1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA nForce 680i SLI 775 "Designed by NVIDIA" Mainboard Goes on Sale

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    [​IMG]

    EVGA Corporation, one of the leading-edge 3D processor and motherboard manufacturers, announces the latest addition to its line of high-performance SLI-ready motherboards, the EVGA nForce 680i SLI. Engineered for the Enthusiast, this motherboard features the powerful NVIDIA 680i SLI MCP which is specified to run at 1333MHz front side bus(FSB) to support existing and future FSB speeds. Award winning NVIDIA overclocking tools provide a complete kit of tools giving everyone from the most veteran enthusiast to the novice overclocker the ability to unleash the hardware in their PC. Available November 8th, 2006, the EVGA nForce 680i SLI motherboard brings screaming performance and SLI power at a $299.99 retail price.

    This next generation EVGA nForce 680i SLI motherboard supports the latest Intel socket 775 Core 2 Duo Processors, and will be ready for the quad core CPU. It also boasts a third PCIe slot that can be used for new three GPU applications. Complete this with true 2x16 SLI support and it will fully deliver the cutting edge performance that enthusiasts demand.

    Products will be available starting November 8, 2006 through EVGA's network of leading E-tailers, Retailers, Systems Integrators, OEM System Manufacturers and Distributors.

    New and Key features introduced on the EVGA 680i SLI motherboard:
    • NVIDIA 680i SLI chipset capable of extreme FSB speeds and true 2x16 SLI support
    • Intel Core 2 Extreme, Core 2 Quad, and Core 2 Duo support
    • SLI-Ready memory support for extreme DDR2 memory speeds
    • Third PCI Express graphics expansion slot
    • NVIDIA nTune performance application
    • NVIDIA FirstPacket technology
    • NVIDIA LinkBoost technology
    Source: EVGA
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,885 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    looks very nice lets see if it performs as well hopefully evga will start making mobo's that are as good as there gfx cards
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    $300?!!!! :twitch:

    Screw you too Nvidia.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Track

    Track New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    only someone crazy enough to buy 2 8800s would buy this.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Some high end Asus, Abit, Intel and DFI mobos with chipsets from different manufacturers already sell for over $300, (this evga one can be found in newegg for $269 btw) so how come nVidia is to blame?

    Anyway, you think anyone willing to spend about $1,400 for two 8800GTX would feel sorry for spending about $260~270 on a good quality mobo? After all you know what they say, if you have the money to buy a car, you might as well have some change left for the gas :p :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    816 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    true but damn all this 8800 cards dx 10 stuff makin me want it :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    evga boards are not so bad, but had that ugly color combination (sea green and yellow).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Good thing they changed the color scheme for this one, that black PCB looks really sexy :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    So this is how its justified these days?

    I'm running a $110 mobo thats just as capable as the SLI-D.

    Oh wait, its the same chipset. I can just close a bridge and the only thing I'm missing is a few sata ports I'll never use. :rolleyes:

    Yeah, quality difference indeed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    Lol, Ahhhh, see since everyone has jumped on the Core 2 bandwagon, we are realizing what Intel users have had to suffer through for years... expensive mobos. They will come out with stipped down retail versions of these boards in the $169 - $199 price range soon im sure. Patience.:rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Show me a $110 mobo with a 680i chipset and three PCIe slots for graphic cards and I'm sold ;)

    And no, this not how it's justified these days, high end $300+ mobos (and mind you this mobo is under $300) have been around for quite a long time if I remember correctly :rolleyes: My point is anyway, how is this nVidia's fault?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Yeah, because 3x 8800GTX's are totally necessary :rolleyes:

    Its just barely under $300...

    and if They keep doing to mobos what they did to GPU's, can't wait til all the idiots are out paying $600+ for one.. :rolleyes:

    Strange, how overall computer prices have dropped dramatically, and enthusiast components.... are.... skyrocketing...? :banghead:

    You can easily find a laptop for $400 now, yet mobos are breaching $300 now? :confused:

    Seriously, its the same old crap that happened to overclocking.

    People are no longer trying to get that $40 CPU to smoke a $120 CPU, people are buying $180-$200 CPU's to beat a $1k CPU and calling it a comparison. :banghead:

    In turn, leaving all the binning results up in the higher price range. The low end CPU's that sneak by such as the low end sempys still clock like crazy, but noone even winces anymore because OMG its 100mhz slower...

