• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Express cache with big and small ssd

Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
Hi all,

been trawling for a few days now can't find anything on this.

I just brought a samsung ultrabook which had a 500gb hdd and a 24gb ssd which it was set up for express caching.

I got it for a bargain price (and free windows 8 :] ) so i upgraded the hdd to a 256gb Samung 830 ssd.

My question is though,should i reset up the system to cache again or is it a waste of time? or shall i just use the 24gb ssd for an extra bit of storage.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,848 (0.66/day)
Likes
498
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#2
I didn't quite understand your post but I have questions/

What do you use as boot HDD?
and what are the list HDDs that you use?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,048 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,945
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
i would definitely reset the cache.

then check subjective performance over a few days with caching on and off. i doubt you'll see much of a difference.

24 gb isn't much useful, maybe turning it off will help save a bit of power?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
Thanks W1zzard - I think you're right, should probably test the difference. Worth a try for the power saving. Might just end up using it as a bit of extra storage, dedicated Steam folder lol.

@lyndonguitar - The ultrabook had a 500gb hard drive installed, and soldered to the board is a 24gb ssd. I've replaced the 500gb with the 256gb SSD.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609 (0.13/day)
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
#5
Power saving would be a few watts at best. I would use it as a cache and consider getting a bigger one at some point.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
Or sell the msata
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
Power saving would be a few watts at best. I would use it as a cache and consider getting a bigger one at some point.
Or sell the msata
Can't get a bigger one, thought it was msata but its soldered to the board apparently, thats why i upgraded the 500gb hdd to a 256gb instead.
 

Condusiv

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
ExpressCache

Hi freebie,

OEMs license and use our ExpressCache technology in the systems they manufacture because it enables them to offer the performance of a pure SSDs system at the fraction of the cost without impacting storage capacity.

Hope this helps!


Alex
Condusiv Technologies
 

samus

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#9
huh?

sorry, i noticed this and had to jump in here and respond.

freebie, based on Condusiv's point, it seems pretty odd to me for someone to buy an ultrabook with expresscache and then use the money they saved to turn right around and spend it on an SSD for the system... am i missing something here? :confused:
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
Hi freebie,

OEMs license and use our ExpressCache technology in the systems they manufacture because it enables them to offer the performance of a pure SSDs system at the fraction of the cost without impacting storage capacity.

Hope this helps!


Alex
Condusiv Technologies
sorry, i noticed this and had to jump in here and respond.

freebie, based on Condusiv's point, it seems pretty odd to me for someone to buy an ultrabook with expresscache and then use the money they saved to turn right around and spend it on an SSD for the system... am i missing something here? :confused:
Thanks both, The laptop is ridiculously faster with the SSD in then it was with the ExpressCache and HDD.

But i have to admit, was rapid before as well. :roll: