1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

get the E6600 or wait ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Conti027, May 5, 2007.

  1. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    I was thinking about getting the E6600 or should i wait til Q3 and get the E6850 ? also with knowing that i need a good mobo (probly 650i/680i) with 1Gb gaming ram (1 stick) that i can up to 4Gb later.Thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Are you going to OC?

    if you can wait.. I would wait. The 6600 is a great chip (i own one)... but if you can get something better, why not do that.

    I would get 2gb of ram and go with the 680i
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    no im not going to OC but yea i just only to buy 1Gb and then in a few weeks buy 3 more of the same type
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,817 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If the money is not burning a hole in your pocket ... wait.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    no not really, just want to see what other people think. do you think there will be DDR3 by then? i mean i know then have very little now but you think there will be more out there?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,817 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Appoximately every three months there will be something new.
    You will have to jump in somewhere.
    Guage what you buy on what you are looking to do in the near term, not by what you think will come out in the future, otherwise it will drive you insane.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    DDR3 is starting to trickle out now. It should be out more then
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,425 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,602
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah it'll be out..but to say if you see any real performance increase or justified support and hard evidence of worthieness is hard to say.
    If you wanna wait, might as well wait and get a new system since Kreij's right about how every 3 - 6 months things change.
    I'd say get the 6600 and enjoy it! I love my 6300! I may consider getting a 6600 in the near future though!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,220 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wait a good 3 months or so until some of the "new" stuff we are waiting on has been out for awhile, and build yourself a kickass system that will live on for a few years...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,425 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,602
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah...true. Hat has a point. But also, if you ask the same question in 3 months it will be, wait 3 months for the prices to drop from Intel/AMD AMD/Nvidia getting competetive again...damn the cycle NEVER STOPS!

    But, yes HAT has a good point, if you can wait, it will be worth it. If not there's plenty of performance to be had out of today's components!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,220 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    I never understood why you would buy top of the line stuff anyway. Sure it would be nice to get an 8800GTX, but wouldn't an 8600GT last you for quite some time as well for far cheaper? The 8800GTX will outlive the 8600GT, so if you wait 3 months and grab the GTX when it goes down you will have a system quite capable of running race for a good 2 years or more even. My uncles x850XT lasted him 3 years (that f***er has 500mhz core clock, damn man!)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,425 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,602
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Bah I wouldn't waste my time with anything lower than the 8800GTS 320 if I were to go Nvidia, and frankly I'm good with my x1950pro. The only thing the 8600 really has going for it is DX10 support and with it's specs, it's not gonna be that good. Nvidia kinda dropped the ball on their mid-range cards. Ya don't need top of the line stuff, just pick the right stuff, and sometimes it pays to pay a little more up front to save a lot down the road.

    I had an x850pro that I converted to xt pe, I hit 564 core and 620-something on the ram if I remember correctly.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    how we get to talking about Video Cards? well nvm that but i see what you guys mean and i know that but i want really good performance and i dont want to spend more then 250-270 on a processor i just dont have the money and when the new stuff comes out it will cost a arm and a leg.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,560 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    so this 6850 has how much cache---8meg ??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)