• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX Titan Black or 2x R9 290X Crossfire for CAD

Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#1
Hi, I am getting a desktop primarily for video editing and 3D modeling/animation, but gaming performance is also desired, so the Quadro line can be ruled out. There are two options in my budget, one Titan Black, or two R9 290X GPUs in Crossfire.
My question is, which exhibits better performance in CAD (not gaming)?

Oh, and the Tesla K20 is not a card I have, but a card I would buy if I were the founder of the company that makes the operating system this computer would run.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,654 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,903
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#2
Titan Black pretty much is a Tesla K20, without ECC and the appropriate software that makes Tesla a 'compute' specific card.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#3
So you are suggesting the Titan? Or was that just a comment?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#4
Have you considered 780 Ti's by any chance
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,177 (0.83/day)
Likes
529
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#6
I will check it out. However, correct me if I'm wrong, the 780 Ti, while a bit better at gaming, is less CAD and HPC oriented.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#7
Ok, I checked it out. A 780 Ti SLI will add an extra $200. But is the extra cost worth it? And is it good for CAD and 3D?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#8
CrossFire + CAD = no go. However, a single 290x will be more than enough. I wouldn't even consider the Titan Black due to it's price and the fact it really doesn't perform any better in this situation.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#9
CrossFire + CAD = no go. However, a single 290x will be more than enough. I wouldn't even consider the Titan Black due to it's price and the fact it really doesn't perform any better in this situation.
I have three questions, first, why doesn't Crossfire work well with CAD, second, would a 780 Ti SLI be worth the extra $200 my desired price?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#10
From reading various other forums and people's experiences, it just doesn't work. Plus, you won't come close to full GPU utilization with any card until you start rendering. No, the 780ti or 780ti in SLI isn't worth it. Especially considering the neutered drivers for Nvidia's gaming cards when it comes to CAD. I really see no reason for you to need more than one GPU.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#11
From reading various other forums and people's experiences, it just doesn't work. Plus, you won't come close to full GPU utilization with any card until you start rendering. No, the 780ti or 780ti in SLI isn't worth it. Especially considering the neutered drivers for Nvidia's gaming cards when it comes to CAD. I really see no reason for you to need more than one GPU.
Perhaps you're right. I am currently using a laptop with an old, weak GPU (the 540m), so maybe I'm just so worried about GPU performance too much that the options I set for myself are overkill.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#12
Another question: Z97 or X79?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.71/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#13
If you dont need more cores,ram slots,pci lanes then Z97,if you do then X79.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#14
CrossFire + CAD = no go. However, a single 290x will be more than enough. I wouldn't even consider the Titan Black due to it's price and the fact it really doesn't perform any better in this situation.
If I get an AMD card, will PhysX based dynamic simulations still work? Will they fail? Or will they simply use a different "computing system" to achieve the same result?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,111 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,294
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#15
i thought the whole point of titan was to bridge the gap between gaming and workstations (cad/ compression/ graphic design, etc) The R9 290X may be in that same range gaming wise while being a whole lot cheaper; however, cad wise it should get it's butt handled to it by the titan. Otherwise wtf was the point of the titan?
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
118 (0.09/day)
Likes
39
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99-A
Cooling Cryorig R1
Memory 16GB Corsair DDR4-2800
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix GTX1080 A8G
Storage 512GB Samsung 951 NVME, plus a few older Samsung SATA SSD's
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Corsair AX850
#16
When you say you're interested in 3D modeling/animation, are you referring to Autodesk software? I only ask because I thought that as far as GPU accelerated rendering in software like 3DS MAX, that it did not support AMD cards. They use Mental Ray rendering which requires an NVidia card. I apologize if I am wrong about this... but I was taking 3DSMax in school and when I would render out a scene I had to do it with software rendering on the CPU only as none of the other options supported my Radeon 6950. (I believe Revit also did not support my card for accelerating a walkthrough rendering video) Perhaps there is now a plug in or something that supports AMD cards? But it didn't support it natively. Again, sorry if I am wrong about this., I'm guessing other users on the forums may know better than I and can correct me if I'm wrong.. But perhaps look into it before spending big on a GPU.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#17
If I get an AMD card, will PhysX based dynamic simulations still work? Will they fail? Or will they simply use a different "computing system" to achieve the same result?
They will still work, but they will be done, incredibly slowly, on the CPU instead. PhysX is NVidia only.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Dell Precision Tower 7910
Processor Xeon E5 2637 v3 (Quad Core, 3.5 GHz Base)
Motherboard Dual Socket LSI
Memory 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury 4GB
Storage 240 GB SSD, 1 TB 7200 RPM
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Recon3D PCIe
#18
When you say you're interested in 3D modeling/animation, are you referring to Autodesk software? I only ask because I thought that as far as GPU accelerated rendering in software like 3DS MAX, that it did not support AMD cards. They use Mental Ray rendering which requires an NVidia card. I apologize if I am wrong about this... but I was taking 3DSMax in school and when I would render out a scene I had to do it with software rendering on the CPU only as none of the other options supported my Radeon 6950. (I believe Revit also did not support my card for accelerating a walkthrough rendering video) Perhaps there is now a plug in or something that supports AMD cards? But it didn't support it natively. Again, sorry if I am wrong about this., I'm guessing other users on the forums may know better than I and can correct me if I'm wrong.. But perhaps look into it before spending big on a GPU.
I dont use Autodesk very often. My main workhorse is Blender, whose cycles renderer supports openCl. I also use Adobe.