• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Exe file slow to open

Status
Not open for further replies.

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#26
Maybe it's something wrong in the BIOS?
Maybe. If possible take some pictures of your bios screens.

Are the HDD's set to AHCI in the bios?

Do you have your chipset/SATA drivers installed?

What motherboard are you using?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#27
Are the HDD's set to AHCI in the bios?
Do you have your chipset/SATA drivers installed?
Yes

What motherboard are you using?
ASRock p67 PRO3 B3. How can I take screen from BIOS?

But now I tested one thing. Exe files from WinRar(SFX archive) open faster. When I click on SFX archive(exe) I must wait max 1 seconds.
So the problem is only for application like installers.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#28
But now I tested one thing. Exe files from WinRar(SFX archive) open faster. When I click on SFX archive(exe) I must wait max 1 seconds.
A SFX archive isn't going to open right away. The files have to be extracted first. When you are opening it in WinRar, it's not extracting the file, it's just reading it which is why it opens right away.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#29
I see. So... I have no idea.

You have the same disk as me(Corsair Force 3 120Gb). If you can check how long 1GB installer opens in your computer. I would be grateful.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#30
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#31
1gb installer for what?
Anything.


I think it's ok but why installers open slow? I remember that on my old computer this operation was faster.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#32
Looks good. I guess I don't understand your issue. You seem to be expecting file extraction to be immediate which it is not. Any installed application/program I run on my computer will open immediately. Any files that I extract will take time to extract.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#33
Yes maybe you right... Thank you :)
Last question, installer extract to pagefile? When I disable pagefile, all files will be extract to RAM? Yes?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#34
Ever stop to consider that a 1Gb installer might be doing other things in the background before it shows any window? I suspect there are compressed files and preparation the needs to be made prior to installing the software and it's very possible that even though you don't see it, it's doing something.

You know how UAC prompts you when you do something that requires admin? An installer that does that will only give you that prompt once the application has been loaded into memory and is ready to run. If you get the UAC box, you click yes and it takes some time, that's the installer doing its magic and it takes time regardless of the kind of machine you have. If it's slow before the UAC dialog box, that's slow disk I/O.

I personally haven't experienced this on my rig but that means nothing as it kind of has excessive amounts of I/O bandwidth.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#35
I wait for UAC dialog. After this installer runs normal.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#36
Disable the UAC dialog and see what happens.

Control Panel, User Accounts. Turn User Account Control off.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#37
Disable the UAC dialog and see what happens.

Control Panel, User Accounts. Turn User Account Control off.
Do not disabled UAC, it will not make a difference. I only bring it up because the dialog box comes up only after the application has been loaded into memory. It can tell you what is going slow by show quickly that box comes up and how quickly the installer comes up after you say yes to UAC. It has absolutely no reason why it would be going slow and to recommend turning it off will only cause more problems than it will solve.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#38
I find UAC to be a nuisance and counterproductive. I have zero reasons to leave it enabled.

Anyways, do you think the memory is unstable?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#39
have you tried without the antivirus like i suggested?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#40
I find UAC to be a nuisance and counterproductive. I have zero reasons to leave it enabled.
I agree, but if you don't disable it when you first start using the computer all the local settings inside your account suddenly aren't used anymore because you can now write to the program files folder. That does cause problems which is why I never recommend disabling it after Windows has already been installed for a while.

I don't find it incredibly counter productive, it's certainly no more intrusive than what OS X does with administrative tasks and gksudo for linux. I seriously see nothing wrong with the setup other than the fact that his SSD write performance seems a bit low so I'm baffled. I guess memory could be unstable, but the low write speeds makes me suspect that there may be I/O errors present.

Could we get a screenshot of your SMART logs for both drives? You can get it using something like CrystalDiskInfo or HDTune. Personally I use smartctl from the smartmontools package on Ubuntu for checking it. CrystalDiskInfo doesn't seem to get it right half of the time with my drives in RAID, but that's a different problem.

If there are I/O errors, it's very possible it's a bad cable. So just for the heck of it, if you have a extra SATA cable, try a different cable.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#41
Here is the screens:


I'll try to defragment HDD.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.