• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[FIXED] RTX 3080 doesn't respond after VBIOS update

maqjav

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
Hello.
I just updated my RTX 3080 Ventus 3x GPU to the latest VBIOS to add compatibility with RE-bAR support, and once it was done and the computer restarted, the screen went blank.
I have installed an older GPU and I can see with GPU-Z that the RTX 3080 doesn't display BIOS information.
I used the application from MSI to update the VBIOS and now I'm trying to reflash it with nvflash, however when I use the command "nvflash -a" it doesn't display the RTX 3080, only my current old GPU.
I tried in Windows safe mode and command prompt, but the adapter doesn't show up.
Ideas?
Thanks.
 

xrerion

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
i will try to look it up for u just give me a little time

do u have a igpu?
 

maqjav

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
No, I'm using another NVIDIA GTX 1060 card.

Thank you very much.

Here are some screenshots from GPU-Z.
 

Attachments

  • 2.gif
    2.gif
    10.9 KB · Views: 202
  • 1.gif
    1.gif
    24.9 KB · Views: 198

xrerion

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
i know one way to fix it but i have never tryed it before if u download hiveon a mining software that supports gpu flashing/ forced gpu flashing that might work

hope that works i can try to help with the installation if u want
 

derbrocker

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
I got the same issue with my msi rtx 3080 gaming x trio. Did you enable resizeable bar support in your motherboard bios before flashing the new bios to the card.
After 5 hours of work i reseted my motherboard bios an then my pc gave me an display output. After I reanabled resizeable bar support my screen turns black
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,211 (3.01/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
431 (0.07/day)
Location
FIN
System Name FPS Cruncher
Processor Intel Core i9 9900K 8x 3.60GHz
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z390-F Gaming
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S36
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3200 DIMM CL14-14-14-34 16Gb
Video Card(s) MSI 3080 Ventus 3X 10Gb OC
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500G,SSD 840 EVO 500G,WD10EZRX-00L4HB0,SSD Crucial CT525MX300
Display(s) ACER Nitro VG270UP Freesync 144Hz
Case LANCOOL II MESH RGB
Audio Device(s) Sound BlasterX AE-5
Power Supply EVGA 750 G2
Mouse Logitech Preforance MX
Keyboard ASUS Cerberus Gaming Keyboard MKII
Software Win10 Pro 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 P13046 =2900XT 3dmark vantage P4614 =2900XT
I updated my MSI RTX 3080 VENTUS 3X OC with dragon center and it went fine.

 

Attachments

  • card.gif
    card.gif
    33.4 KB · Views: 190

maqjav

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
I got the same issue with my msi rtx 3080 gaming x trio. Did you enable resizeable bar support in your motherboard bios before flashing the new bios to the card.
After 5 hours of work i reseted my motherboard bios an then my pc gave me an display output. After I reanabled resizeable bar support my screen turns black

Ok, so this seems to be also my problem.
I had enabled bar support before flashing my card, and I just disabled it and the card is working fine. I almost cried :)
The question now is... how do we turn it on back then?
I have a Gigabyte Aorus X570 ELITE + 5900x. I tried CSM disabled, 4G Decoding enabled and Re-size bar auto. With this settings I get a black screen.
Thank you so much.
 
Last edited:

TechaNinja

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
7 (0.09/day)
Yeah I'm kinda in the same boat. But I think even worse. Can't seem to reflash my GB 3080 Bios :(
 

maqjav

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
I didn't reflash my RTX 3080, the first update went fine. The problem was the BAR enabled. I guess my mobo is not compatible 100% with this new feature yet.
If you had enabled bar support before updating your VBIOS, try to disable it and restart your computer and don't tauch your VBIOS again. You will need another graphic card to access your BIOS and change this setup.
 

Jatilq

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2021
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I have the MSI Trio 3080 and the Auros Elite x570 F33g. The resizable bar works when I used the Strix bios.
 

Andres GD

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2021
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Hello guys, a few hours ago I updated my MSI 3080 Trio Bios via MSI dragon center, it got stuck at 100% and never actually finished the bios installation, after a couple of hours I decided to reboot the computer.

It wouldn't detect my gpu, so I tried everything you guys mentioned above and it wouldn't work, then I uninstalled MSI dragon center and then reinstalled it, it finally recognized my gpu with the new bios.

That was too damn scary to be honest I wouldn't do it again.
 

