• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Far Cry 2 Widescreen Resolution Fix Released

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Ubisoft's Far Cry 2 suffers from the same issue Bioshock had when it was released. Both games have problems handling widescreen resolutions, but in Far Cry 2 the problem appears to be even bigger. When played in widescreen resolution, the game displays a cropped version of the original 4:3 video aspect. The wider screen resolution you use, the less you'll see because the game cuts the top and bottom edges to fit the wider aspect ratio. If you don't like the sound of that, there's a fix created by Racer_S over at Widescreen Gaming Forum. Please note that the fix only works with Far Cry 2 v1.00 and online players may receive a ban from the server they're playing if they use the hotfixer. The reason, Punkbuster may think you are a 1337 haxxor and ban you from the server. You may download the Far Cry 2 Widescreen fix from here.

Show full news post
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,205 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,799
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
sounds like a case of consolitis
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
i mentioned this in my far cry 2 thread, it makes the game a loooot better.


It was theorised the reason the FOV was so small, was to make targets bigger on a console so they're easier to hit, with their poor aiming on joypads.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,205 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,799
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
i mentioned this in my far cry 2 thread, it makes the game a loooot better.


It was theorised the reason the FOV was so small, was to make targets bigger on a console so they're easier to hit, with their poor aiming on joypads.
they have a form of auto aim for those games, but honestly, they should have 2 diff dev teams for the game 1 for PC the other for the Consoles.because it seems they dev the game for console by the time its ready to release they rush the PC version and its garbage.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
that the problem with mostly compatible consoles (The X360 runs a version of NT, and uses hardware similar to PC stuff)... they can just port it across at will, without having to put much effort in. The less time they spend on it, the less things they notice.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
875 (0.26/day)
Likes
242
#6
I actually purchased a 360 Controller to use with 3D Apps like Maya (Rotation and other manipulations by remapping with Xpadder) .. and MAME32Fx...

Anyway, just for heck I mapped it out and attempted to play FC2 on the pad...

How a console can even pretend to be an FPS gaming platform without a mouse or some similar direct relational bi-axial input is beyond me...

Or is the AI on the console simply set to -50% and bullets set to the size of watermelons?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
Or is the AI on the console simply set to -50% and bullets set to the size of watermelons?
Effectively, yes. As well as auto aim.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#8
they have a form of auto aim for those games, but honestly, they should have 2 diff dev teams for the game 1 for PC the other for the Consoles.because it seems they dev the game for console by the time its ready to release they rush the PC version and its garbage.
Even with auto aim they "have" to do it that way for two reasons (at least):

1 - Usually in a console you play from farther away. That makes it harder to see the details (enemies included) even with the higher screen. The screen size/distance ratio is much higher in the PC.

2 - Thanks to point one, in part, the FOV issue is not so noticeable in the TV. In fact, because you are farther from the screen the FOV should naturally be smaller. And also by making it smaller, you improve performance on constrained systems that are consoles. Less FOV = less details on screen at a time = less memory/power required.

About the PC version of multi-platform games, although it's not ideal, nowadays is much better than with previous generations of consoles. The ports are much better right now than in the past, even if they spend less time optimizing them. Because consoles and PC share a lot more nowadays, the game engine and various things are already better optimized than in the past. Maybe because they spend less time on them it's easier for things like this FOV issue to appear, but this things can easily be fixed with a patch, the core of the game can't.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#9
Even with auto aim they "have" to do it that way for two reasons (at least):

1 - Usually in a console you play from farther away. That makes it harder to see the details (enemies included) even with the higher screen. The screen size/distance ratio is much higher in the PC.

2 - Thanks to point one, in part, the FOV issue is not so noticeable in the TV. In fact, because you are farther from the screen the FOV should naturally be smaller. And also by making it smaller, you improve performance on constrained systems that are consoles. Less FOV = less details on screen at a time = less memory/power required.

