• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gainward 6600GT 256Mb AGP DDR3: screen, bios, ... PROBLEMS

davidhopar

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Rig
Processor Dual Core 2.8Ghz
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Geil
Video Card(s) PowerColor 3650 Overclocked
Hi Guys
I hope i am posting this on the right place etc... cause i have been searching but couldn't find anything similar to my problem.

Now to the business.

I have a Gainward 6600GT 256MB AGP 8x DDR3 (Ultra 1960/1980) (bought from someone)

The moment i turn my pc on, i get weird signs all over the screen and cant read anything.
While booting into windows AND in the windows the screen resolution is 4bit and there are vertical stripes all over the screen.. It's sick and i can't change it in the settings. It just doesn't goes.

Next, I have make a back-up of my original BIOS and I have just changed the MHz values with NiBiTor and saved the changed BIOS and flashed my card with nvflash. Just to see what will hapen, but NOTHING changed.

When I install Nvidia drivers (181. x), I can't boot into windows anymore due to bluescreen.
So i have to boot into safemod or uninstall drivers.

I have also placed the card in 3 different PC's and changed PSU of 300Watt and 400Watt and nothing is changed.

NiBiTor.v4.8 recognizes the card BUT GPU-Z says: Unknown architecture :(

I think my Card is DEAD.
What do you guys think? Is there anything I can do to fix this problem or ...?

Check the pictures AND I can also post the ORIGINAL BIOS.

Thx in advance guys !!!

System i am testing it on now:
mobo: Via Chipset K7VM2
OS: Windows XP SP2
256 MB DDR Ram @266Mhz
300Watt PSU

NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT VBIOS

Version 5.43.02.46.IP

PICTURES:







 

Attachments

spearman914

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.73/day)
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
It's definitely overheating. Check temps. Weird stripes and lines are caused by high temps.
 

davidhopar

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Rig
Processor Dual Core 2.8Ghz
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Geil
Video Card(s) PowerColor 3650 Overclocked
Thx for the quick reply.

But, i get those weird lines, signs, ... from just the moment i push the power button.
At that time the GPU is still way too cold.

Maybe overhitted and now permanent damage?
 

spearman914

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.73/day)
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
Thx for the quick reply.

But, i get those weird lines, signs, ... from just the moment i push the power button.
At that time the GPU is still way too cold.

Maybe overhitted and now permanent damage?
Get a pic of the same exact card and compare them. Maybe some pins are bented or the psu is not suppling enough power or it's dying.
 

davidhopar

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Rig
Processor Dual Core 2.8Ghz
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Geil
Video Card(s) PowerColor 3650 Overclocked
OK, will try with another pic.

But I have tested it with an other PSU of 400Watt. That would be moreee than enough for that card.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,519 (0.74/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
Card is dead, most likely the memory's gone.
 

davidhopar

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Rig
Processor Dual Core 2.8Ghz
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Geil
Video Card(s) PowerColor 3650 Overclocked
Get a pic of the same exact card and compare them. Maybe some pins are bented or the psu is not suppling enough power or it's dying.
Have been searching for the same card on google and pictures, NOTHING found:twitch:

Aah well, don't know what to do.
Anyone else some ideas guys?

Greetz
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.27/day)
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
that is a sign of a nearly dead card. I got 2 cards that did the same as your problem, screen is stretching, flickering, etc both ATI cards the 9550 256MB 128-bit and X1300 256MB 128-bit died on me :shadedshu
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,058 (8.26/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Physically the card is dead. Nothing you can do really. :ohwell:
 

davidhopar

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Rig
Processor Dual Core 2.8Ghz
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Geil
Video Card(s) PowerColor 3650 Overclocked
Thx for all the replies !!!

Now I know what to do with it.:nutkick: Let's play football:D

Hope this Thread will be usefull for some people and the original BIOS of the card.:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.27/day)
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
Physically the card is dead. Nothing you can do really. :ohwell:
my oldest card GeForce 4 MX 440 64MB 64-bit is still up and running been using it for nearly 5 years now the other card which is both ATI and it's newer died within just a year :shadedshu
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,418 (0.29/day)
Location
London, England
It's the luck of the draw really, my first HD 3850 actually showed up DOA, doing the same thing as your 6600GT. Stripes across screen, and low bit image, even when booting cold. The card would become extremely hot within instants even with the fan running as standard, luckily I had bought it new from Ebuyer, and they picked it up the next day, and I had a replacement the next day.
Unfortunate that you bought from a person, I'd try and ask them about it, unless they warned that it was sold as seen without warranty, etc.
 

davidhopar

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Rig
Processor Dual Core 2.8Ghz
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Geil
Video Card(s) PowerColor 3650 Overclocked
my oldest card GeForce 4 MX 440 64MB 64-bit is still up and running been using it for nearly 5 years now the other card which is both ATI and it's newer died within just a year :shadedshu
It's the luck of the draw really, my first HD 3850 actually showed up DOA, doing the same thing as your 6600GT. Stripes across screen, and low bit image, even when booting cold. The card would become extremely hot within instants even with the fan running as standard, luckily I had bought it new from Ebuyer, and they picked it up the next day, and I had a replacement the next day.
Unfortunate that you bought from a person, I'd try and ask them about it, unless they warned that it was sold as seen without warranty, etc.
i guess new cards are much more fragile than older once, i hae some PCI cards of 2MB:eek: and you can smash them to the wall and they still work.

Yea, My Ati X600 died after 2 years. Just when the warranty was over.:shadedshu
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.27/day)
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
You're lucky you can still boot to Windows as my X1300 is showing stretching lines all over the monitor I can't read a damn word :laugh: the 9550 could still boot no problems on 2d mode but upon entering 3d it started to tear the graphics.
 

davidhopar

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Rig
Processor Dual Core 2.8Ghz
Cooling Stock
Memory 2GB Geil
Video Card(s) PowerColor 3650 Overclocked
Well I managed to install drivers without getting bluescreens and cr*p.

GPU-Z and everest can detect it now.
But as you can see on the new screen shots of gpu-z that the GPU clock is 0MHz and Def. Clock is 16384Mhz, :wtf:

it's dead for 100000%





I guess thread closed?

Greetz
 
Top