1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Error at 1068590

Discussion in 'MemTest64' started by dnguyen926, Sep 28, 2017.

  1. dnguyen926 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    like the title says. I ran 150 loops and got that error. Can anyone help me? I think it's related to my timing, might be a bit too tight, but I'm not sure. Thank you for the help! :D
     
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,203 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,373
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    who runs 150 loops wtf...

    How about using your computer normally.
     
    Vya Domus and Arjai say thanks.
  3. dnguyen926 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Haha, well I've seen people doing 120 etc. So I just wanted to make sure everything is stable so I ran something a long the lines of those. So... I guess That error shouldn't mean much then???
     
  4. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,203 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,373
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    That ram is more than stable. Most likely memtest itself errors out randomly after so long.
     
  5. dnguyen926 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh okay, yeah that makes sense. I didn't actually get the message until the 143rd loop. Thank you so much. For future reference though what would your recomendation for the number of loops?
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,431 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,800
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    However long you leave your PC on for?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    MemTest is weak sauce, if it fails once, you're probably gonna get more fails under real usage.

    Funny sig material here! Those MemTest failures, nah MemTest is just buggy, yeah that's it ...
     
  8. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,203 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,373
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    It would depend how long a full loop takes. 1-2 loops good enough for me.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,564 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I was thinking fruit loops, then saw the forum this is under. Move along...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,203 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,373
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    No software is perfect especially at version 1.
     
  11. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,376 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,614
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    i dont think i have the patience for TWO Memtest loops :laugh: i handle pretty much everything in the following manner. if it isnt causing problems, i dont look for problems. I dont get "recreational" prostate exams, nor do i run "recreational" Memtest scans.:rolleyes: first i wanna know theres a issue, then ill go looking for it.
     
    Frogger and mad1394 say thanks.
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,572 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,543
    No bsods or lockups under gaming, file compression, audio/video encoding, internet/movies/youtube/music, office. Is my indicator of stability.
     
    FYFI13 and Vya Domus say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7,109 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,405
    Ram testing software is basically a comparison test. (does 1=1? No? fail!) It's as dog-simple to make bug free as it gets.

    He's more likely to have an error in the GUI than the ram test, frankly.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,572 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,543
    Parity checking is something i learned long ago
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. delshay New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    6 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That not how things are done. I can run memory test for 4 or 5 hours no errors, however overnight testing errors can show up.

    Memory modules should show no sign of errors even after weeks or even years of non stop testing if your lucky. The fault may have nothing to do with the program itself.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,892 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,805
    It is a bit more complex. Need to come up with various test patterns to identify errors. For example keep shifting one bit through all memory and check if previous bits get stuck, or new bits don't get set, etc
     
    R-T-B says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)