• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fake GPU, is this accurate?

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,887 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Alphacool custom loop
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage Sandisk 120GB, Samsung 256GB & 3x Kingston 480GB SSD + WD 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3 - 4K via DSR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
GTX 650 Ti would be pretty close though your card has slower memory and less TMUs according to the screenshot. The fake bios could also be the reason.

 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,187 (0.39/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W (10 years strong)
Mouse Logitech G502 hero
Keyboard Logitech G710+
GTX 650 Ti would be pretty close though your card has slower memory and less TMUs according to the screenshot. The fake bios could also be the reason.

Yea fake bios likely report wrong info as there are 400 series cards with flashed bios claim to be 2x the ram it really has. I would doubt that card has more then 1gb memory on it even though claims 4.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,187 (0.39/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W (10 years strong)
Mouse Logitech G502 hero
Keyboard Logitech G710+
update...
looks like i found the reason why all my games crash when i set the settings higher than low
Very common if fake bios is put on card that claims more ram then it has in the system. System will try to use said ram and when it tries to write to it crashing is a thing that can happen. The picture is a little hard to read but looks like GK10*-220-A1 is what i make out of it which is comes back to a GTX 650TI. GK is Kepler gpu which if it was a gtx 1050 it would start with GP for Pascal.
 

Juniiorr

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Messages
5 (0.31/day)
Very common if fake bios is put on card that claims more ram then it has in the system. System will try to use said ram and when it tries to write to it crashing is a thing that can happen. The picture is a little hard to read but looks like GK10*-220-A1 is what i make out of it which is comes back to a GTX 650TI. GK is Kepler gpu which if it was a gtx 1050 it would start with GP for Pascal.
but is it common for gpu-z to not be able to detect the correct memory size?
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
256 (0.14/day)
System Name Happy PC
Processor Intel i7-860 2.80 GHz "Stock
Motherboard OEM: MSI MS-7613 (IONA-GL8E) mATX
Cooling Regular Cheapo
Memory Hyundai Electronics and G.Skill mixed (4sticks) 12GB DDR3 @1333mhz
Video Card(s) OEM: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 ti @GC:928/MC:1350 VRAM: 1GB
Storage WDC Blue 465.76 GiB WD5000AAKS
Display(s) Asus VG248QZ 1920x1080 144hz 24"
Case Crosair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC888
Power Supply Crosair 850W RMi power supply (Overkill I know -long story-)
Mouse Logitech M105
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 7 SP1 (with latest updates)
This is my 650ti non-boost card:
my650tinonbost.gif
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,245 (3.18/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
but is it common for gpu-z to not be able to detect the correct memory size?
afaik GPU-Z uses the FW to report vRAM, so if the FW is spoofed, the readout would be too
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,643 (4.44/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
is there something i can use to simulate memory usage, so i can test the size?
If you already have the cover off the PCB take a pic of the memory chips and post it here along with the quantity
 
Top