• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Endless Buffering

Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
150 (1.44/day)
System Name MonsterBot
Processor AMD FX 6350
Motherboard ASUS 970 Pro Gaming/AURA
Cooling 280 mm EVGA AIO
Memory 2x8GB Ripjaw Savge X 2133
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 29 270x OC
Storage 4 500 gb HDD
Display(s) 2, one big one little
Case nighthawk 117 with 5 140mm fans and a 120
Audio Device(s) crappy at best
Power Supply 1500 W Silverstone PSU
Mouse Razer NAGA 2014 left handed edition
Keyboard Redragon
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores none
My computer is making me nuts.
Is there any setting in BIOS that one could screw up that would cause endless buffering?
I stream, or try to stream, t.v. pretty much constantly. It helps me sleep at night, sometimes.
I have my CPU o.c.'d about 20%. I have my memory set to the XMP profile that my board supports.
I have my LLC set to Regular.
I don't have my GPU o.c.'d at all.
My games run fine and the silly thing seems to run perfect, except for sometimes endless buffering.
The streaming service works fine during hours with the most bandwith usage, most of the time. But every few hours it will start buffering, and buffering, and buffering. If it matters, I am streaming my cable providers website on a hard line. I have a whopping 25 ish Mbps connection speed.
I have undone the overclock, just to see if that helps, I don't think it will, but I am trying to make sure I have left no stone unturned before I bite someones head off at the cable company, which also provides my internet service.
Whats even worse is that they AGREE that it is beyond stupid that I can't stream their t.v. service on their internet connection without endless buffering.
TIA!
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,851 (3.07/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
That kind of thing is usually a network problem. Wireless or wired? If wireless, it could be a sign of a dying router, or a bad NIC.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
150 (1.44/day)
System Name MonsterBot
Processor AMD FX 6350
Motherboard ASUS 970 Pro Gaming/AURA
Cooling 280 mm EVGA AIO
Memory 2x8GB Ripjaw Savge X 2133
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 29 270x OC
Storage 4 500 gb HDD
Display(s) 2, one big one little
Case nighthawk 117 with 5 140mm fans and a 120
Audio Device(s) crappy at best
Power Supply 1500 W Silverstone PSU
Mouse Razer NAGA 2014 left handed edition
Keyboard Redragon
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores none
That kind of thing is usually a network problem. Wireless or wired? If wireless, it could be a sign of a dying router, or a bad NIC.
wired. I figured it was connection. Not trying to work on assumptions. I will leave it unclocked for a day or two and see if there is any change. Trying to look past the usual.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.56/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909
wired. I figured it was connection. Not trying to work on assumptions. I will leave it unclocked for a day or two and see if there is any change. Trying to look past the usual.

Is this a Cable or DSL setup?

Try adjusting the MTU size using this guide: https://homenetworkgeek.com/mtu-size/

You could also try clearing your IP Stack from CMD as Administrator: (Copy n Paste) netsh int ip reset
then reboot and reapply wireless settings.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
267 (0.42/day)
System Name Fractal
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5800X
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black
Memory 2x8 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600Mhz CL18 (CMK16GX4M2D3600C18)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700XT
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 2TB
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Blackout w/ USB-C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Win10 Pro
Start the process of elimination. Run PC at stock. Go direct PC--> Modem. (get rid of any routers or switches in between). Swap NIC's. Unplug the microwave. Ya literally gotta start at zero sometimes to find the culprit.

I ended up ditching my older 802.11n router and going WiFi6. Direct 4K streams from my PC to TV just wouldn't play nice.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,612 (1.90/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
What service? I just solved an issue with Plex live streams buffering like crazy turned out to be an Addon (HTTPS EVerywhere - EFF.org) after hours of checking everything else it turns out the stream dont like being forced to use HTTPS.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
150 (1.44/day)
System Name MonsterBot
Processor AMD FX 6350
Motherboard ASUS 970 Pro Gaming/AURA
Cooling 280 mm EVGA AIO
Memory 2x8GB Ripjaw Savge X 2133
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 29 270x OC
Storage 4 500 gb HDD
Display(s) 2, one big one little
Case nighthawk 117 with 5 140mm fans and a 120
Audio Device(s) crappy at best
Power Supply 1500 W Silverstone PSU
Mouse Razer NAGA 2014 left handed edition
Keyboard Redragon
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores none
Is this a Cable or DSL setup?

Try adjusting the MTU size using this guide: https://homenetworkgeek.com/mtu-size/

You could also try clearing your IP Stack from CMD as Administrator: (Copy n Paste) netsh int ip reset
then reboot and reapply wireless settings.
Cat 5 - router - modem. I know that as LAN. DSL to me is a dedicated dial up connection. I get my Inet through my cable provider so it comes through the same COAX.
Honestly, I thought IP stack had something to do with servers. Should I be embarrassed yet? Can you explain in real, real simple terms what that is?
Start the process of elimination. Run PC at stock. Go direct PC--> Modem. (get rid of any routers or switches in between). Swap NIC's. Unplug the microwave. Ya literally gotta start at zero sometimes to find the culprit.

