• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Grey screen freeze when running 4k monitor with DSC and freesync enabled

Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
System Name You can't handle the cores!
Processor Intel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1GHZ all core load (8c 16t)
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 240mm
Memory 32GB Corsair 3200mhz C16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate (XTXH)
Storage 256GB WD Black NVME drive, 4TB across various SSDs/NVMEs, 4TB HDD
Display(s) Asus 32" PG32QUX (4k 144hz IPS with freesync & gsync)
Case Corsair 760T
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed on powerplay mousemat
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Wireless Vive Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
I've recently upgraded to using a new graphics card and my new monitor arrived yesterday. I am hoping to figure out if I have a hardware or software defect with this issue before my new hardware exists my return window.

Summary

My graphics card is a Powercolor RX 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate, and is on the OC bios, although this happens with or without overclock. I don't have any issues on my old 1440p 144hz monitor (not freesync), and running benchmarks and such don't have any issues.

I am getting a grey screen with scattered small horizontal blue lines when trying to play games at 4k 144hz with Freesync enabled on my Asus PG32UQX monitor (although it's a G-sync module it supports freesync over DP). If I disable freesync or lower the refresh rate to 120hz then I do not experience any issues. If the monitor is running at 120hz then DSC is disabled, so it looks like it may be a DSC + Freesync issue. The PC continues to run in the background with game audio playing correctly, so it looks like it is the display output that is broken. Restarting the monitor does not fix it and I need to do a hard system restart to get output back. I have tested many combinations of settings and it is the combination of 144hz/DSC and Freesync that is the culprit. This applies with or without overclocking enabled, and all of my software & drivers are fully up to date.

I reached out to AMD and Asus as I hope it is a software bug. Asus's immediate reply was saying to RMA but it doesn't sound like they understand the issue at all (they basically said "so you're having a connectivity issue - we can RMA for you"). No reply from AMD but I don't know if they reply to bug reports..
 

ring0r

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2021
Messages
3 (0.60/day)
Hey, ive got exactly the same issue, thats funny because we got the same problem with the same hardware, i hope after that months you have solved the issue? Ive tried literally everything but i have still the same issue. Ive only found out that when you disable HDCP Support on AMD Driver the (Grey-White Screen with artefacts get to an Screen Freezer)
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
3,191 (3.16/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Have you checked multiple cables?
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
System Name You can't handle the cores!
Processor Intel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1GHZ all core load (8c 16t)
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 240mm
Memory 32GB Corsair 3200mhz C16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate (XTXH)
Storage 256GB WD Black NVME drive, 4TB across various SSDs/NVMEs, 4TB HDD
Display(s) Asus 32" PG32QUX (4k 144hz IPS with freesync & gsync)
Case Corsair 760T
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed on powerplay mousemat
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Wireless Vive Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hey, ive got exactly the same issue, thats funny because we got the same problem with the same hardware, i hope after that months you have solved the issue? Ive tried literally everything but i have still the same issue. Ive only found out that when you disable HDCP Support on AMD Driver the (Grey-White Screen with artefacts get to an Screen Freezer)
So I fixed it using CRU to change the freesync range for the monitor. I adjusted it to work between 5 and 140hz and it has fixed the issue. My suspicion is that at the very bottom and very top of the range there is a chance the driver can request the refresh too quickly or too slowly for the monitor to handle. I've not had a single issue since doing this, and at those two fps ranges freesync won't make any difference.
 

ring0r

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2021
Messages
3 (0.60/day)
Have you checked multiple cables?
I also tried a new cable but it was unsuccessful.
So I fixed it using CRU to change the freesync range for the monitor. I adjusted it to work between 5 and 140hz and it has fixed the issue. My suspicion is that at the very bottom and very top of the range there is a chance the driver can request the refresh too quickly or too slowly for the monitor to handle. I've not had a single issue since doing this, and at those two fps ranges freesync won't make any difference.
That sounds good. Can you briefly explain again what exactly you did? CRU Custom Resolution Utility? Have you tried the Radeon software too? I would be very happy about a short HowTo

I changed the V-Range with CRU to 5-140 but then Freesync is no longer activated (you can see it on the FPS counter on the monitor). Did I forget something?
 
Last edited:

ring0r

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2021
Messages
3 (0.60/day)
Hey, you didn't write if you FPS are still displayed on the OLED, because if not, FreeSync is definitely not active but I was able to solve the problem, if your Freesync is not active you can contact me.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
System Name You can't handle the cores!
Processor Intel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1GHZ all core load (8c 16t)
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 240mm
Memory 32GB Corsair 3200mhz C16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate (XTXH)
Storage 256GB WD Black NVME drive, 4TB across various SSDs/NVMEs, 4TB HDD
Display(s) Asus 32" PG32QUX (4k 144hz IPS with freesync & gsync)
Case Corsair 760T
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed on powerplay mousemat
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Wireless Vive Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Thanks - been out of the house for a few days so not tested it. I have the mini oled off as I can't turn the rog logo flash off which drives me nuts. Have you managed to disable the logo on the oled?
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
System Name You can't handle the cores!
Processor Intel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1GHZ all core load (8c 16t)
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 240mm
Memory 32GB Corsair 3200mhz C16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate (XTXH)
Storage 256GB WD Black NVME drive, 4TB across various SSDs/NVMEs, 4TB HDD
Display(s) Asus 32" PG32QUX (4k 144hz IPS with freesync & gsync)
Case Corsair 760T
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed on powerplay mousemat
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Wireless Vive Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hey, you didn't write if you FPS are still displayed on the OLED, because if not, FreeSync is definitely not active but I was able to solve the problem, if your Freesync is not active you can contact me.

Got around to testing it - I have 2 issues - the OSD is showing my fps capped at 144 even in a game where I'm getting 50fps, so it seems Freesync may not be working? My other issue is the OLED is showing 0 or 144, even when it should be 144 solid, so I have no idea how it's calculating the framerate..

Any tips on how you got your freesync working?
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,246 (4.94/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
System Name You can't handle the cores!
Processor Intel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1GHZ all core load (8c 16t)
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 240mm
Memory 32GB Corsair 3200mhz C16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX 6900 XT Red Devil Ultimate (XTXH)
Storage 256GB WD Black NVME drive, 4TB across various SSDs/NVMEs, 4TB HDD
Display(s) Asus 32" PG32QUX (4k 144hz IPS with freesync & gsync)
Case Corsair 760T
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed on powerplay mousemat
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Wireless Vive Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Got around to testing it - I have 2 issues - the OSD is showing my fps capped at 144 even in a game where I'm getting 50fps, so it seems Freesync may not be working? My other issue is the OLED is showing 0 or 144, even when it should be 144 solid, so I have no idea how it's calculating the framerate..

Any tips on how you got your freesync working?
Ok so Freesync was not working, hence the issues with my OSD. I can't figure out how to get it working with the modified Freesync range so @ring0r any advice on how to fix that would be appreciated :)
 
Top