    Is what I replied to--- theres no QUALITY difference. My Ultra-D clocks just like an SLI-D does. Yet its $100 cheaper. Yeah, those 4 sata ports are just a bum, aren't they? I dunno, maybe that $.05 sli PCB is hard to make too :rolleyes:

    Its gouging a market they know will pay for it.. because you all think its justified. :rolleyes: Its similar to the $10,000 dell deal... rofl...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I agree with you a 100% on this :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    i love my 3000+ and it beats the crap out of every one of my friends p4 :D
    cheap is good ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. lordraptor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i see asus mobos with a 680 chipset for 400.00 and i paid 269.99 +tax for my evga 680i and it rocks:rockout: . i also bought my EVGA 640Mb 8800 GTS for 300.00 +tax at a store and it started as a stock one and i flashed to the superclocked bios so again it rocks:rockout: . if you like no tech support and higher retail cost then buy all means by an asus i will be sitting here enjoying a real mobo with great tech support should i ever even need it:toast: you would still rather have an asus???? :slap: what the @@@@ are you thinking? why would go and buy an asus instead of this:shadedshu


    the evga 680i just rocks and they are even offering a cross rma for quad core/future quad core users and you still do not like it:banghead: how could you not like this board:confused: try getting this kind of support or even a cross rma of a new revision from asus H@@@ try just getting them to give you any support without blaming your other hardware or operating system:banghead: also when you run 3dmark o6 you tell me which cpu is number one (it sure isn't an amd):D. :respect: so to evga and intel i salute them :respect:
     
  16. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,784 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    A great who with what? lmao.. we are talking about the evga 680i sli right? great is hardly a word i would use for this paperweight of a motherboard.. i have never seen so many instability issues or random shut downs with corrupted data causing me to reformat hard drives.. several times in one month of owenrship i have had to reformat becaue of this garbage.. evga offers no real solution or fixes and the p26 bios has a tendency to leave some of the mobos completely useless and can only be rma'd... that is customer support? lol.. 5 months later and still not a fix that has actually helped? i think the mobo is garbage.. i wish i had bought an asus p5b instead. what good is sli if you cant even run? Had my first memory failure last night, can;t wait to see where that leads.. i ran at 4-4-4-12 "which i do very often" but it actually failed it this time.. never had that happen before. but i reset timings and alls well.. just strange it decided to happen now when it could of happened anytime.. evgas fixes amount to teling you to disable settings and nonsens like that.. they have actually been as bold as to tell people to disable settings that are absolutely nesessary for lan gameplay at decent speeds..lol.. anyway it'sa big joke.. i wrote evga a complaint after registering my products with them... this is it..


    Complaint:
    I bought your evga 680i sli mobo and it has caused me nothing but
    trouble.. is this something I can look forward to from evga or should i
    spend my next 2 grand i get on asus parts?

    I bought your geforce 8800 video card (((which has performed very
    well))) and your 680i mobo and the mobo has caused me constant grief..
    it overclocks like garbage.. i need to run nearly 1.6 volts just to hit
    3.4 ghz on a pentuim dual core conroe.. thats garbage.. i should be able
    to get that at like 1.4 -1.5 volts max..

    the bios updated fixed virtually nothing, i keep having crashes and
    unexplained boot downs. your sata ports are misnumbered and your
    multipliers are incorrect.. how much more gehtto can this be? is this
    typical of evga products? this is the first time i bought from evga and
    if this isnt fixed soon it will be the last.. and i dont buy half grade
    gear for cheap prices..

    I hope you guys are working on fixing these hardware and software issues
    because this 680i is the biggest joke on the market right now.. i wish i
    was kidding and you wish I was kidding but we both know I'm not..

    I'm about to throw this piece of junk against the wall.. it'd be worth
    the 220 bucks i spent on it just to have the pleasure of watching it
    break into a million pieces. the mcp spp runs extremely hot by the way
    and defaults to what ntune states is a critical voltage level... yea
    that cant be good..

    all in all I am just very disappointed. I bought something I thought was
    top of the line and it turns out it's the bottom of the barrel for top
    of the line prices..

    But on the same note i understand new technology has it's quirks. but
    you guys have had a long time now to fix these issues or issue some kind
    of recall on them and nothing has been fixed as far as i can see.. this
    thing is supposed to be a beast.. but it is being put to complete shame
    right now in every review i read. if thats the kind of name evga wants
    then I am sorry..