About the PC version of multi-platform games, although it's not ideal, nowadays is much better than with previous generations of consoles. The ports are much better right now than in the past, even if they spend less time optimizing them. Because consoles and PC share a lot more nowadays, the game engine and various things are already better optimized than in the past. Maybe because they spend less time on them it's easier for things like this FOV issue to appear, but this things can easily be fixed with a patch, the core of the game can't.
wow finally a logical answer..

people need to stop bashing consoles and get over the fact that they have been around for a very long time and aren't going anywhere.

i am a pc gamer, and a console gamer, yes i like the mouse/keyboard thing way better but in the same aspect its just a matter of getting use to a gamepad. when i first got my xbox 360 i couldn't play FPS to save my own life..now i go usually 30 kills and like 4 deaths on cod 4. so because you tried to hook up your 360 gamepad to your computer and play far cry 2 or whatever doesn't mean other people aren't good with it, your just not use to it is all.

EDIT: reason for gaming on consoles more than pc's...because you have to wait like 20 minutes sometimes to join a server cause they put all these extra sounds and shit on there server and change the entire gameplay because they like doing that? its hard to find a server on any fps game that doesnt have some time of mod on it. consoles...thank god you cant do that or id give up online gaming
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
875 (0.26/day)
Likes
242
#10
I would have to argue that you are slightly incorrect there.

Consoles (for the most part) ARE gone, replaced by stripped down, outdated PC's running custom OS's, somewhat like a new series of fruit themed machines, but yes - I DO understand that they have a big role to play in filling the lower middle gaming class, which lets face it - is is a very large market.

It must be nice not having to worry about drivers or DirectX compatibility, or weather your hardware will handle the new engine (And lets not get started on punkbuster), but the fact that it is a large market does little to compensate for the fact that a game-pad is very poorly equipped device for playing FPS, no matter your skill level.

As such I was simply a little intrigued as to the choice to develop an FPS specifically for a device that primarily relys on a game pad for input, and since I actually HAD one of the controllers it was originally intended to be played on, I thought it might be fun to give it a try.

Oddly enough I HAVE found a 360 controller to be a very use full input device for 3D modeling - and even for example flying planes in Battlefield (on a PC), but once you have known the joy of "Snap-Shooting" an enemy with your sniper rifle, that you only just caught in the corner of your eye that very second, I'm sure you can understand how horribly frustrating it was to have to pan around the screen as though playing with some sort of presentation pointer, basically voiding the concept of being a sniper altogether.

Possibly the fault WAS indeed mine in not using the 360 controller on an actual 360, and running the version of the game that was meant to be played that way, PC's HAVE mice already so why would some idiot try and play using a 360 game pad? - Each to their own I suppose...
 
Last edited:

CargoX

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name CM6
Processor C2D E6750
Motherboard ASUS P35K
Cooling Zalman CPS9500LED
Memory OCZ 2GB
Video Card(s) 8800GT w/Zalman VGA1000
Storage WD SATA 250GB
Display(s) ACER 22
Case CoolerMaster Elite 330 CheapO
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software XP
#11
Little help here.

I tried to setup for my 1680x1050 by eye, and came out with x1.4 y1.2
But then I thought, meh, why not just x1.6 y1.0
Which is what I have it set to now.

Is that right?

I tried the setting from the other forum page
For .... 16:10 ...

X FOV: 1.31
Y FOV: 1.253
But that looked totally bugged out to me.
And I assume if I don't run FOVHack prior to FC2 it doesn't work, right?

Thanks all,
C
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
From the moment I started playing FC2 I thought it seemed cramped and confined, and everything seemed "larger than life". Soon as I activated this hack with the settings CargoX just mentioned (above post) every looked great and my headache disappeared.

Shame the bugger still CTDs at random :\
 

CargoX

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name CM6
Processor C2D E6750
Motherboard ASUS P35K
Cooling Zalman CPS9500LED
Memory OCZ 2GB
Video Card(s) 8800GT w/Zalman VGA1000
Storage WD SATA 250GB
Display(s) ACER 22
Case CoolerMaster Elite 330 CheapO
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software XP
#13
I've read the whole thread over there now and am more confused about what I should set it to.
I'm going to try x1.384 y1.15 next time I load up.

