• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z 2.51.0: Mixed up CPU code name for Radeon RX550

kukris

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2022
Messages
3 (0.20/day)
Hello together,

I have the graphic card ASRock Phantom Gaming Radeon RX550 and with GPU-Z 2.51.0 (and the versions before) it displays the GPU code name Polaris 21 instead of Polaris 12 (see attached screenshot).
I compared it to Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer 1.55.0.0 and with Wikipedia (see link below).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_500_series

Can you please correct this?


Greetings
Kukris
 

Attachments

  • GPU-Z-Radeon RX550.png
    GPU-Z-Radeon RX550.png
    74.7 KB · Views: 97

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,888 (3.67/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Could you upload your VBIOS and post the link here?
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2021
Messages
106 (0.23/day)
Hello together,

I have the graphic card ASRock Phantom Gaming Radeon RX550 and with GPU-Z 2.51.0 (and the versions before) it displays the GPU code name Polaris 21 instead of Polaris 12 (see attached screenshot).
I compared it to Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer 1.55.0.0 and with Wikipedia (see link below).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_500_series

Greetings
Kukris

Is this your graphics card?
There are two versions of the RX 550
1.Lexa Polaris12 512sp
2.Baffin Polaris 21 640sp


I guess it is possible that you bought the 640sp version of RX 550
I saw that the GPU Caps Viewer identified it as 640sp, so I was guessing, but it may be a true GPUZ detection error.


My RX550

Hello together,

I have the graphic card ASRock Phantom Gaming Radeon RX550 and with GPU-Z 2.51.0 (and the versions before) it displays the GPU code name Polaris 21 instead of Polaris 12 (see attached screenshot).
I compared it to Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer 1.55.0.0 and with Wikipedia (see link below).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_500_series

Can you please correct this?


Greetings
Kukris
I was wondering what page he would show you if you press lookup
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20221122-182111_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20221122-182111_Gallery.jpg
    138.7 KB · Views: 24
Last edited:

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
2,536 (0.66/day)
Location
Rhode Island
System Name Whaaaat Kiiiiiiid!
Processor Intel Core i9-12900K @ Default
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 AORUS Elite AX
Cooling Corsair H150i AIO Cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA @ Default
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512GB + Crucial MX500 2TB x3 + Samsung 980 PRO 1TB
Display(s) 27" LG 27MU67-B 4K, + 27" Acer Predator XB271HU 1440P
Case Thermaltake Core X9 Snow
Audio Device(s) Logitech G935 Headset
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 1050W Snow Silent
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech G915
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXV: 19329
Hello together,

I have the graphic card ASRock Phantom Gaming Radeon RX550 and with GPU-Z 2.51.0 (and the versions before) it displays the GPU code name Polaris 21 instead of Polaris 12 (see attached screenshot).
I compared it to Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer 1.55.0.0 and with Wikipedia (see link below).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_500_series

Can you please correct this?


Greetings
Kukris
Your model is Baffin (Polaris 21) there are others but this one is correct in gpuz

 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
2,536 (0.66/day)
Location
Rhode Island
System Name Whaaaat Kiiiiiiid!
Processor Intel Core i9-12900K @ Default
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 AORUS Elite AX
Cooling Corsair H150i AIO Cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA @ Default
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512GB + Crucial MX500 2TB x3 + Samsung 980 PRO 1TB
Display(s) 27" LG 27MU67-B 4K, + 27" Acer Predator XB271HU 1440P
Case Thermaltake Core X9 Snow
Audio Device(s) Logitech G935 Headset
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 1050W Snow Silent
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech G915
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXV: 19329

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,888 (3.67/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Thanks! The VBIOS calls this GPU "Baffin LE"
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
2,536 (0.66/day)
Location
Rhode Island
System Name Whaaaat Kiiiiiiid!
Processor Intel Core i9-12900K @ Default
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 AORUS Elite AX
Cooling Corsair H150i AIO Cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA @ Default
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512GB + Crucial MX500 2TB x3 + Samsung 980 PRO 1TB
Display(s) 27" LG 27MU67-B 4K, + 27" Acer Predator XB271HU 1440P
Case Thermaltake Core X9 Snow
Audio Device(s) Logitech G935 Headset
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 1050W Snow Silent
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech G915
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXV: 19329
Joined
Aug 27, 2021
Messages
106 (0.23/day)
Thanks! The VBIOS calls this GPU "Baffin LE"
There is a problem that his GPUZ lookup opens the 512sp page instead of 640sp

I don't know if it is a lookup error or a GPUZ detection eerie 640sp

 

Attachments

  • GPU-Z-Radeon RX550.png
    GPU-Z-Radeon RX550.png
    74.7 KB · Views: 24
Last edited:

kukris

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2022
Messages
3 (0.20/day)
Meanwhile I tried the program HWiNFO64 v7.32-4900 and it displays Polaris 11/Baffin LE.

So it seems that both programs GPU-Z (Polaris 21) and Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer (Polaris 12) are displaying the wrong codename and HWiNFO64 (Polaris 11) the correct one.


