• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gpu shutdown while gaming

Kk84

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
Hi i have an old gtx 560 that keeps shutting down while gaming i dont have an overclock and its not heat i got it from a frend that said he had dropped it and it was doing that ever since i jut want to know if dropping it could cause that ?
Cuz i know he had a 400w psu and i also have a 400w psu
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,951 (4.98/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yes dropping it can cause lots of different issues, most likely a capacitor or some other small part has dislodged.
Have a close look over the PCB with a magnifying glass if you have one.
 

Kk84

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
Oky I'll take a close look and let you know thanks
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
353 (3.53/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Intel Core i9 10900KF 5.1 Ghz /4.9 GHz Cache (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard ASUS Z490 PRIME-A
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Gaming X Trio, 6900XT Merc and Nitro + & almost all Ampere, Turing, Pascal, Maxwell Cards
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
simple answer. your non existent overclock is TOO high adjusted. the driver crashes. it's the same pattern as u would have overclocked it.
lower it until it is stable.
do not be fps greedy. it makes no sense. otherwise ure in danger to fry your hardware. try a decent bios which it suitable.

i hope my comment helps u to make it work better
your comment is completely useless, advises unnecessary steps and is filled with false information.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
5,666 (1.84/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Semi-custom loop
Memory 32GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 3x 480GB SSD, 2TB HDD, USB BD-ROM
Display(s) 2x 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio, Superlux HD668B
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro English
The drop could have resulted to some broken solder joints for example.
 

plastisch

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
your comment is completely useless, advises unnecessary steps and is filled with false information.
and your comment is the same useless because it is just no further informative as well and not constuctive at all. look into the mirror Dr. Tech
but i deleted my post. i hope u can sleep then better
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
353 (3.53/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Intel Core i9 10900KF 5.1 Ghz /4.9 GHz Cache (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard ASUS Z490 PRIME-A
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Gaming X Trio, 6900XT Merc and Nitro + & almost all Ampere, Turing, Pascal, Maxwell Cards
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
Hi i have an old gtx 560 that keeps shutting down while gaming i dont have an overclock and its not heat i got it from a frend that said he had dropped it and it was doing that ever since i jut want to know if dropping it could cause that ?
Cuz i know he had a 400w psu and i also have a 400w psu
Whole PC turns off?
normally i'd say reduce the powerlimit as much as possible and look if the PSU shuts off. but afaik the 500 series does not have a powerlimit slider at all (?)

test the card in a different PC if possible (after inspecting the PCB for visible damage)

it's a 150W Card and a cheap 400W PSU is already on the Edge with something like a 1050Ti.
 

Kk84

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
I took a close look at the gpu and cant see anything wrong it and if this helps it only turns off in certain games the gpu hase a power slider i turened it down to 950 and now i can play certain games others just cuse it to shut down i have no overclock the frend i got it from said that he had actually under clocked the card and it stopped happening

Thats my msi afterburner turend down the power and maxed out the fan to make sure its not heat so i honestly dont know some games can be played others like tombe rider the olde one from i thin 2015 or 2013 cause the gpu to shut down even tho the card can run it no problem i can olay farcry 3 no problem but not tombe raide and lots of other games i think they put to much stres on the gpu or something i have replaced thermalpad and paste as well so cant be that and i cant se any thin loose or damaged on the card

Thats my msi afterburner turend down the power and maxed out the fan to make sure its not heat so i honestly dont know some games can be played others like tombe rider the olde one from i thin 2015 or 2013 cause the gpu to shut down even tho the card can run it no problem i can olay farcry 3 no problem but not tombe raide and lots of other games i think they put to much stres on the gpu or something i have replaced thermalpad and paste as well so cant be that and i cant se any thin loose or damaged on the card

Oh and as for testing it in a nother pc the card comes from a frends pc and it had the same problem but as i said he had the same 400w psu as i dit so i dont know i saw for this card a 450w psu is supported but if i upgrade the psu im just gona get a 800w so i don't have to worry about it

And no the hole pc doesn't turn of the gpu just turns of but the gpu fan is still spinning
 

Attachments

  • 16181694057650.08066761078056806.jpg
    16181694057650.08066761078056806.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 20

plastisch

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
To be honest, I suspect the problem is with the MSI afterburner itself. these programmes are often not suitable for all cards/vbios and interfere too much with the drivers. All of them; EVGA, MSI etc. are the worst i tried. They are not suitable for my actions for example. None of them!
If the card is very old, the transistors or the silicon may well be showing their age.

Nothing lasts forever.

I suspect a mixture of everything, but primarily the fact of intervention by a third-party programme.
you can try the NVIDIA inspector.
i've had the best experience with it. it's not a programme that has endless setting options, but it is explicitly tailored to NVIDIA and delivers quite good results. i am very satisfied since i use this tool.
 