I don't have any bugs, problems, or other antics that people have reported.
I played a little while at x1.6y1.0 and it was pretty good. No more eye-sucking headaches. And I can see a lot more.
 

CargoX

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name CM6
Processor C2D E6750
Motherboard ASUS P35K
Cooling Zalman CPS9500LED
Memory OCZ 2GB
Video Card(s) 8800GT w/Zalman VGA1000
Storage WD SATA 250GB
Display(s) ACER 22
Case CoolerMaster Elite 330 CheapO
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software XP
#14
WoW. Well here is my puddy proof. I can only say that the x1.6y1.0 is fantastic. I knew the game was console neutered as soon as I felt the mouse and saw the monocular bound as a secondary of a primary.

This picture shows my system and screen comparisons.
On the Left is the FOVHack X 1.6 Y1.0 and on the Right is Disabled. Shot with Fraps.


Pretty damn drastic. MANY GREAT THANK TO THE CREATOR Racer_S and ToCAEDIT.COM
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#15
I do 1.4x1.333
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#16
Its good to see a fix for this finally.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
875 (0.26/day)
Likes
242
#17
To Quote CargoX's very first screencap - this is probably the best way of adjusting FOV issues : To find something that is supposed to be round - center it about "half way" away in your view and tweak until it looks round...
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#18
that the problem with mostly compatible consoles (The X360 runs a version of NT, and uses hardware similar to PC stuff)... they can just port it across at will, without having to put much effort in. The less time they spend on it, the less things they notice.
Actually, it's a much larger effort than you think. The 360 runs a Power PC cpu. Completely incompatible architecture to our x86 based machines. That's the reason we get so many bugs on a 360 to PC port.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,205 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,799
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#19
Seems like the only FPS that did well on both PC and XB was Halo: Combat Evolved
Even with auto aim they "have" to do it that way for two reasons (at least):

1 - Usually in a console you play from farther away. That makes it harder to see the details (enemies included) even with the higher screen. The screen size/distance ratio is much higher in the PC.

2 - Thanks to point one, in part, the FOV issue is not so noticeable in the TV. In fact, because you are farther from the screen the FOV should naturally be smaller. And also by making it smaller, you improve performance on constrained systems that are consoles. Less FOV = less details on screen at a time = less memory/power required.

About the PC version of multi-platform games, although it's not ideal, nowadays is much better than with previous generations of consoles. The ports are much better right now than in the past, even if they spend less time optimizing them. Because consoles and PC share a lot more nowadays, the game engine and various things are already better optimized than in the past. Maybe because they spend less time on them it's easier for things like this FOV issue to appear, but this things can easily be fixed with a patch, the core of the game can't.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#20
Fix seems to work for me at 1900x1200, but may cause instability. I had an odd ctd (crash to desktop, some ppl don't seem to know that term!) while using it. And I really haven't encountered any stability problems with the game until now! So I stopped using it, no more problems. I'm going to watch the development of this...
Shadowfold, are those the settings for 1920x1200? Maybe I've been using bad settings?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#21
Seems like the only FPS that did well on both PC and XB was Halo: Combat Evolved
The original Halo was made for the original XBox, which did have an x86 cpu. Porting Xbox1 to PC was much simpler.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#22
Think I was using 1.2 x 1.33, should work, guess the game is still buggy, I'll try the fix again.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#23
Do I have this problem when I play @ 1920x1200?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#24
No, seems to to be a glitch with my athon, big suprise... but now I'm using 1.4 x 1.33 at 1920x1200 and no problems. Yes, I'll get an intel as soon as I get the money!
 

froser

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#25
Guys, could anyone help me out.
when ever i load up farcry 2. it goes into a black screen, i can still hear sound and stuff. and i can tell when it gets to the menu page, but it just stays black, any suggestions?