• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ethernet Cable connection in Dorms

Jade93

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi I need some help. I'm sorry if I posted in the wrong forum but I have no idea with computers I hope this is ok.

I'm staying at college and for some reason my wireless works but not my ethernet cable. trouble is because we have cement walls the wireless signal is HORRIBLE so I would love to get my ethernet cable up and running.

If you could please help me getting it up and running again that would be amazing.

Thanks in advance.
Jade :) xx
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
Press start
Type in "network", and select "Network and Sharing Centre"
Click on Change Adapter Settings at the left.
Check if you have two, one ethernet and one wireles.
If you only have one, wireless, your ethernet driver is not installed (refer to website of manufacturer for driver)
If you have two, and the ethernet cable is plugged in but the adapter is not connected - buy a new cable.
Check with university site management to see if they have purposefully disabled physical network connection.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#3
It may be necessary to fill in a form and give the MAC serial number to the IT crowd of your college in order to make a wired connection work.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
665 (0.27/day)
Likes
268
Location
coventry UK
System Name Gwafwar
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi p67a gd45
Cooling EK H30 HF240
Memory 16Gb Hyper X 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX970
Storage 840 250Gb 6TB on 3 drives
Display(s) 3x 27" 1080p Lg's
Case Coolermaster 690 II pure black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 80+bronze 800W
Mouse Saitek X65-f HOTAS
Software Win7 ultimate 64,
#4
Are you trying to connect 2 PC's together with 1 cable?

If so you need an ethernet crossover, or a Hub/switch and a second cable.

If your plugging it into a wall socket then you do not need the crossover or the hub. Make sure your cable is good (free of defects). And make sure you have the correct drivers installed for your network card.

Also try using a connection in another room. You may have a dodgy wall socket. They often get abused in student accommodation. I know I had to get one repaired when I was in uni because mine had been ripped off and screwed back to the wall at some point. This was probably some drunk accident, and a cheap fix to stop the uni billing the previous occupant.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#5
Turn your PC's PSU off for 10 seconds. Next, unplug the modem for 10 seconds. Power both back on and boot. It is important to reset the PC's PSU also so don't forget this. The onboard NIC cannot find the DNS server If I remember correctly and powering off the entire PC will reset the NIC. I had this problem for 2 days and my buddy helped me and finally we powered the entire system down and turned off the PSU and bingo, success.
 
Last edited: