• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabit Ethernet not working

Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
580 (0.13/day)
Likes
19
Location
Manitoba, Canada
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.3 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9 x79 Pro
Cooling Fans 6x 120mm, 1x 140mm, 2x 200mm
Memory 16GB corsair dominator platinum DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 670 DCII TOP 2GB
Storage 240GB Intel 330 SSD, 640 GB WD, 2 TB WD, 3 TB Segate GoFlex Desk USB 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19inch widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF XM
Audio Device(s) onbored
Power Supply pc power and cooling 750watt
Software Windows 7 SP1
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 11 = P9951 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4564568
#1
Hello, been a while since i've posted on here but i'm in kind of a bind. I just recently setup my house so that everything is gigabit, all CAT6 cables tested out for 1000mbps and routers and switches are all gig as well. However my main pc has a gig card built into it, a Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller but it will only detect 100mbps and even if i force it to 1000mbps it still will only work at 100mbps.

When i do force 1000mbps the link lights are completely dead and it's acting as if there is no cable connected, but will work at 100mbps full duplex just fine... I'm at a loss here. :banghead:

If anyone has an idea as how to fix this it would be welcome :)

The driver version is 11.41.3.3 btw.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#2

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#4
Try messing around with the bios options, since this is integrated into your motherboard?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
580 (0.13/day)
Likes
19
Location
Manitoba, Canada
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.3 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9 x79 Pro
Cooling Fans 6x 120mm, 1x 140mm, 2x 200mm
Memory 16GB corsair dominator platinum DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 670 DCII TOP 2GB
Storage 240GB Intel 330 SSD, 640 GB WD, 2 TB WD, 3 TB Segate GoFlex Desk USB 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19inch widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF XM
Audio Device(s) onbored
Power Supply pc power and cooling 750watt
Software Windows 7 SP1
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 11 = P9951 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4564568
#5
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#6
Did you try it without the switch?
If you have dual ports on that board try disabling one, if it has the option in the bios.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
580 (0.13/day)
Likes
19
Location
Manitoba, Canada
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.3 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9 x79 Pro
Cooling Fans 6x 120mm, 1x 140mm, 2x 200mm
Memory 16GB corsair dominator platinum DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 670 DCII TOP 2GB
Storage 240GB Intel 330 SSD, 640 GB WD, 2 TB WD, 3 TB Segate GoFlex Desk USB 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19inch widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF XM
Audio Device(s) onbored
Power Supply pc power and cooling 750watt
Software Windows 7 SP1
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 11 = P9951 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4564568
#7
I only have a single port on my mobo and i have tried connecting it to multiple devices that all support gig Ethernet and yet still nothing, pretty sure it's bricked.

btw, my mobo is a DFI Lanparty 790FX-b m2rsh
 
Last edited: