• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Fastest 2TB HDD For OS & Storage & Raid

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Hi guys, what is the fastest and most reliable 2TB HDD out there. Caviar Black? Just wanted to get some opinions. Also I also wanted to back up my files. Can you Raid 3 or even 4 2TB drives together?

Thanks
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
I would say yes to all of your ?'s You may need a good raid controller for 3-4 cards though.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
I would say yes to all of your ?'s You may need a good raid controller for 3-4 cards though.
I was hoping to use my AMD 890GXM-G65 mobo to Raid 3-4 of my 2TB drives. I have a Phenom 955BE. This will work right? I currently have x2 WD20EARX and was hoping to get a fast 2tb HDD (to work as my OS as well as some storage but also be backed up in my other HDDs) and maybe a different 2tb to complete this raid. You can raid different branded 2TB HDDs? This is possible without having to buy a raid card right?

Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#4
WD Caviar Black like above.

The Seagate 3TB is pretty fast, faster than the 2TB drives.

The upcoming 1TB Velociraptor is amazing for a mechanical drive with reads and writes in the 200's but dies not fit your criteria.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
You can raid different branded 2TB HDDs?
You maybe able to, I have always thought you had to use the same HDD model, brand and size.

Your mobo can probably handle the raid. I just prefer dedicated raid cards.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
749 (0.25/day)
Likes
126
Location
Netherlands
System Name gaming system
Processor 2600k @ 4.2 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPower
Cooling Thermalright ultra extreme 120 rev.C w/noctua NF-S12B push/pull
Memory 16gb corsair vengeance 2400 c11 @1.5 v/
Video Card(s) GB gtx670 WF3x sli @1080/1372/6660(core/boost/mem)
Storage 2x samsung 850evo 250gb raid 0 ,2tb wdblack, 3TB wd purple
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster P2770FH, asus VH242t/19" lg 1440x900
Case fractal design r4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1050
Mouse Razer abyssus
Keyboard corsair k70
Software Windows 10 pro x64
#6
i have a WD Caviar Black 2tb and does 140mb read/write in atto
i don't have a screenie atm, i don't have it on my rig atm
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
You maybe able to, I have always thought you had to use the same HDD model, brand and size.

Your mobo can probably handle the raid. I just prefer dedicated raid cards.
i have a WD Caviar Black 2tb and does 140mb read/write in atto
i don't have a screenie atm, i don't have it on my rig atm
Thanks and that Caviar Black does some crazy fast read/write. I think I might get a 2TB F4. You think it would be better than other 2TB for OS and Storage?

Thanks
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
Hi guys,
So I just came to a conclusion of getting a 1TB Caviar Black.
HDDs I Currently Have: (x2)2TB Caviar Green WD20EARX, (x1) 1TB Samsung F3 HD103SJ
I will be Raiding these drives using an AMD 890GXM-G65 mobo. So basically, I just read up on the different types of RAIDs but I don't know which one would suit me best. I got the 1TB Caviar Black to be used as an OS so that boot up time would be reasonably faster than the F3. What is the best method of Rading that I should use to simply store photos and movies. I will also be gaming which is why I bought the Caviar Black.

Thanks
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,812
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#10
Another happy WD Caviar Black 2TB user. It was a bit more expensive soon after release but it's damn fast for a standard HDD and the size is just massive. I have loads of multimedia stuff, entire Steam archive of like 200+ games and i still have 500GB left lol.

Yeah yeah, SSD's are faster but none of it provides such good balance of price, capacity and speed as this one. I'd go with the Velociraptor but that's close to the SSD price wise with speeds not that massively better than its slower brother Caviar Black.

Just remember, you can't RAID Caviar Black's. You need to buy WD RE4 or whatever number they have these days. Thats the only thing not cool about them. But if you just need 1 drive, it's superb.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#11
Another happy WD Caviar Black 2TB user. It was a bit more expensive soon after release but it's damn fast for a standard HDD and the size is just massive. I have loads of multimedia stuff, entire Steam archive of like 200+ games and i still have 500GB left lol.

