• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flash VBIOS to turn RX 580 2048SP into RX 570

rdmitry0911

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Hi guys, I have the same problem as @Turtle122 just different model of the card (see attached gpuz screen bios and white lable). I would like to flash it with rx570 bios to make it work with macos. In the database I've found this one similar to mine. Is it safe to flash my gpu with this one or may be you can refer to a better choice?
Thank you, Dmitry
1681133785625.png
 

Attachments

  • Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    42.5 KB · Views: 1,114
  • Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.rom
    256 KB · Views: 449
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Can you go to the advanced tab of GPU-Z, and use the dropdown menu to get to the Memory Timings page?


Please screenshot or post the part number of the Hynix VRAM listed there.
 

rdmitry0911

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Can you go to the advanced tab of GPU-Z, and use the dropdown menu to get to the Memory Timings page?


Please screenshot or post the part number of the Hynix VRAM listed there.
Here they are
 

Attachments

  • ASIC quality Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    ASIC quality Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    18.2 KB · Views: 690
  • AMD bios Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    AMD bios Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    17.9 KB · Views: 712
  • Mem Timings Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    Mem Timings Ellesmere (ELSA) Radeon RX580 2048sp via gpuz.gif
    29.4 KB · Views: 706
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Do not flash the VBIOS you linked. It is not compatible.

I will look for a compatible one when I get a chance.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Full disclosure - I don't know much about Mac, so these are not guaranteed. They should be compatible with your card, though.

Guide:

Probable matches:

Possible matches (may require force flash):

Let me know how it goes. Screenshot any issues please.
 

rdmitry0911

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Ok, thank you. As far as to make macos work with rx570, device id has to be 1002 67DF, only the last reference worked for me. After flashing macos works fine. One quick note. I had to switch off power supply to make it work. Software restart is not enough.

Thanks again, Dmitry
 

jvamos

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
I have a similar card, I stupidly thought I was getting a great price on a SAPPHIRE branded RX 580 Nitro+ and didn't notice the 2048sp.
I am wondering if I should be looking for RX570 bios for it as well.
Once you isolate the memory vendor (Samsung) what do you do to further track down the right VBIOS?
 

lufan

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Full disclosure - I don't know much about Mac, so these are not guaranteed. They should be compatible with your card, though.

Guide:

Probable matches:

Possible matches (may require force flash):

Let me know how it goes. Screenshot any issues please.
Thank you for your help. The last bios made my rx580 2048sp work perfectly under both Mac OS and Windows.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7727.jpeg
    IMG_7727.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 327
  • IMG_7729.jpeg
    IMG_7729.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 314

jaimegoteiza

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2023
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
HI guys, new in town, aquiring a lot.
please forgive my english

i learned to flash my rx 580 2048sp but first i did it to a rx 570 4GB
i think i bricked my card, but soon i replaced the original save
its an Ellesmere rx 580 2048sp

its hard to find a bios working

i got some with scratching or just black screen

but no one working in my hackintosh build on a z390 asus gaming plus wifi

i get just 6 MB of ram

I Attached ram modules and principal screen of gpu-z
i hope you guys can help me to solve this problem and hopefullly get rx 570 8GB ram working well with a correct bios

Thanks in advance
Its greatly aprecciated this site!
 

Attachments

  • gpu-z 1.gif
    gpu-z 1.gif
    26.8 KB · Views: 478
  • gpu-z 2.gif
    gpu-z 2.gif
    17.7 KB · Views: 471
  • Screen Shot 2023-08-04 at 00.18.59.png
    Screen Shot 2023-08-04 at 00.18.59.png
    60.2 KB · Views: 464

jocsmister

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
Full disclosure - I don't know much about Mac, so these are not guaranteed. They should be compatible with your card, though.

Guide:

Probable matches:

Possible matches (may require force flash):

Let me know how it goes. Screenshot any issues please.

Can you help my friend?!

I have a Veineda RX580-2048SP-8GB and it doesn't work in hackintosh!

I tried some blind bios RX570 downloaded from here but I only had failures! Black screens and beeps! Good thing I backup up the bios!

If you can help me with a compatible Bios RX470/570 I will be very grateful!

I await an answer!
 

Attachments

  • RX580-3.jpg
    RX580-3.jpg
    86.5 KB · Views: 256
  • RX580-2.jpg
    RX580-2.jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 265
  • RX580-1.jpg
    RX580-1.jpg
    108 KB · Views: 257
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Can you help my friend?!

I have a Veineda RX580-2048SP-8GB and it doesn't work in hackintosh!

I tried some blind bios RX570 downloaded from here but I only had failures! Black screens and beeps! Good thing I backup up the bios!

