• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Flash 4870x2 BIOS in CF mode?

KamiKiri

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Can i flash two 4870x2 BIOS in Crossfire or? They are watercooled. Should i overclock the first one first and the second card after that? I want too use this guide if it works with two cards in same time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hwm4AKlV01s&hd=1 It would be very messy if it doesn't work within Crossfire mode. Golden regards....
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Have drivers uninstalled and do one at a time. Both cards can be connected to the system.
 

KamiKiri

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Thanx. Du you also know where i can find drivers for my cards? Is it true that 4870x2 is no more supported anymore. Which version is the best one for my cards in CF? Where can i find it?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#4
Thanx. Do you also know where i can find drivers for my cards? Is it true that 4870x2 is no more supported anymore. Which version is the best one for my cards in CF? Where can i find it?
Hi

Select the version of windows required 64bit or 32bit - AMD catalyst packages/previous drivers/catalyst 11.9
"Where can i find it?"here - http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx

"Is it true that 4870x2 is no more supported anymore?" Edit: they will be produced quarterly
http://www.techpowerup.com/164573/AMD-to-Drop-Support-for-Pre-HD-5000-GPUs-with-Catalyst-12.7.html

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
54
Location
Northern California
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @ 5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus w/ 150CFM Delta FFB1212EH
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA Geforce GTX680 Superclocked in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256g
Display(s) Samsung S27A950D
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w
#5
Thanx. Du you also know where i can find drivers for my cards? Is it true that 4870x2 is no more supported anymore. Which version is the best one for my cards in CF? Where can i find it?
Dispite the misleading title of that article, no, support is NOT being "dropped" for Pre-5000 GPUs.

If you're interested in moving beyond the misinformation, here is an official response from AMD on this issue:

AMD will be moving the AMD Radeon™ HD 2000, AMD Radeon HD 3000, and AMD Radeon HD 4000 Series of products to a new driver support model. We will continue to support the mentioned products in our Catalyst releases, but we’re moving their updates to a quarterly basis, whereas our AMD Radeon HD 5000 and later products will continue to see monthly updates. The Quarterly Catalyst releases will focus on resolving application specific issues and critical updates. The reason for the shift in support policy is largely due to the fact that the AMD Radeon HD 2000, AMD Radeon HD 3000, and AMD Radeon HD 4000 Series have been optimized to their maximum potential from a performance and feature perspective. The 8.97 based driver, released in May 2012 will be the first driver for the AMD Radeon HD 2000, AMD Radeon HD 3000, and AMD Radeon HD 4000 Series under the new support model; it is an extremely stable and robust driver branch for these products and will be the baseline for our quarterly updates.
So drivers for Pre-5000 GPUs will now be released on a quarterly basis. Interestingly, 5000 and later GPUs won't be receiving monthly driver updates now either.

At this point, 4000-series GPUs havn't been moved to the legacy driver yet and they still use the same drivers as any other modern Radeon:

64-bit Windows: http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx
32-bit Windows: http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-32.aspx

There is absolutely NO reason to use anything other than the very latest drivers with these cards. I currently run 2x 4870x2 in Quad Crossfire and performance continues to be fantastic dispute the age of the hardware.

Note that even after the cards are moved to the legacy driver, you will still be able to use the latest CAPs on top of that legacy driver.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#6
There is absolutely NO reason to use anything other than the very latest drivers with these cards
Hi

That is not entirly correct as there are a number of issues with the latest catalyst beta and catalyst 12.1 12.2 12.3 & 12.4 cause the second GPU to idle in full 3d mode on the HD5970, HD6990 and I would be interested to see what the second GPU dose on a 4870x2. [this can be monitored using GPU-Z] this occurs to higher degree if Ulps is disabled via the registry.
nb: I have already reported this to the AMD driver team

Noted; with reference to the TPU article

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
54
Location
Northern California
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @ 5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus w/ 150CFM Delta FFB1212EH
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA Geforce GTX680 Superclocked in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256g
Display(s) Samsung S27A950D
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w
#7
I would be interested to see what the second GPU dose on a 4870x2.
I use MSI Afterburner to monitor temps, GPU usage, and Core clock via my G15 LCD. All 4 GPUs switch back and forth between 507Mhz (idle clock) and 800Mhz (3D clock w/ slight overclock) normally.

The only notable issue I have sometimes is when I alt-tab out of a game and back in very quickly sometimes only one GPU will be active after that point. But if I alt-tab out and in again the issue goes away.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#8
I use MSI Afterburner to monitor temps, GPU usage, and Core clock via my G15 LCD. All 4 GPUs switch back and forth between 507Mhz (idle clock) and 800Mhz (3D clock w/ slight overclock) normally.

The only notable issue I have sometimes is when I alt-tab out of a game and back in very quickly sometimes only one GPU will be active after that point. But if I alt-tab out and in again the issue goes away.
Hi

thank you, that is helpful to know:toast:

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,606 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,284
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#9
Hi

That is not entirly correct as there are a number of issues with the latest catalyst beta and catalyst 12.1 12.2 12.3 & 12.4 cause the second GPU to idle in full 3d mode on the HD5970, HD6990 and I would be interested to see what the second GPU dose on a 4870x2. [this can be monitored using GPU-Z] this occurs to higher degree if Ulps is disabled via the registry.
nb: I have already reported this to the AMD driver team

Noted; with reference to the TPU article

atb (all the best)

Law-II
Yeah the 4000 series did not have the power saving features that the 5000 and up do, they cant shut down the slave card.