Alfgar

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2021
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
Ok, so this seems to be also my problem.
I had enabled bar support before flashing my card, and I just disabled it and the card is working fine. I almost cried :)
The question now is... how do we turn it on back then?
I have a Gigabyte Aorus X570 ELITE + 5900x. I tried CSM disabled, 4G Decoding enabled and Re-size bar auto. With this settings I get a black screen.
Thank you so much.
YOU ARE THE REAL HERO BRO!!
I encountered the same issue few days ago and I already bought a ch341a SPI flash programmer to external flash the bios base on below tutorial
And I found this post and simply fix it by disable resizable bar in motherboard(which is also gigabyte)
Not sure this is gigabyte or msi fault, I will never touch the vbios again
Thanks a lot man
 

maqjav

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
YOU ARE THE REAL HERO BRO!!
I encountered the same issue few days ago and I already bought a ch341a SPI flash programmer to external flash the bios base on below tutorial
And I found this post and simply fix it by disable resizable bar in motherboard(which is also gigabyte)
Not sure this is gigabyte or msi fault, I will never touch the vbios again
Thanks a lot man
Haha, good to know! Trust me, I know your feeling. The night I "broke it" I went to sleep thinking all night "why did you have to tauch it??"

I've been reading several posts in the internet and it seems to be a problem with Gigabyte and its BIOS. People are reporting the same error. There are cases where they even made it to work with resizable bar enabled, but after restarting the computer several times it also went black and they had to reset the CMOS. I think it's better to wait a little bit longer until the whole thing is properly tested.
 

cliche

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2021
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I have the opposite problem.
new mobo bios ( gigabyte z370) , driver 465.89 and boot drive as GPT now but msi live or dragon centre says there is no new bios for my 3080 ventus 3x OC .....
 

FireFox

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,833 (2.56/day)
Location
Germany
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
Did you enable resizeable bar support in your motherboard bios before flashing the new bios to the card.
Ok, so this seems to be also my problem.
I had enabled bar support before flashing my card, and I just disabled it and the card is working fine
With Resizeable Bar Enabled in the bios ( Asus Motherboard ) i updated my Evga RTX 3080 with X1 and it went fine.
 

Alfgar

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2021
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
With Resizeable Bar Enabled in the bios ( Asus Motherboard ) i updated my Evga RTX 3080 with X1 and it went fine.
Btw, I read from another source saying that need to turn off CSM if you want to enable Resizable BAR. Someone could give it a try
 

FireFox

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,833 (2.56/day)
Location
Germany
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
read from another source saying that need to turn off CSM if you want to enable Resizable BAR
I read the same, it was already disabled in my Asus Motherboard.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Messages
107 (0.43/day)
System Name MSI
Processor i9 10900KF OC to 5.1ghz
Motherboard MSI Z490i Unify
Cooling MSI 240 Coreliquid R
Memory 32GB3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Xtrio
Storage 512 mvne + 2tb ssd
Display(s) Samsung G9 Odessy
Case Cooler Master NR200P
Audio Device(s) Steelserie Arctis Pro + GameDac , Logitec z310 desktop speaker
Power Supply Cooler Master SFX 850watt
Mouse Steelseries Rival 650 wireless
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro TKL
Software Windows 10
I did sucesfully enable the resiable bar 1 months ago, then today i scan for new update on bios in dragon center and there is new update, the instalation complete and the pc restarted but never when back to windows, i tried every way, putting another gpu works and enter windows normaly, not with my rtx 3080 xtrio. i still have warranty, but sadly today may 7 2021 till 20, the service center ia closed for national holiday, "why did i thouched the update dam, what am i going to do for the whole week with PC....
 

derbrocker

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
Your Windows has to be in Uefi Mode otherwise your Pc wont boot with Resizable Bar Support enabled
 

TechaNinja

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
7 (0.09/day)
Furthermore, you can get W10 to change your MBR to GBPT so you can run with bar on
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Messages
107 (0.43/day)
System Name MSI
Processor i9 10900KF OC to 5.1ghz
Motherboard MSI Z490i Unify
Cooling MSI 240 Coreliquid R
Memory 32GB3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Xtrio
Storage 512 mvne + 2tb ssd
Display(s) Samsung G9 Odessy
Case Cooler Master NR200P
Audio Device(s) Steelserie Arctis Pro + GameDac , Logitec z310 desktop speaker
Power Supply Cooler Master SFX 850watt
Mouse Steelseries Rival 650 wireless
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro TKL
Software Windows 10
i will try to look it up for u just give me a little time

do u have a igpu?
please look up, I have the same problem....I will be using my friend CPU which has igpu...
 

FireFox

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,833 (2.56/day)
Location
Germany
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Messages
107 (0.43/day)
System Name MSI
Processor i9 10900KF OC to 5.1ghz
Motherboard MSI Z490i Unify
Cooling MSI 240 Coreliquid R
Memory 32GB3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Xtrio
Storage 512 mvne + 2tb ssd
Display(s) Samsung G9 Odessy
Case Cooler Master NR200P
Audio Device(s) Steelserie Arctis Pro + GameDac , Logitec z310 desktop speaker
Power Supply Cooler Master SFX 850watt
Mouse Steelseries Rival 650 wireless
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro TKL
Software Windows 10
please look up, I have the same problem....I will be using my friend CPU which has igpu...
i Flash my Bios and it worked, luckly My GPU still read in device manager so it would be esier to flah it
 
Top