Attachments

  • Unbenannt.PNG
    Unbenannt.PNG
    100.9 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,478 (4.18/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
To be honest, I suspect the problem is with the MSI afterburner itself. these programmes are often not suitable for all cards/vbios and interfere too much with the drivers. All of them; EVGA, MSI etc. are the worst i tried. They are not suitable for my actions for example. None of them!

More blatant spreading of false information :shadedshu::shadedshu:

There are probably millions if not billions of people who have used MSI afterburner on a whole range of new and old cards and worked perfectly fine. Ive heard of RTSS interfering with 3D apps once in a blue moon but those are extremely few and far between and never to the point where it would crash a PC outright in the middle of gaming. If the OC is too high then that is user error not a problem with the software that YOU used to raise the clocks.

You make so many claims about how the app does bad things but back none of them up, Your information isnt even correct either MSI Afterburner has nothing to do with the vbios. It uses the driver to set the clocks.

If its not suitable for your needs -- dont use it. But dont tell other people to stop using it because it didnt work for you.

If the card is very old, the transistors or the silicon may well be showing their age.

Nothing lasts forever.

I suspect a mixture of everything, but primarily the fact of intervention by a third-party programme.
you can try the NVIDIA inspector.
i've had the best experience with it. it's not a programme that has endless setting options, but it is explicitly tailored to NVIDIA and delivers quite good results. i am very satisfied since i use this tool

If the transistors or the silicon is old Nvidia Inspector isnt going to tell him this. Neither is MSI Afterburner.

If the system is shutting down during gaming then it could be anything. But definitely a hardware issue...
Having unstable or ram your mobo doesnt like can cause things to crash.
Having an unstable or dying CPU can cause a system to crash or thermally shut down because its getting too hot.
Having a bad power supply can also cause a system to crash. OP states he has a 400w but he doesnt state which brand of 400w. Not all power supplies are made equal. It could be a '400w' $10 power supply he bought off aliexpress.
Having a bad motherboard can also cause crashing
Having bad Hard drives/SSDs can also cause crashing -- but probably more random crashing and not just when gaming.

Im guessing its not the board, ram or the CPU because it was probably working for the OP before he put the 560 in so by process of elimination. Im going to say either the power supply is weaksauce or the 560 is bad because it was dropped


Try the 560 in a different PC or test your PC with a different GPU or swap your Power supply out for a better one. Trying the 560 out in a different PC would be my first step as that takes it out of the puzzle and you know that the card is not faulty which means its probably the power supply.

@Kk84 -- you dont need an 800w power supply. very few people do. Even when i had GTX680s and 970s in SLi with an older 3930k@4.6Ghz setup my PC barely peaked 700w at all. My current system doesnt even pull 400w but i am very modest when it comes to how crazy i want my Frames per second to get.

a good 500-650w from this list here Either from Tier A, B or C will get you a solid capable power supply that can probably run upto a 3070. Obviously the higher the tier the stronger/better the unit for its class -- Buying a unit from Tier A or B isnt required but should be better quality should you decide you have the money to go down that route.
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,478 (4.18/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Calling me foreign? :laugh::laugh::laugh:

I've been a member here for some 8 or 10 years and never had I have someone be that racist to me. :laugh:

I hope you enjoyed your stay here. It's going to be a short one :toast:
 

Kk84

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
Oky I'll see if i can get a different pc to test the power supply in
And if i dont use msi afterburner to limit the power the card wil just shut dow afte a while so it dose word for me tnx

I mean to test the gpu in

And yes the pc was running perfectly before starting to use the 560 but yeah thanx anyway guys i think i should just get a good 600+W psu and wait 2 or 3 months till i can get my new gpu
Cuz i wnt a better psu so i can overclock since i have a nice msi bord with a i5 3570k and i wnt to see how far i can get it while staining stable

And the when i get the psu I'll see if its the gpu and then I'll just put it in an old oven for the fun of it since I'll otherwise anyway through it away

And yes the pc was running perfectly before starting to use the 560 but yeah thanx anyway guys i think i should just get a good 600+W psu and wait 2 or 3 months till i can get my new gpu
Cuz i wnt a better psu so i can overclock since i have a nice msi bord with a i5 3570k and i wnt to see how far i can get it while staining stable

And the when i get the psu I'll see if its the gpu and then I'll just put it in an old oven for the fun of it since I'll otherwise anyway through it away

And yes the pc was running perfectly before starting to use the 560 but yeah thanx anyway guys i think i should just get a good 600+W psu and wait 2 or 3 months till i can get my new gpu
Cuz i wnt a better psu so i can overclock since i have a nice msi bord with a i5 3570k and i wnt to see how far i can get it while staining stable

And the when i get the psu I'll see if its the gpu and then I'll just put it in an old oven for the fun of it since I'll otherwise anyway through it away
 
Top