    It took me like a solid day just to find out how to update my bios with
    evga.. links were old or not valid or out of order..

    all I can say is if it's fixed you keep a customer, if it's not, well
    you loose one.. but not some kid who spends 50 bucks.. a man who spends
    thousands. im sure gigabyte and asus wouldnt mind a new customer,
    especially with that nice new striker on the market that absolutley puts
    this 680i to shame..

    a whole month i have been trying to work with this mobo and for a whole
    month i have had to reofrmat my hard drive
    (( and it's linked in raid 0 array so it takes me a very long time to
    reformat)).... I have had to wipe and reformat my hd's about 5 times
    this month.. no im not kidding.. this is totally ridiculous.. please
    fix the problems already.. make this board what it was "supposed" to
    be..

    this board is definitely vista ready lol.. it's just as much garbage as
    vista, im sure theyll get along very well.. i have vista, maybe my evga
    items should join vista in the box of "things never to use again"?
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    to which their response was:

    We apologize for this particular issue. I will forward your information
    to on of our techs to try to help you resolve this issue. If you have
    any additional questions, please contact us at

    http://evga.com/support/getSupport/.


    so pretty much they know nothing...lol..

    oh yea, by the way, they mispelled the word "ONE" lol.. oh boy I have faith now...lol.. also i said i had "issues" (plural) not an issue... it's almost like they thing if they dont acknowledge it , it will go away lol.. the buyers are the boogy man and evga has blankets to hide under.. I tried to rma it but i junked my box like an idiot thinking it was a quality product.. wtf was i thinking.. don't buy it unless they fix it.. if you can afford it, buy a striker extreme.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2007
  17. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    I have had a few issues with mine but thats Half the fun of building your own. Though I feel we should have no issues with a 299 mother board but most normal users won't push a 1.83 ghz to 3500 expect a few problems. D007 I assume you got that 10300+ 3d06 score by pushing it a bit? face it you have a 200 dollar cpu running faster than a 900 dollar cpu and you have a 300 dollar gpu running faster than a 600 dollar gpu all on a board with issues I would have to say you have great skills to get there. But don't worry I bitched at EVGA also
    but my real problem turned out to be windows not using my 1.2 tb hard drive space thinking it was 1.2 mb so it was cuasing hibrnation and resetting my Bios. yet I agree there are other issues I had to work around that I would expect from a 100 dollar board not from 300 :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,784 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida

    Well thank you for the compliment, nice to know I'm doing decent work over here for a noob lol.. :D
    yours is hibernating too? i cant seem to shut that off.. i turned off that dang mode but it still comes on anyway.. wow a 1.2 tb huh? eesh lol. thats alotta junk in the trunk right there..lol.. nice.. yea i ocd it quite a bit.. it just seems like it hit's it's max to soon and it looses stability way to easy.. the corrupted data and reformats are just killing me.

    ps.. score is up to 10477 now lol.. something weird happened last night after a memory failure.. it was like an invisible barrier was lifted allowing me to finally run at 3.2 ghz safely..lol.. it made no sense to me what so ever but I'm not complaining.. maybe the board is adjusting.. like a new house setting into place lol. yea right..

    anyone recommend the best thermal paste available? i want to reset my cpu.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2007
  19. lordraptor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :wtf: are you daffy? this board is greatare you using the 2 sata ports that hang off the side of the board or the four that are side by side? i am not running raid but it has been discussed elswhere to use the 2 sata ports that hang off teh board (90 degree plug on board). i am not the only one without issues of any kind why not post a topic in the motherboard section of the evga forums and see if a meber can help you?, if you had a post there you might actually find someone that has had the same issue and has a fix:p , still don't like it:ohwell: maybe you should sell it to me for $50.00 :laugh: (you said it did not work anyway):laugh: i am real sorry you do not like the board, but if you want to hear about bad boards asus is the cream of the crop of these. i had a p5nsli for a year and it never worked stable stock, the only tech support i got was the it is not or board, it is your other hardware, it is your operating system excuses. all of this after having to call them because they did not return e-mails, and then being put on hold for 20 minutes long distance for these excuses:wtf: i will be the first to say that evga is slow at e-mail returns and you do get put on hold for a bit, but you do get supprot and not just excuses. some like this board and some do not, i like mine and it has been flawless better than the year i spent with the asus board, i would chalk the asus up as luck of the draw but i had been through 3 different models of asus mobo and the out of those 3 none worked, i picked up a 370 socket p3 from a garage sale the other day (i just wanted the monitor 14" lcd) and i figured the monitor was bad because i paid .50 for the whole thing. turns out it was an old high school libray computer that had been on a domain and could not be used as is. (to bad it had xp pro on it:( ) i wiped the hard drive installed xp home and now it works except for it bsods when you try to install any software at all which is either a memory issue, or something with the 10 gig hard drive, bad thing is that i had a 200 gig hard drive i could put on it but it is not compatible (according to numerous sources 168 Gb is max size supported ) , one of these sources is the asus forums. i like my 680i it works great and i will :rockout: as long as i have it, peace out
     