Yeah yeah, SSD's are faster but none of it provides such good balance of price, capacity and speed as this one. I'd go with the Velociraptor but that's close to the SSD price wise with speeds not that massively better than its slower brother Caviar Black.

Just remember, you can't RAID Caviar Black's. You need to buy WD RE4 or whatever number they have these days. Thats the only thing not cool about them. But if you just need 1 drive, it's superb.
Thanks for the heads up. So I guess I have to get the same 1TB F3 model in order to be able to raid right? When I Raid does this affect all the drive? I want to have the 1TB F3 drive as my OS and have the other 1TB F3 to back up my data. As for the (x2) 2TB Caviar greens I also want to raid them but probably in a different Raid than the 1TBs. Is this possible?

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#12
I confirm. FAEX ftw.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#13
Rather than run a RAID setup, I backup all my important files to an F1 drive that I keep powered off and stored away. I'm not sure that the Greens will want to play nice in RAID either. If its just for basic non essential storage I really don't see a real need or point in running them in RAID0.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#14
Rather than run a RAID setup, I backup all my important files to an F1 drive that I keep powered off and stored away. I'm not sure that the Greens will want to play nice in RAID either. If its just for basic non essential storage I really don't see a real need or point in running them in RAID0.
So you suggest that if I RAID there will be less potential of failure? Basically, I need to just store lots of family pictures and ripped movies. Should I just leave them as regular drives?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,100 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#15
So you suggest that if I RAID there will be less potential of failure? Basically, I need to just store lots of family pictures and ripped movies. Should I just leave them as regular drives?
raid 0 + backup = no no

Raid 5 + backup = perfectly acceptible

raid 1 + backup = overly redundant imo I mean it's already a backup.

Raid 10 + backup = likely a waste of a drive depending on your speed requirements


Single drives are fine too, but don't give you the large single volume which is beneficial for backup. Though tbh may main backup is a 2tb single external, but my NAS is a raid 1 config.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#16
So you suggest that if I RAID there will be less potential of failure? Basically, I need to just store lots of family pictures and ripped movies. Should I just leave them as regular drives?
When I thought about it, it made more sense to keep my backup drive powered off and in storage rather than continuously running in a computer. I think a whole lot less can go wrong with a drive pulled from a computer, than constantly powered on- you know?
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#17
When I thought about it, it made more sense to keep my backup drive powered off and in storage rather than continuously running in a computer. I think a whole lot less can go wrong with a drive pulled from a computer, than constantly powered on- you know?
Yeah that's what I thought too. So essentially if I were simply storing things. Safest thing to do would be either just add it in as a regular slave drive and drag pictures and other things to the drives. So I should just not raid at all because raiding has a bit more chance to die?
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#18
Yes, thats my rationale at least. I see more threads about RAID array issues than HDDs straight up dying :laugh:
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#19
Yes, thats my rationale at least. I see more threads about RAID array issues than HDDs straight up dying :laugh:
Hmm. Never RAID before that is why I thought it would be more intersting to go this route this time. I also used a couple of my 2TB drives for storage and they are still going strong. Thanks for the heads up.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#20
Firstly, is it possible to RAID 10 3 drives? Also if I raid x2 2TB HDD that are 64mb cache and x1 2TB HDD that is 32mb will it default to 32mb on a RAID 10 config or RAID 5 config? So if I RAID 10 all three drives would that mean I would only get 3TB of usable space? Which would be more fail safe and faster; RAID 10 or RAID 5. These drives are just going to be used as storage and backing up files.
 

baggpipes

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
163 (0.05/day)
Likes
45
System Name R2D2
Processor AMD FX-4100
Motherboard MSI 970 G45
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston T1 8GB 1600 DDR3 @ 1800mHz
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire 6850
Storage RAID 0 WD Caviar Blue 1TB total
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen and Sony 32" Bravia 1080p 60hz
Case NZXT Gamma Series
Power Supply 700w OCZ Mod Stream Pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores hit 4.5ghz stock cooler....
#21
raid 0 backup = no no
Why? RAID 0 uses 100% of your drive space... Not all of the drives you have have to be RAIDED... Just back the pics and movies on one of the hard drives... I would use your greens for a RAID 0 and the 1TB drive to backup your pics/movies you want to keep... and not bother with buying another drive(unless you need the space).... and if you do go RAID make sure you get your MB RAID driver before reinstall...

and with RAID 10 dont you need a raid controller?

