced capabilities (such as hot swapping and native command queuing) such that host systems can utilize them.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,904 (2.12/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.16/day)
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
I forgot to install the AHCI driver during my last Windows intallation and now I want to enable AHCI mode.
Do I need the driver to enable AHCI mode in the bios? and what happens if I enable AHCI mode without the driver?
What's the difference with the AHCI driver my motherboard ships with?

As far as I know, the native driver offers better performance and compatibility than standard driver is windows. It is better to download the latest driver from the official website of the motherboard manufacturer.
Then you need to run Microsoft FixIt, which would make the necessary changes to the registry automatically.
You must then reboot and enable AHCI in the BIOS.
If you enable AHCI in the BIOS without changing the registry, then when you boot, you will get the message "OS not found" or something like that.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.39/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
That was very nice, because before that I couldn't enable AHCI in BIOS for my netbook, or Winows would refuse to boot

Many thanks :)
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.16/day)
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
ok, sorry this has always confused me. could somebody give a layman's answer to what AHCI is and how is differs from RAID and other things in the bios?
It is strongly recommended to enable AHCI if you are using SSD (of course, if you want it to work more than a month and show the best performance). In addition, AHCI allows "hot swapping" drives without turning off the computer and some other functions.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,886 (2.99/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
It is strongly recommended to enable AHCI if you are using SSD (of course, if you want it to work more than a month and show the best performance). In addition, AHCI allows "hot swapping" drives without turning off the computer and some other functions.
what if i have just a regular platter type sata 3 drive?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,143 (5.09/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
what if i have just a regular platter type sata 3 drive?
It is still a good idea to enable AHCI, as it gives the system access to most of the advantages SATA offers such as NCQ and Hot Swapping. It won't make a huge difference, but still worth it. In fact, I think Native Command Queuing only really helps with traditional hard drives.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,256 (2.25/day)
Location
Pune
System Name Biggest Investment | Dell OptiPlex
Processor FX 8320 | intel i7 8700
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Some OEM stuff
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Turbo Jet (sounds like it)
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | 16 x 2 GB DDR4 2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sappghire Pulse RX 580 8GB | Shit Inside
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 | 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | WD 500GB Green
Display(s) Dell 2240L | 2x Dell E1916H
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current) | Teeny
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | Probably delta
Mouse Logitech G400, F310, F710
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard.
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores i dont have any marks on my bench
I forgot to install the AHCI driver during my last Windows intallation and now I want to enable AHCI mode.
Do I need the driver to enable AHCI mode in the bios? and what happens if I enable AHCI mode without the driver?
What's the difference with the AHCI driver my motherboard ships with?
the driver that comes with windows isnt really good.
the one that comes with the motherboard shows the real performance, well, thats what i have heard.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,687 (1.86/day)
That registry trick won't work with recent drivers, it bsods, however I didn't try Microsoft's fixit tool
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,665 (1.20/day)
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name ---
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.00 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0, Hacked Bios F4.x
Cooling Silenx 4 pipe Tower cooler + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 3 x 120mm, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866 16GB + Patriot Memory DDR3 1866 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage Inland 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD for OS, WDC Black - 2TB + 1TB Storage, Inland 480GB SSD - Games
Display(s) 3 x 1080P LCDs - Acer 25" + Acer 23" + HP 23"
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
I have to try the recommendations. Nice post.
 

chudddds

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
worked for me on a :

ASUS CM1740 Desktop
ASUS A75-M mobo
Win 7 Home Prem 64 bit

got the latest bios from asus

latest ahci driver package from amd

no problems at all

thanx OP
 

chudddds

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Works for my DVDRW also !!!!

I didnt know of this till today.
this thing rocks. i am getting read/writes of excess of 100MB/s on my 4yr old 80GB itachi and the 500GB WD!

be sure AHCI is disabled in your BIOS

1. Goto start.
2. Type regedit.
3. Click on regedit.exe
4. Follow this path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>system>CurrentControlSet>services>msahci


5. Reboot into BIOS.
6. You will find AHCI under SATA configuration or something like that.
7. Enable AHCI mode on one group. Connect all HDDs to this group(enable other groups if necessary). Note Optical Drives may/may not work with AHCI.
8. Save BIOS settings and reboot into Windows.
9. Windows will ask to restart to apply changes. Do EET!!
10. After rebooting, goto your motherboard product page and download the latest AHCI/RAID driver.
11. Will probably be in a zip file. extract it to some C:\temp (say)
12. Open Device Manager.
13. Click on the IDE/ATAPI controlers.
14. Select the AHCI controller ( it will be named AHCI<something>)
15. Right click, select update drivers
16. Select "Browse my computer for software" Option.
17. Point to the c:\temp folder which contains drivers. Press ok. Your Drivers will be automatically installed.
18. Reboot as necessary.
19. Enjoy new write Speeds.
20. Spread the love :toast:

just to add to your note about optical drives, it worked for mine:

DH24ABS (thats a rebadged model number for a LiteOn)

ASUS CM1740 desktop
ASUS A75-M mobo (FM1)
Win 7 home prem 64 bit

new bios from asus, new ahci drivers from amd, worked flawless !!!!!!!!

brought my sata controller drivers up to Jan, 2012
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Location
Stralya
System Name Zorg
Processor Ryzen 2600
Motherboard Asrock B450 Pro4
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory Kingston HyperX Predator 16GB @3200MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 1060 6GB
Storage ssd 1 TB /hdd 2TB x2 + 4 TB
Display(s) LG 24" LCD 1920x1080
Case NANOXIA DS1
Power Supply Be Quiet PP10 500w
Mouse G500s
Software Win 10 pro
Cheers de.das.dude . Worked a treat :toast:

I know it's a old thread , but had to bump

Cheers :lovetpu:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Shoot before i even installed windows id set Ahci on install windows and installed chipset drivers
 
Top