• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gaming PC Releases 4.6 GHz Windows 8 Gaming Rig Codename "The Beast"

gamingpcca

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#26
Thanks you for your interest

I'm Eric from Gaming PC and I'm happy to answer a few questions & comments.

First, thanks for checking out our Beast machine. It's mind-blowingly fast.. but of course, no one is really debating that!

Now for the comments.

Agreed. Do I really want to spend $5000 with a company that doesn't employ a fluent English speaker to do English language PR?
You're completely right! We are Quebec-based company and our team speaks French natively. That said, we are all fluent in English and are happy to speak English with all our customers. (which is approximately 95% of the time!)

When we do press releases (once in a blue moon, when we have a cool new product), we do employ outsourced help (We're busy making computers, not doing press releases!) and we'll make sure the next one utilizes proper grammar!

THE BEAST and then they give it an integrated sound card.
Yes! We can explain this decision.

First... have you heard the sound quality that comes from the Asus Rampage IV Extreme motherboard? It's 7.1 sound and it's damned good. In the past, when we used to include an extra sound card, we would get support calls & emails from customers plugging in their speakers into the wrong holes (they would use the sound inputs built into the motherboard instead of the sound card)

It also gives us the flexibility of doing crazier things like adding 4 videocards, having PCI-express solid state drives and adding other professional cards to the system (available via request).

If you want it, then it's available as an option! If you want it, you can just add it (best of both worlds!)

64GB of ram??? we can cut 20-30% of the cost of the build if we go with 8GB or 16GB
Hah, we wish! Ram really isn't that expensive these days and 64 gigs of ram gives you all the memory you can wish for... and some bragging rights. While everyone else is doing 32 gigs of ram for their gaming machine, we figured we'd give it 64. It's going to be the standard in a few years anyways, so why not have it now ?

This PC here is a lot better then most of the members here at TPU there is very little room to improve unless you go with a 3960X, more SSDs, more ram (if possible) dual CPU or Quad SLI/crossfire.
Thanks, and exactly. (This machine already has QUAD sli and has the maximum amount of ram)

We use a custom watercooling system to clock the CPU at 4.6Ghz (and offer a warranty on it). (We tested the 3960 and it gave the exact same overclocking results) so we're very happy with the machine. The only way an 'enthusiast' can build something faster is by using expensive phase-change cooling and even then, the difference would be negligible.

Our experience is on phase-change (-30 degrees celcius), the highest 24/7 stable speeds we would recommend were 4.8-5.1Ghz and it's really not worth the hassle. You have to build/buy a $1000+ phase changing system, worry about condensation on all your components, have special CPU blocks, etc.

So in the end, we stick with the highest quality water cooling systems we can put together and clock the machines as fast as possible.

We've tested dozens of options so far and this is by far the best solution for gamers that want the fastest machine available.

2 690's for single monitor gaming... 64GB of ram for gaming... Ooof.
Most of our customers actually use 2-3 computer monitors (they already have them). Having this much power allows you to do much more than just play games.

Some of our pro-gaming customers use our machines to both game AND stream at the highest quality simultaneously. If you want to stream at the highest quality and run a graphic intensive game (such as Farcry 3), then you best have a fast machine to be able to render/encode on the fly!

We're happy to provide solutions that can do both.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,137 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#27
Hah, we wish! Ram really isn't that expensive these days and 64 gigs of ram gives you all the memory you can wish for... and some bragging rights. While everyone else is doing 32 gigs of ram for their gaming machine, we figured we'd give it 64. It's going to be the standard in a few years anyways, so why not have it now ?
Sir, no disrespect but if you check the specs of 50 or even 100 TPU members machines and members of other hardware forums you will find out that probably less then 1% of the gaming/enthusiast/enthusiast gamer community etc etc community has 32GB ram let alone need anything close to 32GB for a gaming machine which this is being marketed as.

The average amount of ram that most people have is 8 or 16GB. In some rare cases even 24GB. Just because you can load out a PC with the maximum amount of ram that is physically possible DOESNT make it any more or less of a capable gaming machine then one that has 8 or 16GB. Maybe in certain situations it would apply - Some games load up loads of textures. long sessions of ARMA II can sometimes eat up all 8GB of my ram.