Great site explaining RAID....

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E19269-01/820-1847-20/appendixf.html#50515995_98008
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,947 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#22
When I thought about it, it made more sense to keep my backup drive powered off and in storage rather than continuously running in a computer. I think a whole lot less can go wrong with a drive pulled from a computer, than constantly powered on- you know?
I do it, all my important data is either on my 6TB RAID 0 array that gets backed up to a 2TB external drive when I finally decide to download pictures off the camera or movies off the camcorder. The rest is just things like my DVD rips, OS install files for new builds, games that can be reinstalled, and of course, my uhh, stuff.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#23
I do it, all my important data is either on my 6TB RAID 0 array that gets backed up to a 2TB external drive when I finally decide to download pictures off the camera or movies off the camcorder. The rest is just things like my DVD rips, OS install files for new builds, games that can be reinstalled, and of course, my uhh, stuff.
Why put important data on a RAID 0 array? That's the least safe option...RAID 1, 5, or 10 would be better.
 

baggpipes

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
163 (0.05/day)
Likes
45
System Name R2D2
Processor AMD FX-4100
Motherboard MSI 970 G45
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston T1 8GB 1600 DDR3 @ 1800mHz
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire 6850
Storage RAID 0 WD Caviar Blue 1TB total
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen and Sony 32" Bravia 1080p 60hz
Case NZXT Gamma Series
Power Supply 700w OCZ Mod Stream Pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores hit 4.5ghz stock cooler....
#24
Why put important data on a RAID 0 array? That's the least safe option...RAID 1, 5, or 10 would be better.
That would be wasting alot of space... Why everybody so scared of RAID 0 its not like his desktop is a server holding top secret info or something... RAID 1 just mirrors the drive... sounds like waste of space... and with raid 5 with two 2TB drives and two 1TB drives there is going to be alot of unusable space... 2TB of wasted space... the only thing that is important to him is the pictures and movies, which can be saved directly to the non raided HD.

EDIT: How many people here have actually had a hard drive fail without knowing its about to go?? I mean you would hear it failing wouldnt you?
 
Last edited:

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#25
That would be wasting alot of space... Why everybody so scared of RAID 0 its not like his desktop is a server holding top secret info or something... RAID 1 just mirrors the drive... sounds like waste of space... and with raid 5 with two 2TB drives and two 1TB drives there is going to be alot of unusable space... 2TB of wasted space... the only thing that is important to him is the pictures and movies, which can be saved directly to the non raided HD.

EDIT: How many people here have actually had a hard drive fail without knowing its about to go?? I mean you would hear it failing wouldnt you?
Why? RAID 0 uses 100% of your drive space... Not all of the drives you have have to be RAIDED... Just back the pics and movies on one of the hard drives... I would use your greens for a RAID 0 and the 1TB drive to backup your pics/movies you want to keep... and not bother with buying another drive(unless you need the space).... and if you do go RAID make sure you get your MB RAID driver before reinstall...

and with RAID 10 dont you need a raid controller?

Great site explaining RAID....

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E19269-01/820-1847-20/appendixf.html#50515995_98008
So based on what I've seen, RAID 5 means you need an even number of drives 2,4,6,etc.. What if I have 3 2TB drives, an odd number of drives, does that I get 3TB of usable space? The only reason why I don't want to RAID 0 is because I'm afraid that if 1 drives fail, my files will be lost forever. But based on what I've read from your comment RAID 0 has never caused any problems for you. Hmm... And I'm working with a relatively small computer case which has 3 slots for HDD. Luckily I was able to mount my SSD (OS & some programs) on the bottom.