• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Good and free backup software for a XP system ?

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,972 (3.67/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Had a old SSD hanging around to put in my Thinkpad RR61i, the SSD would solve every issue with the laptop for what i use it for. Anyways with having the original partitions and OS instal on it i am all so in need of a program that is reliable to do this.

Only used Arconis in the passed as it never let me down, how ever with this being a Intel drive i do not believe the software is free and if i remember right the HDD in the unit is a Maxtor.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,670 (1.70/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
MaxBlast 5 if you've got a Maxtor drive. I've never actually used 5. But 3 & 4 were awesome.

EDIT: You only need 1 Maxtor drive to use it.

EDIT 2: I've still got an original copy of MB3 on CD(not in perfect condition), and a backup disc image of it...on a DVD...somewhere. I might have MB4 somewhere too(though you can find that for download just as easily as I did I'm sure). If you want/need I can throw one or the other(or maybe both) on my Google drive for you.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,203 (3.82/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
I know I sound like a broken record because I'm always recommending the same program but, Seagate discwizard is (last i checked) free, its based on acronis, however it doesn't officially support XP, but I'm almost 100% certain that I've used it with XP , The official documentation goes back to Windows 7 SP1 but I think it does support XP.

Can't hurt to try, worst case scenario youll still be in need of a back up program :rolleyes:
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,972 (3.67/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
MaxBlast 5 if you've got a Maxtor drive. I've never actually used 5. But 3 & 4 were awesome.

EDIT: You only need 1 Maxtor drive to use it.

EDIT 2: I've still got an original copy of MB3 on CD(not in perfect condition), and a backup disc image of it...on a DVD...somewhere. I might have MB4 somewhere too(though you can find that for download just as easily as I did I'm sure). If you want/need I can throw one or the other(or maybe both) on my Google drive for you.
Many thanks for your thoughts

Well thought i would double check and ends up being a Hitachi drive,

I know I sound like a broken record because I'm always recommending the same program but, Seagate discwizard is (last i checked) free, its based on acronis, however it doesn't officially support XP, but I'm almost 100% certain that I've used it with XP , The official documentation goes back to Windows 7 SP1 but I think it does support XP.

Can't hurt to try, worst case scenario youll still be in need of a back up program :rolleyes:
I will have to check, thanks bubba.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,972 (3.67/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Well thought i would update,

I found a key in my email for Paragon Drive copy 12, it worked for the most part, the OS is cloned it just did not clone the hidden partition. Will have to look more in to it i guess.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,972 (3.67/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
I thought i had done that, but hopefully your right.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,458 (4.07/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I thought i had done that, but hopefully your right.
If it’s paragon you can also tell it to do the arduous bit for bit copy
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,700 (2.18/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,740 (2.67/day)
Location
USA
If it’s paragon you can also tell it to do the arduous bit for bit copy
Right, almost guarantying a perfect copy. Then you can resize the partitions when the copy is complete. XP is especially flexible in that area.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,852 (2.56/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,603 (1.79/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX @2666 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Had a old SSD hanging around to put in my Thinkpad RR61i, the SSD would solve every issue with the laptop for what i use it for. Anyways with having the original partitions and OS instal on it i am all so in need of a program that is reliable to do this.

Only used Arconis in the passed as it never let me down, how ever with this being a Intel drive i do not believe the software is free and if i remember right the HDD in the unit is a Maxtor.
I'd just use Clonezilla live USB. You might have some issues if the original HDD has bad sectors, but other than that you have everything you need in one relatively easy to use opensource package =)
Or you could simply boot from Ubuntu Live stick and DD the whole thing (you can resize partitions afterwards in GParted).

I always carry around a flashdrive w/ Clonezilla, Ubuntu and Acronis TrueImage(which I've never used) on my keychain, and so far I didn't need any other tools.
Even cloning GPT disks w/ UEFI linux setups has been working just fine (only needed to fix GUIDs in config files and update grub before booting).

If your HDD is larger than an SSD, then you should resize one or few partitions to match the SSD size. Clonezilla has an option to do that, but for some reason I never succeeded and had to resize partitions manually.
 
Top