• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

FM2 and 6950

randomftw

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello, i am new to the forum, and after many days of screech on the web, i still get confused about what cpu to choose.

My computer is:
AMD Phenom II X3 720 Processor
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P
8 gb ram 1333 AMD RAM
700w corsair gaming series psu
Asus 6950 cu II

The idea is buying A4 5300 CPU + a good board till a better fm2 cpu come out or price drop in A10.
My current cpu board, will be used to upgrade my WHS 2011, that still run on pentium D.
The A4 will then be used for media center, if i change it latter.

Is FM2 the new future socket, is AM3+ eol?
Can FM2 cpu's keep up with dedicate GPU?
 
Last edited:

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#2
FM2 is another branch, different in purpose compared to FM2

I would stick to what you have right now, or get FX8350 if you want to stay with AMD, or get Intel, currently the better choice for gamers.
 

randomftw

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
FM2 is another branch, different in purpose compared to FM2

I would stick to what you have right now, or get FX8350 if you want to stay with AMD, or get Intel, currently the better choice for gamers.
I would buy FX cpu 43xx or 93xx, still i need to buy the board, but many sites on the internet say that am3+ is dead in 2013, that why i am thinking of FM2.

AMD is really confusing me atm, i dont want to move to Intel...I am not that rich, another solutions will be geting a good cooler and OC my cpu and trying to unlock the 4 core, if that is ever possible.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#4
Well Vishera just got released on AM3+, so I am not sure where you received your information from. Also, Steamroller supposed to be released in AM3+.

FM2 is not an upgrade to your current system, especially when you are not going to use the on die graphics card. Might as well get vanilla AM3+ cores instead. You can try to unlock your processor for now. Intel is not that much more expensive than AMD, the cheaper i5 and motherboards are not too much more expensive than AMD, you gain very good gaming performance but loses overclocking ability (small price to pay since you don't seem to have overclocked your current chip).
 

randomftw

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Well Vishera just got released on AM3+, so I am not sure where you received your information from. Also, Steamroller supposed to be released in AM3+.

FM2 is not an upgrade to your current system, especially when you are not going to use the on die graphics card. Might as well get vanilla AM3+ cores instead. You can try to unlock your processor for now. Intel is not that much more expensive than AMD, the cheaper i5 and motherboards are not too much more expensive than AMD, you gain very good gaming performance but loses overclocking ability (small price to pay since you don't seem to have overclocked your current chip).
Yeah, i am not the OC guy, i did pushed my current cpu from 2800 ro 3000, but i rather make the items last years instead of shorten their life time by OC them.

Still i am curious to see how good an A10 can do with a good GPU
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
What will you be doing with this new machine? Clearly the Phenom X3 is moving to your home server. If you're going to be gaming a lot, I would go with AM3+ or skt1155 with Intel. If you won't be gaming a lot and this will mostly doing browsing or media, FM2 might be the better option. If that 6950 is coming with you, I would honestly consider skt1155 or AM3+ and not FM2.
 

randomftw

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
What will you be doing with this new machine? Clearly the Phenom X3 is moving to your home server. If you're going to be gaming a lot, I would go with AM3+ or skt1155 with Intel. If you won't be gaming a lot and this will mostly doing browsing or media, FM2 might be the better option. If that 6950 is coming with you, I would honestly consider skt1155 or AM3+ and not FM2.
Yes, i just want to get a new cpu and mobo.
Still i have to wait some more, no FX 43xx 63xx 83xx yet where i am from.
My budget is 150-200 euros.

I usually play online games like wow, or battleforge in window mode, use 2x screens, 1 where i game the other for web or playing movies.
I use sandboxie for playing multiple accounts on MMO's.

When i play games like mass effects 3, i play fullscreen, 1080p all maxed.
And in January i will be playing FF14, i do occasional video editing, and that all about it
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#8
Yes, i just want to get a new cpu and mobo.
Still i have to wait some more, no FX 43xx 63xx 83xx yet where i am from.
My budget is 150-200 euros.

I usually play online games like wow, or battleforge in window mode, use 2x screens, 1 where i game the other for web or playing movies.
I use sandboxie for playing multiple accounts on MMO's.

When i play games like mass effects 3, i play fullscreen, 1080p all maxed.
And in January i will be playing FF14, i do occasional video editing, and that all about it
Considering your budget, I would wait for the new FX processors to come to your area. Do you only need a motherboard and processor? Are you going to be using the 1333 ram still as well?
 

randomftw

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Considering your budget, I would wait for the new FX processors to come to your area. Do you only need a motherboard and processor? Are you going to be using the 1333 ram still as well?
Yes for now only CPU+board, then will get some better ones asap.
I dont like much asrock, but since i am on budget, i am thinking of getting this one:

http://www.chiptec.net/incs/verproduto.php?id=11887&session=463b6003e6d31dcbc8e78c65baf2d45e

Or
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3901#ov
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#11
Keep in mind it is only 4+1 phase power. You might not want to put an 8-core on that.
Will handle it fine, but no overclocking adventures.
 

randomftw

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Thx all, i think actually i may just skip the BD thing, my phenon can last 1 or 2 more years for what i need from it.
Will buy a cool cooler like his one:
http://www.corsair.com/hydro-series-h40-high-performance-liquid-cpu-cooler.html

OC it and save some cash, till AMD decides to come with a different socked, i really have a bad felling about these BD.

I have more faith on FM2 than am3+ BD/piledriver in a near future, or maybe AM4 who know?

Will keep reading this forum, since there is nice info on it, lucky to have find a nice comunity like this one.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
I have more faith on FM2 than am3 BD/piledriver in a near future, or maybe AM4 who know?
Why is because FM2 is geared towards a different market than AM3+ is. Also I'm pretty sure that AMD has stated that AM3+ is going to be around for a while. You might be waiting over a year or longer for a new socket. FM2 will stick around longer than FM1 did, but like I said, different products for different markets. What you're describing is a bit outside the scope of an APU and isn't worth it for what you will be doing with the machine.

Either way, I would still wait but I wouldn't strictly wait for the socket to change. This is AMD, not Intel. They don't change sockets nearly as often so it's a bad gauge of weather to buy or not.