If you can help me with a compatible Bios RX470/570 I will be very grateful!

I await an answer!
Travelling at the moment, it might be a day or two.

@eidairaman1 may be able to help in the meantime.
 

jocsmister

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
OK friend!

I look forward to your guidance when you can!

Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD

jocsmister

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
Give this one a shot:

Hello friend! Thanks for answering!

With this bios it was total brick on my vga.

I recovered with an external recorder (SPIPGM) with claw directly in the bios!

Unfortunately this bios is totally incompatible with my VGA which is a Veineda RX580 2048SP 8GB.

Another detail is that, if this bios worked, it would not be compatible with Hackintosh because it has an ID of 6FDF and I need a 67DF.

But thanks for the suggestion!

Hello friend! Thanks for answering!

After testing more than 50 different RX570 bios - many even left my vga a brick but I recovered with an external recorder - I discovered that the only bios that make the video outputs work in hackintosh are the Asus RX570 8GB bios, however they did not boot in Windows , got error 43.

Also, when activating UEFI, there was no video again and I had to reset the PC's bios to go back to CSM Legacy.

That's when after studying a little more and I learned to modify the bios with the exadecimal editor as you suggested by modifying the plate ID and it worked, but also without video when activating UEFI.

I decided to change the bios GOP block for a 1.6 suggested by the InsanelyMac forum and bingo, UEFI gave video and it worked in hackintosh, but Windows the card would not go up, and still with error 43 in the device manager.

Searching for error 43 I decided to follow a tip of trying to use the App AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher and bingo, the card went up in windows too!

Cool!

Thank you all for your help and may my experience help others who need it!

Thank you all! Sorry for bad English!
 

Attachments

  • Tela1.png
    Tela1.png
    134.7 KB · Views: 227
  • Tela2.png
    Tela2.png
    274.1 KB · Views: 252
Last edited:

bosiiz

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2024
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
朋友你好!谢谢回答!

有了这个 BIOS,我的 VGA 就完全变砖了。

我用外部刻录机(SPIPGM)直接在BIOS中恢复!

不幸的是,这个 BIOS 与我的 VGA Veineda RX580 2048SP 8GB 完全不兼容。

另一个细节是,如果这个 BIOS 工作正常,它将与 Hackintosh 不兼容,因为它的 ID 为 6FDF,而我需要 67DF。

但谢谢你的建议!


朋友你好!谢谢回答!

在测试了 50 多个不同的 RX570 BIOS 之后 - 许多甚至让我的 vga 变成了砖头,但我用外部刻录机恢复了 - 我发现唯一能让视频输出在 hackintosh 中工作的 BIOS 是 Asus RX570 8GB BIOS,但是它们无法启动在 Windows 中,出现错误 43。

另外,当激活 UEFI 时,再次没有视频,我必须重置 PC 的 BIOS 以返回到 CSM Legacy。

就在那时,经过更多的学习,我学会了用十进制编辑器修改 BIOS,按照您的建议,通过修改板 ID 并且它起作用了,但在激活 UEFI 时也没有视频。

我决定将 BIOS GOP 块更改为 InsanelyMac 论坛和宾果建议的 1.6,UEFI 提供了视频并且它在 hackintosh 中工作,但 Windows 卡无法启动,并且设备管理器中仍然出现错误 43。

在搜索错误 43 时,我决定遵循尝试使用应用程序 AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher 和宾果游戏的提示,该卡也在 Windows 中出现了!

凉爽的!

谢谢大家的帮助,愿我的经验能帮助到其他有需要的人!

谢谢你们!抱歉英语不好!
Hi, yes, (although my graphics card is a Sapphire RX 590 GME), I tried changing the 6FDF in the Device ID to 67DF. The result is: it can be correctly recognized and driven in Windows systems. How is this achieved? You can use WinHex software to change the 16-bit values of three locations in the original BIOS file. (DF 6F changed to DF 67). But I encountered a problem: whether it is the original vBIOS or the modified vBIOS, the motherboard brand logo cannot be displayed when booting only through UEFI (meaning that after pressing the startup button until entering the Windows system desktop, the screen is black). Can you share your successful BIOS GOP?
Attached is the original BIOS file
 

Attachments

  • GPUz_Ellesmere.rom
    256 KB · Views: 71
Last edited by a moderator:

iDarkness

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2024
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
Full disclosure - I don't know much about Mac, so these are not guaranteed. They should be compatible with your card, though.

