• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Equaliser APO - Stereo Surround Upmixer

Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,788 (2.20/day)
Downloads: Equaliser APO | E-APO Stereo Upmixer.

----

1A: Disable the device(s) you want to add EAPO to using Windows 'Sound Control Panel' | 1B: For DTS DCH run my 'DTS Settings' procedure on the chosen device(s):

DTS Settings.png

----

2: Install EAPO, at the device config, tick the device(s) you want, at the bottom tick troubleshoot, and set SFX/MFX, pre-mix, no post-mix (per device):

Equalizer APO.png

3: Say no to the restart, then run 'Configure.reg' from my 'Upmixer Config', then copy the [.txt] files to [C:\Program Files\EqualizerAPO\Config]:

Config Path.png

4: Run the EAPO config editor, and add your already setup device(s) to the main panel:

Config Editor.png

5: Restart, then enable the device(s).

----
 

Attachments

  • E-APO Stereo Upmixer.png
    E-APO Stereo Upmixer.png
    207.7 KB · Views: 154
Last edited:

hook

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Hi, I can´t get graphic equalizer in E-APO working. Also stereo upmixer doesn´t work. I have latest AAF drivers, digital output DD. I installed E-APO SFX/MFX, post/pre mix also only post/mix on digital. When I try to change equalizer, sound dissapears. I can only control gain. I was trying with youtube music playing. Can you help? Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,788 (2.20/day)
Should be pre-mix and SFX/MFX on all interfaces, else the EQ in the control panel wont work.

1.png
2.png
 
Last edited:

hook

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
I realized that any equalizer on DD output digital is not possible. That´s cause of it´s not funcional.
 

hook

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Does E-APO work with DTS 5.1 digital output (SPDIF)?? I´m interested esp. in graphic eq. function.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,788 (2.20/day)
With the driver I am using or Alans with DTS-DDL (both decoders) works, I've never tried his DD only driver.
 

hook

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
With the driver I am using or Alans with DTS-DDL (both decoders) works, I've never tried his DD only driver.
I installed AAF drivers with DTS few minutes ago and got same result. I red somewhere at E-APO pages, that using digital DD/DTS (SPDIF) output with E-APO is technicaly impossible :/
Stereo over SPDIF and equalizer works fine. So I need buy better receiver for surround :D

Thank for discuss.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,788 (2.20/day)
Lol no, its 100% possible, it just sounds like you have a strange issue, I am using it right now with DTS. Even 'Neo : PC' that comes with DTS expands stereo to 5.1 before sending it to SPDIF.
Right now I am upmixing stereo to 5.1, if I disable E-APO, then it goes back to stereo. I honestly have no idea why your case is unique, plenty of ppl using E-APO.

The EQ in the Realtek Audio Control app also works, even with E-APO on, however in some cases this may be different, depends on your driver.
E-APO doesn't need to support DTS or DDL, your card and driver are the ones that transcode PCM into DTS-DDL.
 

hook

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
I don't know a lot about . Could it be in type of my Realtek codec? I think EQ in audio control also didn't work. And mostly i need to use graphic EQ in E-APO for sound improve. I'll try to install everything again tomorrow.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
2,788 (2.20/day)
Strange, I don't know what the problem is. Sorry. All E-APO does as an upmixer is split-clone 2 channels of PCM into 6 or 8 channels, your driver should then encode that from PCM to DTS or DDL.

:(
 

hook

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2021
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Hi ,I installed drivers again, AAF DCH Optimus Sound + DTS (your edition :) ) Everything works fine, realtek audio console effects, console equalizer, 5.1 in games. But I can´t still manage to work E-APO graphic equalizer. When I set it on, digital output playback sound stops. I can only control preamplification. Weird if real. console EQ works fine. I installed E-APO as pre-mix/SFX/MFX. I need to use better EQ, cause my reciever has poor one. Thanks for any advise how to solve :)

...or is any plugin for DTS, I can get sound more clear (equalizied) than only in console EQ?

Thanks, you´ll have couple of welcome drinks from me :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Location
Jakarta (+7 GMT)
Hi Ferather, I wonder if you could help me with this. I've been using EAPO for over a year on an older PC to do my own upmixing setup with no problems. I recently upgraded to a Ryzen machine using an MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk board (ALC 1220P) and EAPO isn't behaving as expected.

Code:
Stage: pre-mix
If: inputChannelCount == 2
Preamp: -4 dB
Copy: M=0.3*L+0.3*R
Copy: C=M
Copy: SUB=M
Copy: SL=1.3*L
Copy: SR=1.3*R
Copy: RL=1.9*L
Copy: RR=1.9*R
EndIf:

Previously, using the above code, most things would be caught and upsampled to 5.1 except for Chrome/YouTube and, annoyingly, Voicemeeter. Now it seems that MOST things are using 6 channels, including Foobar2000 and iTunes.

Switching to If: inputChannelCount == 6 for those problem apps allows the upmixing to continue.

Do you have any idea what could be causing that?

Exceptions to this so far are Audacity and VLC (which I only keep for reference).

For reference, I started with Alan's 9013.1 drivers. Tried yours today (kept crackling, no fix to this issue), and now I'm on Alan's latest 6.0.9155.1 pack.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
818 (0.39/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
The 6 channel is because the app outputs 6 channels, but populates only 2 with sound, not sure why more apps do this.
I so hate this. This is the reason why too often Dolby upmixing breaks.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Location
Jakarta (+7 GMT)
That might some of Alan's older extensions conflicting, either way. The 6 channel is because the app outputs 6 channels, but populates only 2 with sound, not sure why more apps do this.
Well, damn. I was hoping it was a mysterious setting somewhere.

So, it turns out that the ancient copy of Foobar2000 I had been using on my old computer is behaving as expected. When I upgraded my computer, I decided to upgrade Foobar and spent a ridiculous amount of time transferring my theme over.

I've just compared the two of them:

Foobar2000 1.6.5 (April 2021), Primary Sound Driver or direct to Speaker: 6 channels.
Foobar2000 1.3.10 (March 2016), Primary Sound Driver or direct to Speaker: 2 channels.

With iTunes 12.6.5.3, playback via "Windows Audio Session" uses 6 channels while "Direct Sound" uses 2.

For now, I'm just going to redirect all of these misbehaving apps into VB-Cable, including my Opera browser for YouTube.

---

A bit off topic here, but:
@Ferather the popping and crackling was happening when I started and stopped any audio output over digital. I may have not set up the Stereo Mix properly to keep the channel open. I was super confused by this channel issue so I didn't investigate any further.

By the way, I installed initially using option 2 for my ALC 1220P codec but it really REALLY didn't like it. Using the Main install option worked.
 
Top