• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU running at 4x PCIE only

  • Thread starter Deleted member 193706
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 193706

Guest
I have an Athlon 200ge which has 8x PCIE lanes supposedly for the GPU, I have nothing else installled in any PCIE lanes nor any NVME drives but for some reason my 580 is only running at 4x 16 instead of 8x as it should with the Athlon, is it possible that SATA drives could be using the other 4x lanes? I have 3 installed and that's the only thing I can think of.

Capture.PNG
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,137 (2.13/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
Which x16 slot do you have the card installed in?
 
D

Deleted member 193706

Guest
The one and only, it's a mATX board with 1x16 PCIE slot and 2x 4x I believe.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,137 (2.13/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
Which x16 slot do you have the card installed in?
Actually this is from the product page on Amazon

"Supports x4 speed with AMD Athlon with Radeon Vega Graphics Processors"

So I guess you are stuck. You could get a 1200 and that would run the GPU at x16.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,257 (4.31/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Have you installed your AMD Chipset drivers??
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,713 (2.05/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Actually this is from the product page on Amazon

"Supports x4 speed with AMD Athlon with Radeon Vega Graphics Processors"

So I guess you are stuck. You could get a 1200 and that would run the GPU at x16.
He is correct your board only supports x4 with the Athlon 200GE

I'd upgrade it anyways as it will hold back that 580

First Gen Ryzen is pretty inexpensive noq
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,137 (2.13/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
He is correct your board only supports x4 with the Athlon 200GE

I'd upgrade it anyways as it will hold back that 580

First Gen Ryzen is pretty inexpensive noq
That is why I advised on the 1200. That CPU should be able to run circles around the Athlon and may cost less than the 200GE.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,712 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Grab a 3400G
 
D

Deleted member 193706

Guest
Quoting TPU's review:

Another major difference between "Pinnacle Ridge" and "Raven Ridge" is the latter's smaller PCI-Express (PCIe) root complex. While "Summit Ridge" features 16 PCIe Gen 3.0 lanes toward PEG (PCI-Express Graphics) in addition to 4 lanes allocated to the chipset-bus and another 4 lanes driving an M.2 NVMe slot, "Raven Ridge" puts out just 8 lanes toward PEG, besides 4 lanes as chipset-bus and 4 lanes for the M.2 NVMe slot. What this means is that the second PCI-Express 3.0 x16 slot on X370 and X470 chipset motherboards won't work, and whatever graphics card you install in the first slot will run at PCI-Express 3.0 x8 (half bandwidth).
SOURCE

And I plan on upgrading to either a 2600/2700 or 3600 in the next month but when I built this PC initially I bought the Athlon cause I had no budget and it came with the IGP which was fine to get started, since then I've upgraded the case, PSU and GPU with the CPU and RAM being the last ones to get upgraded only way I could afford to do it and get it to a decent spec.

Grab a 3400G
There's no point with a dGPU, the 2600's are like £107 atm which is about £30-40 cheaper than the 3400g
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,713 (2.05/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Grab a 3400G
He could get better CPUs for less depending on where he lives

Ryzen 5 2600 - $119
Ryzen 5 1600 AF - $85

Ryzen 3400G is $149 and is 4 core Zen+

Quoting TPU's review:

SOURCE

And I plan on upgrading to either a 2600/2700 or 3600 in the next month but when I built this PC initially I bought the Athlon cause I had no budget and it came with the IGP which was fine to get started, since then I've upgraded the case, PSU and GPU with the CPU and RAM being the last ones to get upgraded only way I could afford to do it and get it to a decent spec.


There's no point with a dGPU, the 2600's are like £107 atm which is about £30-40 cheaper than the 3400g
You see they Mentioned X370 and X470 not B350/B450

B350/B450 chipset has less lanes than X370/X470
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,137 (2.13/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
If the OP can get the 1600AF it will be an academic upgrade. I don't believe there is a faster (new) CPU for the money with that many cores/threads.
 
D

Deleted member 193706

Guest
He could get better CPUs for less depending on where he lives

Ryzen 5 2600 - $119
Ryzen 5 1600 AF - $85

Ryzen 3400G is $149 and is 4 core Zen+


You see they Mentioned X370 and X470 not B350/B450

B350/B450 chipset has less lanes than X370/X470
the 8x lanes should be from the CPU

I dont think the 1600 AF is readily available in the UK and the 2600 is dirt cheap atm that will likely be the CPU upgrade I go for though it wont be until next month.

There doesn't seem to be much perf loss when comparing 4x Vs 16x at least with a RX 580 somewhere between 2-10% game dependent obviously a more powerful card would like see a bigger perf drop it's just annoying more than anything else.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,855 (5.15/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Quoting TPU's review:

SOURCE

And I plan on upgrading to either a 2600/2700 or 3600 in the next month but when I built this PC initially I bought the Athlon cause I had no budget and it came with the IGP which was fine to get started, since then I've upgraded the case, PSU and GPU with the CPU and RAM being the last ones to get upgraded only way I could afford to do it and get it to a decent spec.
You should have looked at your motherboard's specs and not relied on a review for the CPU. Because your motherboard is what limits the 200G to x4 on the main slot. You're stuck with that until you upgrade the CPU.

SOURCE
1 x PCIe 3.0 x16 slot
  • Supports x16 speed
    • 1st, 2nd and 3rd Gen AMD Ryzen™
  • Supports x8 speed
    • Ryzen™ with Radeon™ Vega Graphics
    • 2nd Gen AMD Ryzen™ with Radeon™ Graphics
    • A-series
    • Athlon™ X4
  • Supports x4 speed
    • AMD® Athlon™ with Radeon™ Vega Graphics
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,712 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Quoting TPU's review:

SOURCE

And I plan on upgrading to either a 2600/2700 or 3600 in the next month but when I built this PC initially I bought the Athlon cause I had no budget and it came with the IGP which was fine to get started, since then I've upgraded the case, PSU and GPU with the CPU and RAM being the last ones to get upgraded only way I could afford to do it and get it to a decent spec.


There's no point with a dGPU, the 2600's are like £107 atm which is about £30-40 cheaper than the 3400g
He could get better CPUs for less depending on where he lives

Ryzen 5 2600 - $119
Ryzen 5 1600 AF - $85

Ryzen 3400G is $149 and is 4 core Zen+


You see they Mentioned X370 and X470 not B350/B450

B350/B450 chipset has less lanes than X370/X470
Wasnt sure if apu was needed
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,713 (2.05/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Top