1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte's AMD 790X-Based MA790X-UD4 Pictured, Detailed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,479 (9.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,390
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Gigabyte has a complete range of AM2+/AM2 socket-based motherboard range lined up for launch, based on the company's Ultra-Durable 3 construction. Among its range, Gigabyte has resurrected the AMD 790X chipset and given it a go with in its upcoming GA-MA790X-UD4 motherboard. The AMD 790X is a scaled-down version of the AMD 790FX, based on the RD780 core. While lacking integrated graphics, it provides ATI CrossFireX support, with a maximum of 16 PCI-Express 2.0 lanes to spare for graphics, which usually split into electrically dual PCI-Express 2.0 x8 when used with CrossFire setups. The 790X chipset was largely unpopular when it launched along with the 790FX and 770. It couldn't stand firm as the middle-ground between performance and value. This, along with competition from NVIDIA's nForce 750a SLI forced AMD to work on the 790GX chipset that offers all the features of the 790X, plus the integrated graphics.

    In Gigabyte's latest work, the 790X is accompanied by the overclocker-friendly SB750 southbridge chip. The motherboard supports all AM2/AM2+ processors including the latest AM2+ Phenom II series. It advertises DDR2-1200 as its memory standard. In the mix, are two PCI-Express 2.0 x16 slots that operate electrically (x8, x8) in CrossFire, a high-grade onboard audio CODEC, Firewire, and a single gigabit Ethernet connection. It is expected to release in February, with a price-tag of 135€.

    [​IMG]

    Source: ATI Forum
     
  2. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    That is nice. I'm glad that it uses DDR2-1200. But it operates at (x8, x8), and I just like my board even more. But im glad they added the SB750 chip.
     
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    why in the world would they release this board without DDR3 support is beyond me.
     
  4. Silverel

    Silverel

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,773 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    They're about a year late for the 790X party. It does come with native PII support for the DDR2 chips though. It's also one of the few 790X boards with the 750SB...

    Not entirely bad, but certainly not going to be a hugely popular board.
     
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Because it's AM2/AM2+ not AM3?
     
  6. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yea, but didnt AMD say that AM3 boards will support both DDR2/DDR3? Then it would've been much smarter to make this board (and all new boards) AM3 and DDR2/DDR3 capable. I just dont see buying a DDR2 only board a smart thing at this point.
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,479 (9.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,390
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yeah, but this isn't an AM3 board. It's an AM2+ board supporting AM3 socket processors.
     
  8. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    and thats why its not a smart move at this point.
     
  9. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    As long as they made it with stronger voltage regulators than MSI's first 790X board (the one I've got), sounds good! :D
     
  10. vampire622003

    vampire622003 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    136 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Austin
    The pretty colors make it look like it's edible. :)
     
  11. Silverel

    Silverel

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,773 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Yea... I've got the same board. The v2 has different regulators on it, not much more power, but less likely to burn up a 125w chip. Twas most of the reason I never grabbed an X3... Money too. Never had money for it until after I heard about the PII's coming out.
     
  12. Leadfarmer

    Leadfarmer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Don't know about this board, but I have the previous version (DS4) and it's a killer board. Literally. Three days ago it burned my 9950 just after 10 mins of COD5 in perfectly cool temps, no overclock no nothing! Funny thing the motherboard still works, but not for long. As soon as I get my RMAed Phenom back, the DS4 is dying a painfull death (forcing me to use a 4200+ in year 2009!). Back to ASUS for me. I like the layout of Gigabyte boards but I would also like my CPUs lasting more than three months...
    Hopefully this one will cope better (to put it mildly) and with the PII rated at 125W.
    Anyone reading this that has a DS4 paired with 9950, better have an extinguisher close to ur PC!
     
  13. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    looks good, amd overclockers, get ready to get some ;)
     
  14. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    it's probably the last amd board with ddr2 from gigabyte...

    next only ddr3 ...or a combo....ddr2 with ddr3 (transition board)
     
  15. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,154 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Leave that to AsRock. XD

    I want to jump to the AMD team! It'd be fun to make a Dragon-based PC. :D
     
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I bought their AMD 790X board and love it. Hell Im using it now until I get the Kuma put together. This is good though with the SB 750 :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    790x , that's old , but it look like new 790gx
     
  18. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    hey it's alright board, I got nothing against think it's a good more for gigabyte, for those who don't want the 790GX...actually wait what advantage does this have over the GX??? outbeside supporting AM3 if thats a plus????
     
  19. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    It doesn't. 790GX has the advantage because it has IGP as well.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)