• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z Not Showing Exact Model

Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
361 (0.07/day)
Location
Istanbul/Turkey
System Name GS43VR 7RE
Processor Core i7 7700HQ
Motherboard MSI GS43VR 7RE
Cooling Stock
Memory 8 GB DDR4 2400 MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung 950 PRO
Display(s) 14" IPS
Case Metal
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 898
Power Supply Adapter
Mouse Rival 100
Keyboard SteelSeries
Software Windows 10 Version 1703
There is this thing I hate about AMD's GPU branding: they usually do not state the exact model!

I have an RX Vega 56 but just like the Device Manager, DxDiag and Radeon Settings, GPU-Z shows the card as "Radeon RX Vega".

I think GPU-Z should stop this AMD branding at give users the exact model information, just like here: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/radeon-rx-vega-56.c2993

The situation is worse on some other GPUs. There are cards like R7 200 series or something...

Please do not use AMD's branding approach.

Thanks.

1585404444959.png
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
714 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
If you click Lookup button, what happens?
Does it lead you to a correct, specific page, or a general one? :)

Please note there is nothing wrong with the way GPU-Z shows info about AMD Radeon R7/R9 2xx/3xx, RX 4xx cards. (I have 1-2 of each here - R7 260X, R9 290, R9 390, RX 480. :) )
No access to Vegas here, so not too sure on those but I think same thing applies - even if the Graphics Card tab info is too vague as shown in your screenshot, clicking the Lookup button leads to a correct, detailed vendor/model GPU info page. :)
So, what you are asking has been asked about before, and reply is - it is fine, by design - no changes planned in this feature/aspect of main GPU-Z window, I am afraid.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,467 (0.62/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
There is this thing I hate about AMD's GPU branding: they usually do not state the exact model!

I have an RX Vega 56 but just like the Device Manager, DxDiag and Radeon Settings, GPU-Z shows the card as "Radeon RX Vega".

I think GPU-Z should stop this AMD branding at give users the exact model information, just like here: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/radeon-rx-vega-56.c2993

The situation is worse on some other GPUs. There are cards like R7 200 series or something...

Please do not use AMD's branding approach.

Thanks.

Been that way for years now with AMD cards, there's nothing we ourselves can do about it.
Even at least as far back as the 6000 series cards (HD 6870 from 10 years ago for example) it shows the basic family it belongs to.... And that's it.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,425 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Cant you just change the name in the bios? :)

It would be nice if it were a bit more detailed, but, this comes from the bios iirc, so, amd.
The card name that you see in Windows is defined in the graphics driver (inf file).

GPU-Z shows the same Name as Windows Device Manager. Lookup Button in gpu-z should get you all additional details
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
714 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Been that way for years now with AMD cards, there's nothing we ourselves can do about it.
Even at least as far back as the 6000 series cards (HD 6870 from 10 years ago for example) it shows the basic family it belongs to.... And that's it.
Actually, 1 option exists - move to another program that shows this better. :)
OR use 2 side by side - GPU-Z for most uses, and the 2nd/other one for detailed AMD Radeon info.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,520 (4.61/day)
The card name that you see in Windows is defined in the graphics driver (inf file).

GPU-Z shows the same Name as Windows Device Manager. Lookup Button in gpu-z should get you all additional details
So, still AMD.. but from the drivers. Can't you overwrite the name in the driver, then? How do the fake cards manage to do it and GPUz detect it?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,425 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Can't you overwrite the name in the driver
Yeah just edit the inf file with a text editor, thats why some fake cards require you install the driver that comes with the card
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
361 (0.07/day)
Location
Istanbul/Turkey
System Name GS43VR 7RE
Processor Core i7 7700HQ
Motherboard MSI GS43VR 7RE
Cooling Stock
Memory 8 GB DDR4 2400 MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung 950 PRO
Display(s) 14" IPS
Case Metal
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 898
Power Supply Adapter
Mouse Rival 100
Keyboard SteelSeries
Software Windows 10 Version 1703
Been that way for years now with AMD cards, there's nothing we ourselves can do about it.
Even at least as far back as the 6000 series cards (HD 6870 from 10 years ago for example) it shows the basic family it belongs to.... And that's it.
Yepp. I know and I hate this long term branding approach.

The card name that you see in Windows is defined in the graphics driver (inf file).

GPU-Z shows the same Name as Windows Device Manager. Lookup Button in gpu-z should get you all additional details
Yes it does but why shoould click on a button to learn my GPU if I have downloaded GPU-Z to tell it to me?
 
Top