If you honestly think going from 8 or 16GB to 64GB makes any real world difference to gaming let alone real world difference then I will not be one of those people who is going to purchase one of your machines.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
149 (0.07/day)
Likes
30
Processor Intel i7-3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V LX
Cooling GeminII S524
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz
Video Card(s) R9 290 with NZXT G10
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 120Gb, 1.5 TB Seagate Barracuda, 3TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 27" Achieva Shimian
Case NZXT Switch 810
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
#28
Sir, no disrespect but if you check the specs of 50 or even 100 TPU members machines and members of other hardware forums you will find out that probably less then 1% of the gaming/enthusiast/enthusiast gamer community etc etc community has 32GB ram let alone need anything close to 32GB for a gaming machine which this is being marketed as.

The average amount of ram that most people have is 8 or 16GB. In some rare cases even 24GB. Just because you can load out a PC with the maximum amount of ram that is physically possible DOESNT make it any more or less of a capable gaming machine then one that has 8 or 16GB. Maybe in certain situations it would apply - Some games load up loads of textures. long sessions of ARMA II can sometimes eat up all 8GB of my ram.

If you honestly think going from 8 or 16GB to 64GB makes any real world difference to gaming let alone real world difference then I will not be one of those people who is going to purchase one of your machines.
I don't know if most people who purchase this class of machines definitively care for real-world regardless.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#29
I'm Eric from Gaming PC and I'm happy to answer a few questions & comments.
Hi Eric. Please send W1zzard a PM, and get your ID confirmed, might go a long way in helping other identify you in this context.

If you honestly think going from 8 or 16GB to 64GB makes any real world difference to gaming let alone real world difference then I will not be one of those people who is going to purchase one of your machines.

I want 64 GB, and I game more than anything else. The extra ram would be used for ram-drive for FRAPs recording.


Thing is, I can justify every single component here. Nobody really needs quad SLI, either. I've already posted pics of my rig, with a single 7950, playing BF3 perfectly fine @ 3600x1920,across three screens.

Every single part of this rig is overkill. That is the whole point, period. I can understand that...easily.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#30
I'd kill for 64gbs ram too! I use up my 24 easily... disk caches, ram disks ect. The ram is the cheapest part of this system, why not 64gbs? I remember when people here used to say "why would you ever need more than 4gbs ram?".
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,869 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,806
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
#31
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#32
Reply

The machine is overkill for most purposes but as someone stated, so is a Ferrari or a Lambo. However, when you take advantage of it's full potential, it really shines and puts a smile on your face. (Same with the cars)

We have professional gamers streaming in the highest quality and this really takes advantage of ram/processing power. It's not uncommon for our customers to have Firefox open with 30 tabs+, Skype, MSN, Antivirus, Xsplit for streaming in 1920x1080 and Starcraft II, LoL, Farcry running on Ultra settings.

That's pretty much the standard load... if they are multi-tasking they might also have Photoshop, Reason, etc open at the same time. (Some of our clients are Djs, architects and so on)

Quad SLI... hah, yes that's more than what you need right now. But then again, if you want the fastest FPS and want to be 'future-proofed', then it's a great way to go. This is designed to be the ultimate gaming machine... and it does a pretty good job at it.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
Location
Christchurch, New Zealand
#33
$6580 vs $7700 == a good deal in New Zealand.

I did some research. If I were to buy all the parts for that rig, they'd cost me ~$7700(NZD) or $6412(USD) and I didn't include the cost of the water-cooling. It must be CPU only for the "basic" $5484(USD) edition because the GPU cooling is listed as an optional extra for $642.02(USD).

New Zealand prices are generally higher even with the currency conversion, so you could prolly get the parts quite a bit cheaper in the States and Canada, but that rig would be a good deal in New Zealand at $6580(NZD). I paid a lot more for my current four year old build. The NZD was very sickly back then at sixty something cents (USD). But, thanks to your government's continuing incompetence, the value of US paper money is eroding faster than ours and the Chinese government is daft enough to keep the Yuan pegged to it.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
Location
Christchurch, New Zealand
#34
Hi Eric. Please send W1zzard a PM, and get your ID confirmed, might go a long way in helping other identify you in this context.