  20. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,784 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    yep im using ports along the side.. the other ports "if you looked at them" are numbered incorrectly for this "high end" board lol.. the dang ports dont even line up to be what their supposed to be.. thats just straight up ghetto.. it tells you from looking at the mobo you are in like port 4 but it says in bios your like in port 5... it's wrong.. the multipliers in bios are wrong.. the mcp spp voltage default to high and runs critical voltage.. memory and data corruption, loss of memory sticks all together.. reformats.. i think your the daffy one my friend.. i know what I've been going through lol.. It "can be a great board" but as is, I'd much rather have a striker..lol.. but who wouldn't.. fact is.. i get way to much data corruption and i ran memtest for a whole friggin night , over 1000% completion.. no memory errors.. it's the mobo.. no question.. maybe your having better luck but I'm not satisfied.. daffy is a term best used with your friends by the way.. your humor in regards to my constant headaches and problems is not appreciated.. sell it for 50 bucks is not funny to me after investing all the time and money into this system just to watch it corrupt data on me.. how about i sell you for 50 bucks? funny? lol.. see my point?
    I appologise if that was a bit blunt but I am not in a good mood about this and humor evades me in regards to the terrible back pain im having now from working on my computer all the time..
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2007
  21. lordraptor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    if you want headaches pay 400.00 for an asus stryker and you will see waht i mean by headaches especially when it comes to tech support. what bios revision are you using? you mentioned data corruption (which that issue was adressed in the p23 bios update). if you want someone to try and help you with it send me an e-mail and i will try and help but if all you want to do is bash this board and praise the asus crap do it on the asus forums in the stryker section. better yet read the ongoing issues of the stryker straigth from the users of them on the asus forums (growing list i might add). i would like to help and i am sure if you post on teh evga forums someone there would be more than willing to help you out as well.:D
     
  22. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,784 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    im running the p26 bios, some things have helped stabilise the system like removing ntune after reformatting again. im goign to go remove the network access manager too, i hear that causes issues.. my core multiplier would default to 7 from 8 for some reason but that just stopped happening for some reason, maybe the bios update fixed it.. i took my whole computer apart again and rewired it using all sata ports and the other power connections "not the standard 12 v connections to the hd's" seems to of improved stability alot.. maybe the sata cables arent having a good connection.. their metal clip ins so idk why that would be lol.. but i actually found one unconnected one day for no apparent reason.. thats what made me decide to rewire it again and make sure they have minimal flex and a nice straight run to the ports. i think it really may of solved the problem with corruption but im waiting to see now..and no that wasnt what caused the corrution this whole time. but it may of contributed to the last time.. I personally believe it was ntune. it just seems like everything is connecting so much easier now.. like the bios loads way faster and windows bar only goes across 3 times as opposed to the 6 it use to do.. it's like turbo in some cases now and my overclocking has been steadily improving since the bios and removing ntune after my last reformat. i just hope i dont get that corruption again.. i cant stand to reformat again.. if i am corruption free after this rewire job then i am pretty much problem free.. im not using the high end ram and i relaxed my memory settings to 5-5-5-18 which is stock for my memory.. things just seem to of like clicked in place.. doing much better tonight.. dare I say "it may be a great board afterall"?

    oh no, not yet..lol.. let me go a couple weeks with no data corruption and I'll say it.. but still one hell of a rocky beginning and the sata ports are still misnumbered..lol.. its silly yes but none the less it should be right.. my cd/dvd is in the last port but it says its in like port 3 or something. and no i dont mean it's in the top mobo sata port ( not the ones on the side) that would make it port 3 (port 1 primary to be technical) the side ports are listed as 0 primary and 0 secondary. im in the very bottom port and it puts me in 3 or 4.. i forget.. but it's wrong..lol.. ok off i got to remove network acess manager..
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2007
  23. lordraptor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    yes the network manager needs to be removed, i never installed it or ntune and i have had no issues, i do not have metal clip in sata cables in use but they are plugged in good. uninstall nam and that will definately help also make sure one of the ethernet ports is disabled if you ar not using them both. as i said i never installed nam or ntune and i have been fine, i started with p23 and flashed through the rest and i still have no issues. if you need anything else you can contact me by e-mail or just visit the evga forums and post a thread with the assistance you need and someone will most likell be able to help you there, including evga tech support. i am running ide dvd rom, and i use nvidia pure vidio as my decoder.
     
  24. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,784 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Well i had everything set and it seemed to be running perfectly.. again.. i ran memtest for 1000% overnight and had no errors.. played age of empires for 3 rounds and on the 3rd round all of a sudden bam.. physical memory dump.. corruption city.. the file name in the memory dump.. oh yea , you guessed it "NV4" hmm i wonder what NV could stand for lol.... friggin nvidia issues again.. but i suppose maybe the card is to high.. but a memory dump? is that standard? lol.. max temp 60c under 100% load.. maybe 660 core and 920 memory on the video card is too much? i ran it like this every single time in 3d mark 06 the full version and never ran into problems, tested it over and over in memtest no problems.. im out of answers and really i dont even know what questions to ask anymore..
     
  25. lordraptor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)