Greetings
Kukris
 

Attachments

  • HWInfo-Radeon RX550.png
    HWInfo-Radeon RX550.png
    83.5 KB · Views: 20
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
499 (0.53/day)
System Name DaRig
Processor i9 Died, back with i7 7800X
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling DeepCool Neptwin (1x 120mm TF fan)
Memory 2x16GB Corsair LPX 3600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 580 8G, repaired and modded.
Storage 32GB Optane (standalone for OS) + 2TB Seagate Skyhawk (2016) + 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) Samsung C24RG50FQI
Case InWin Alice
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek crap
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Redragon K539 brown switches
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 + Windows 10 LTSC 2018 (patched).
Hello together,

I have the graphic card ASRock Phantom Gaming Radeon RX550 and with GPU-Z 2.51.0 (and the versions before) it displays the GPU code name Polaris 21 instead of Polaris 12 (see attached screenshot).
I compared it to Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer 1.55.0.0 and with Wikipedia (see link below).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_500_series

Can you please correct this?


Greetings
Kukris
its easy to see that its not a normal 550, because 40 tmus instead of 32
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2021
Messages
106 (0.23/day)
Meanwhile I tried the program HWiNFO64 v7.32-4900 and it displays Polaris 11/Baffin LE.

So it seems that both programs GPU-Z (Polaris 21) and Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer (Polaris 12) are displaying the wrong codename and HWiNFO64 (Polaris 11) the correct one.


Greetings
Kukris

Ask GPU Z to change Polaris 21 to Baffin(?

However, I have seen a lot of nuclear opening tutorials saying that Polaris 21 RX550
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
995 (0.23/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Baffin is just one of the variants of Polaris. :)
I think GPU-Z shows the larger of the 2, in this case - Polaris.
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
2,536 (0.66/day)
Location
Rhode Island
System Name Whaaaat Kiiiiiiid!
Processor Intel Core i9-12900K @ Default
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 AORUS Elite AX
Cooling Corsair H150i AIO Cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA @ Default
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512GB + Crucial MX500 2TB x3 + Samsung 980 PRO 1TB
Display(s) 27" LG 27MU67-B 4K, + 27" Acer Predator XB271HU 1440P
Case Thermaltake Core X9 Snow
Audio Device(s) Logitech G935 Headset
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 1050W Snow Silent
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech G915
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXV: 19329
The issue is amd screwed up since gcn device ids, baffin/Polaris 11/Polaris 21 are the samething, it will be all read differently depending on how far the programmer went into details, the gpudb is the most accurate
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
995 (0.23/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Ideally, there should be TWO labels/boxes for this - one for larger generation/GPU type - in this case, Polaris XX (where XX is the Polaris 12/21/etc numbers) - and one for the lesser, exact variant, in this case Baffin/Baffin LE/etc. This will clearly avoid much of the current ambiguity.

But I know GPU-Z did not take that approach, and has just ONE box to show with this info.
Maybe a tooltip could work? :)
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2021
Messages
106 (0.23/day)
Ideally, there should be TWO labels/boxes for this - one for larger generation/GPU type - in this case, Polaris XX (where XX is the Polaris 12/21/etc numbers) - and one for the lesser, exact variant, in this case Baffin/Baffin LE/etc. This will clearly avoid much of the current ambiguity.

But I know GPU-Z did not take that approach, and has just ONE box to show with this info.
Maybe a tooltip could work? :)
Have you mentioned a similar idea before? GPUZ on the AMD/NVIDIA GPU part
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
995 (0.23/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Yes, I have.
But I was obviously told there is room for only 1 such line/box, not 2 of them. :)
GPU-Z has a fairly small window that came from times of 800x600, 1024x768 resolutions, so a lot can fit, but not everything. :)

On the other hand, @W1zzard has told us previously that a radically new, reworked GUI version of GPU-Z is being considered at some point in the future. :)
So, maybe something for that one.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2021
Messages
106 (0.23/day)
Yes, I have.
But I was obviously told there is room for only 1 such line/box, not 2 of them. :)
GPU-Z has a fairly small window that came from times of 800x600, 1024x768 resolutions, so a lot can fit, but not everything. :)

On the other hand, @W1zzard has told us previously that a radically new, reworked GUI version of GPU-Z is being considered at some point in the future. :)
So, maybe something for that one.
I have an idea. How about moving this part to GPU Z Advanced?

@W1zzard is there a way

The original ones are not modified, and additionally added in the GPU Z advanced

Yes, I have.
But I was obviously told there is room for only 1 such line/box, not 2 of them. :)
GPU-Z has a fairly small window that came from times of 800x600, 1024x768 resolutions, so a lot can fit, but not everything. :)

On the other hand, @W1zzard has told us previously that a radically new, reworked GUI version of GPU-Z is being considered at some point in the future. :)
So, maybe something for that one.
I think it's a good idea and wonder if it could be implemented differently in the current GPUZ
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2021
Messages
106 (0.23/day)
Add in the General column of GPUZ
 

Attachments

  • -15badc1d03464b18.jpg
    -15badc1d03464b18.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 11
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
995 (0.23/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Top