I want 64 GB, and I game more than anything else. The extra ram would be used for ram-drive for FRAPs recording.
You must record little snippets with Fraps because 1920x1200 recordings would fill that up in a gnat's fart, although possibly an extremely long gnat's fart, but short by human standards.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#35
We have professional gamers streaming in the highest quality and this really takes advantage of ram/processing power. It's not uncommon for our customers to have Firefox open with 30 tabs , Skype, MSN, Antivirus, Xsplit for streaming in 1920x1080 and Starcraft II, LoL, Farcry running on Ultra settings.
I've run games with multiple windows in the background of Chrome with 20-25 tabs a pop along with virtual machines and a game and I can tell you that I've never exceeded 14Gb of ram (in the most extreme of cases with the page file disabled). 64gb is overkill for any non-server purpose. A gamer in the next 3 years will never need that much and you would be better off investing in half as much memory that runs faster rather than focusing on amount. Also fully loading the IMC will not enable memory to overclock as well either. There are a lot of things about this PC that makes me think that someone with a stock i5 3570 and 8Gb of DDR3-1600 will run just as well as this rig if it has the same video cards in it. This is big, expensive, and has e-peen written all over it when it doesn't actually improve a gamer's experience. Unless I'm crunching or benchmarking, my 3820 feels just as responsive at 3.8ghz as it does at 4.8ghz, which is why I've chosen to under-volt my CPU and hold small OC of 4Ghz.

All in all, the only people I see investing in a machine like this are people who know nothing about computers but want the best they can get their hands on. Despite the fact that anything lesser would probably do just as well. Don't get me wrong, it looks like a nice PC but this isn't the place to expect a warm reception since most people here at TPU have some idea of what their doing and know that you don't need an Intel 6-core processor to play any game on the market at full graphics with 3 displays.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
158 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
New Delhi, India
System Name Devil's Den
Processor Intel core i7 3930k Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G Skill RipJaws Z Series 16 GB (4x4 GB)
Video Card(s) POV GTX 680 TGT Ultra Charged (4GB)
Storage Segate 500 GB, WMD 250 GB
Display(s) Samsung T23B350AR
Case Corsair Vengence Cabinet
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Corsair HX850 W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 64 Bit, Windows server 2008 R/2 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 1st time beast build...
#36
I've run games with multiple windows in the background of Chrome with 20-25 tabs a pop along with virtual machines and a game and I can tell you that I've never exceeded 14Gb of ram
I am not saying that I wil not love having this Rig (The beast) but seriously @Aquinus is all the way right I am using 16 gigs and apart from games I am also using SQL server 2008 r2 while my system is a server in my LAN area (serving 4 pc's) but seriously it plays cool all the way...so for now $5500 is really a huge amount...:)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,476
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#37
I am not saying that I wil not love having this Rig (The beast)
+1: Me either, but having an SB-E rig, I can tell you that I could upgrade for a faction of that cost.

$5500 is really a huge amount...
Yeah, considering that will get you top-end video cards, an i7 EE, plenty of memory, and storage to boot for a fraction of the price. That is my gripe with this. It's overkill and it costs a ton. Yeah, it might be like a Lamborghini but why get a car that eats gas and is fast when you can get a BMW for a fraction of the price that accelerates just as well and probably uses less gas to do it and drives like a dream. Also like cars, computers have their limits too. What good is having a huge engine if the speed limit is still 90KM/h or 65 MPH? Computers are the same way, what good is having 6 cores (12 threads,) when the user most likely will only being using 4t. Fewer cores at higher clocks would benefit a gamer more.

It's like saying, "Oh, you have to dig a hole to plant a tree? Let me get you a bulldozer." :p
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,818 (1.01/day)
Likes
262
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) R9 380X 4gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p12 093
#38
my machine can become a bigger monster then that..
allright aquinus where do you want your tree?

 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
158 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
New Delhi, India
System Name Devil's Den
Processor Intel core i7 3930k Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G Skill RipJaws Z Series 16 GB (4x4 GB)
Video Card(s) POV GTX 680 TGT Ultra Charged (4GB)
Storage Segate 500 GB, WMD 250 GB
Display(s) Samsung T23B350AR
Case Corsair Vengence Cabinet
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Corsair HX850 W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 64 Bit, Windows server 2008 R/2 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 1st time beast build...
#39
It's like saying, "Oh, you have to dig a hole to plant a tree? Let me get you a bulldozer."

You are right all the way bro...I know people around here will say that the sys is providing extra this and that but still thing is the same how much we use that would be the main monetary value to the asset.:toast:
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
158 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
New Delhi, India
System Name Devil's Den
Processor Intel core i7 3930k Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G Skill RipJaws Z Series 16 GB (4x4 GB)
Video Card(s) POV GTX 680 TGT Ultra Charged (4GB)
Storage Segate 500 GB, WMD 250 GB
Display(s) Samsung T23B350AR
Case Corsair Vengence Cabinet
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Corsair HX850 W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 64 Bit, Windows server 2008 R/2 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 1st time beast build...
#40