I ended up ditching my older 802.11n router and going WiFi6. Direct 4K streams from my PC to TV just wouldn't play nice.
I returned to stock settings. 3.9 is sooooooooo much slower than the 4.6 I had it at. Maybe it is psychosomatic. I just got a brand new router from Cable Co. rated at 1Tbs. Hadn't thought about eliminating router completely. That is going to absolutely SUCK for everyone else in the house. How do I not make it F Dup for everyone else? My modem only has the one cat 5 port.
Can you please define and explain NICs? No idea what that is. All google shows is crime stuff
What service? I just solved an issue with Plex live streams buffering like crazy turned out to be an Addon (HTTPS EVerywhere - EFF.org) after hours of checking everything else it turns out the stream dont like being forced to use HTTPS.
Spectrum. Hadn't thought about addons. I have exactly 3. One is from my antivirus. Interestingly enough, the other two have to do with streaming. Next time it starts endlessly buffering, I will disable them one at a time and see what happens. Good Idea! I might never have thought of that.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,675 (4.96/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Are you just leaving the stream sit on the same channel for a long while or are you changing around what you are viewing? And if it starts to buffer and you switch to something else, does it endlessly buffer with the new channel or does the new content play regularly?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.56/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909
Cat 5 - router - modem. I know that as LAN. I get my Internet through my cable provider so it comes through the same COAX.
Honestly, I thought IP stack had something to do with servers. Should I be embarrassed yet? Can you explain in real, real simple terms what that is?

Do this first on your PC:
You could also try clearing your IP Stack from CMD as Administrator: (Copy n Paste) netsh int ip reset
then reboot and reapply wireless settings as needed.


Can you please define and explain NICs? No idea what that is.
Network Card either built in or as an add-on card.

Spectrum
. Hadn't thought about addons. I have exactly 3. One is from my antivirus. Interestingly enough, the other two have to do with streaming. Next time it starts endlessly buffering, I will disable them one at a time and see what happens. Good Idea! I might never have thought of that.
On your router set the MTU to 1470.

And try rebooting your Spectrum Modem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
856 (0.20/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) XFX 6800 XT Speedster Merc 319 Black
Storage Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 1TB
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Might want to check your power and sleep settings to ensure nothing is being switched off if thinks it's idle for too long.
Along with the general settings, check the following:
Device Manager > Network adapters > your network card
Properties > Power Management
Make sure Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power is not checked.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
150 (1.44/day)
System Name MonsterBot
Processor AMD FX 6350
Motherboard ASUS 970 Pro Gaming/AURA
Cooling 280 mm EVGA AIO
Memory 2x8GB Ripjaw Savge X 2133
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 29 270x OC
Storage 4 500 gb HDD
Display(s) 2, one big one little
Case nighthawk 117 with 5 140mm fans and a 120
Audio Device(s) crappy at best
Power Supply 1500 W Silverstone PSU
Mouse Razer NAGA 2014 left handed edition
Keyboard Redragon
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores none
Cat 5 - router - modem. I know that as LAN. I get my Internet through my cable provider so it comes through the same COAX.
Honestly, I thought IP stack had something to do with servers. Should I be embarrassed yet? Can you explain in real, real simple terms what that is?

Do this first on your PC:
You could also try clearing your IP Stack from CMD as Administrator: (Copy n Paste) netsh int ip reset
then reboot and reapply wireless settings as needed.


Can you please define and explain NICs? No idea what that is.
Network Card either built in or as an add-on card.

Spectrum
. Hadn't thought about addons. I have exactly 3. One is from my antivirus. Interestingly enough, the other two have to do with streaming. Next time it starts endlessly buffering, I will disable them one at a time and see what happens. Good Idea! I might never have thought of that.
On your router set the MTU to 1490.

And try rebooting your Spectrum Modem.
I will check the MTU but I don't understand the directions. I have reset the modem and the router several times.
I built this computer, so the network card has to be built in.
Might want to check your power and sleep settings to ensure nothing is being switched off if thinks it's idle for too long.
Along with the general settings, check the following:
Device Manager > Network adapters > your network card
Properties > Power Management
Make sure Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power is not checked.
Oh yeah. I did that ages ago. I never shut this thing off.
Are you just leaving the stream sit on the same channel for a long while or are you changing around what you are viewing? And if it starts to buffer and you switch to something else, does it endlessly buffer with the new channel or does the new content play regularly?
Yes the stream sits on the same channel. For hours. It decides to start buffering anywhere from as soon as I change channels to several hours. Currently the channel I am watching has started the endless buffering thing about once every 2 hours. If I switch channels and switchback, it clears that up.
The big problem is how it effects my PTSD I sleep with the tv streaming as the light and noise help me stay asleep. As soon as it starts endless buffering, I wake up. Currently I have about 6 hours sleep for the week. I can never get back to sleep. I have tried other streaming services, Discovery channel works all night sometimes, as does the on demand service. Sometimes.
So sometimes I get more than 2 or 3 hours of sleep a night. Sometimes.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
1,544 (4.04/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation & Q9550 with EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 & CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Hi,
Some stream servers are garbage
List where you're streaming from.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,675 (4.96/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Yes the stream sits on the same channel. For hours. It decides to start buffering anywhere from as soon as I change channels to several hours. Currently the channel I am watching has started the endless buffering thing about once every 2 hours. If I switch channels and switchback, it clears that up.

I'd almost guarantee you that is the steaming provider timing out your connection due to inactivity. Comcast does the same thing to me if I leave one of my computers streaming for too long on the same channel. I'm kind of like you, I like to fall asleep with the TV on and when the sound stops and the buffering starts, it wakes me up.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,216 (4.82/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Bandwidth can drop during peak times once everyone is home from work and online, it depends how many properties are connected to the node in your area.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,612 (1.90/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Bandwidth can drop during peak times once everyone is home from work and online, it depends how many properties are connected to the node in your area.
twitch does this depending what prime time is for the streamer.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.56/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909
I will check the MTU but I don't understand the directions. I have reset the modem and the router several times.
I built this computer, so the network card has to be built in.

Log into your router and look under the WAN tab and see if MTU is set to 1500. Change 1500 to 1470 and apply/save setting.
EDIT: not 1490 but 1470. (this is for Spectrum)

 

Attachments

  • IP Reset.JPG
    IP Reset.JPG
    31.8 KB · Views: 6
  • IP Reset end.JPG
    IP Reset end.JPG
    77.6 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Top