Guide:

Probable matches:

Possible matches (may require force flash):

Let me know how it goes. Screenshot any issues please.
Hey, can you help me too? I'm trying to find a good BIOS to my RX 580 for weeks and I can't find anything that works on my graphics card, my RX 580 is a SJS RX 580 GA WHITE that I bought on Aliexpress and i'm trying to find a good BIOS because i'm trying to do Hackintosh on my PC but MacOS is not accepting the GPU because it has a wrong BIOS. So do you know any good BIOS that could work for me? I checked the ASIC model of the card and it seems to be from an RX 470 mining edition. so a BIOS from a RX 570 or 470 would be great. could you help me, please?
(I also checked the GPU-Z, sadly the Windows ISO that I used on the pendrive was not working the graphics drivers, my primary OS is Linux)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0277.PNG
    IMG_0277.PNG
    768.2 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_0278.PNG
    IMG_0278.PNG
    143.6 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_0280.PNG
    IMG_0280.PNG
    195.3 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_0279.PNG
    IMG_0279.PNG
    224.4 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_0281.PNG
    IMG_0281.PNG
    465 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_0282.PNG
    IMG_0282.PNG
    206.2 KB · Views: 38
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Will see what I can do. Haven't done any of these in a little while.

Do you remember what the code of the ASIC is?

And can you confirm that is the correct memory code on the VRAM?
 

iDarkness

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2024
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
Will see what I can do. Haven't done any of these in a little while.

Do you remember what the code of the ASIC is?

And can you confirm that is the correct memory code on the VRAM?
the ASIC model is the 215-0876406
but about the VRAM code...where this is located exactly? on the board or on the GPU-Z?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
It is the part number on the VRAM chips. GPU-Z is reading it as Micron MT51J256M32HF.

The important part is that it ends in HF, not HFB. Physical verification would be nice but I can assume that is correct if you don't feel like taking the card apart right now.
 

iDarkness

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2024
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
It is the part number on the VRAM chips. GPU-Z is reading it as Micron MT51J256M32HF.

The important part is that it ends in HF, not HFB. Physical verification would be nice but I can assume that is correct if you don't feel like taking the card apart right now.
well, i'm not opening my board exactly, i'm just seeing another guy opening the EXACT same model that I have so i'm collecting those informatiom from that guy, but i'm pretty sure that he have the same model as me because I bought this model because of him. Those memories are the same as the GPU-Z said? or not?
 

Attachments

  • p1.png
    p1.png
    660.4 KB · Views: 31
  • p2.png
    p2.png
    2.1 MB · Views: 30
  • p3.png
    p3.png
    575 KB · Views: 31
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
1,516 (0.26/day)
System Name Ryzen5900X
Processor AMD Ryzen 5900X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 AORUS PRO AC
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory 4x G.Skill F4-3600C17D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800XT Midnight Black
well, i'm not opening my board exactly, i'm just seeing another guy opening the EXACT same model that I have so i'm collecting those informatiom from that guy, but i'm pretty sure that he have the same model as me because I bought this model because of him. Those memories are the same as the GPU-Z said? or not?
You need to open it since manufacturers have the habbit to put different memory on their graphics cards. Thats is one of the reasons why one bios will fit for someone else and not for you.

The current gpu-z information shows us, you might have Micron memory on the card while the photo shows Hynix. The driver isn't loaded properly. Could be even be caused by a wrong bios on the graphics card.
 

iDarkness

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2024
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
You need to open it since manufacturers have the habbit to put different memory on their graphics cards. Thats is one of the reasons why one bios will fit for someone else and not for you.

The current gpu-z information shows us, you might have Micron memory on the card while the photo shows Hynix. The driver isn't loaded properly. Could be even be caused by a wrong bios on the graphics card.
I understand your thoughts, however I think in my case is extremely unlikely that the other guy graphics card and mine have different components, I would like if possible to try first with those informations that I have right now and if somehow nothing works maybe I’ll need to open the graphics card to see by myself, I’m pretty sure that I’ll don’t need to do that. Also, about the drivers that’s because I used a strange Windows ISO to install GPU-Z, my primary OS is Linux and I tried to install Windows on my pendrive instead of an actually SSD because it will easy things to me, but I didn’t got a way to install the drivers on this Windows ISO so I got myself forced to use the basic windows drivers, I hope this doesn’t affect in nothing by viewing the informations of the card.

also, if someone found a good BIOS for my card I’ll be extremely grateful, I really need MacOS!
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,761 (2.91/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Most VBIOS files have support for 2-3 different types of VRAM, because manufacturers (especially of the RX 400/500 series) throw together whatever chips they can get thier hands on. We really need physical verification of the VRAM chips, because flashing the wrong BIOS could put you in a situation where you cannot recover the card without a hardware programmer, such as the CH341a.
 
Top