• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX680 3-way SLI w/ 2-way bridges

Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Marietta, GA
Processor Intel 3930K
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula
Cooling Corsair H-100
Memory 16G Mushkin Redline 2133
Video Card(s) 4 x MSI GTX680 FROZR III/OC
Storage OCZ Vertex3 240G - Intel 520 240GB
Display(s) 3x BenQ 2420TX
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion 5
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 Professional 64bit
#1
I have an ASUS Rampage Formula 2011 with two MSI GTX680 FROZR cards. I just bought a third 680 and tried to install the 3-way bridge that came with my MB. It will not fit because the fan shrouds prevent the 3-way bridge from fitting down on the card slots. I've seen other folks use three 2-way bridges (which is what I want to do), but I've seen two different layouts for the connections and don't know which one is correct. Also, I can't find a spot on any site that shows how it's done on 600 series cards, only older models. Anyway, here's what I've seen:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/2403

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?169509-Home-made-3-Way-SLI-results

I appreciate any help you can give! Don't know if it will, but I don't want to mess up one of my cards by wiring them wrong...
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#2
Both layouts are correct. As long as there are bridges connecting cards 1 and 2, cards 2 and 3, and a long one connecting cards 1 and 3, it will work. Orientation of the bridges does not matter.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
836
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#3
I have an ASUS Rampage Formula 2011 with two MSI GTX680 FROZR cards. I just bought a third 680 and tried to install the 3-way bridge that came with my MB. It will not fit because the fan shrouds prevent the 3-way bridge from fitting down on the card slots. I've seen other folks use three 2-way bridges (which is what I want to do), but I've seen two different layouts for the connections and don't know which one is correct. Also, I can't find a spot on any site that shows how it's done on 600 series cards, only older models. Anyway, here's what I've seen:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/2403

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?169509-Home-made-3-Way-SLI-results

I appreciate any help you can give! Don't know if it will, but I don't want to mess up one of my cards by wiring them wrong...
I have seen pics of people using 3 way sli with 2 way bridges. However when I tried using 3 way sli with my GTX 680's my system failed to see the 3 cards (It only saw 2 cards). I tried 6 different bridges with the same result and so I know it wasn't because the SLI bridges were broke. I am sure there could have been another reason like for example like Drivers.

But I mention it because it maybe safer to go with a 3 way sli bridge instead of 3 two way sli bridges. It's just my experience.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#4
I have seen pics of people using 3 way sli with 2 way bridges. However when I tried using 3 way sli with my GTX 680's my system failed to see the 3 cards (It only saw 2 cards). I tried 6 different bridges with the same result and so I know it wasn't because the SLI bridges were broke. I am sure there could have been another reason like for example like Drivers.

But I mention it because it maybe safer to go with a 3 way sli bridge instead of 3 two way sli bridges. It's just my experience.
Funk, if that's the case then you have a few options. Cut or remove that black piece of metal that's causing the problem, run 2-way SLI and return the third card, or change the coolers(watercooling would be your best option there).
Other than those options, seems like you're screwed if 20mmRain is right and 2-way bridges won't run 3-way SLI on 680s.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
836
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#5
Funk, if that's the case then you have a few options. Cut or remove that black piece of metal that's causing the problem, run 2-way SLI and return the third card, or change the coolers(watercooling would be your best option there).
Other than those options, seems like you're screwed if 20mmRain is right and 2-way bridges won't run 3-way SLI on 680s.
Ohh Funk.... I read your post a little closer now and I now see your problem. Like Random Murderer said....If what I said is right for all SLI cards.... then yeah whats listed above are your only options.
However if this is true what a horrible design flaw!

But it seems something like this setup may work if you don't mind the looks....If this is something you would like me to test let me know and I can do it for you since I am using 3 way SLI right now.

32381850.jpg
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#6
Ohh Funk.... I read your post a little closer now and I now see your problem. Like Random Murderer said....If what I said is right for all SLI cards.... then yeah whats listed above are your only options.
However if this is true what a horrible design flaw!

But it seems something like this setup may work if you don't mind the looks....If this is something you would like me to test let me know and I can do it for you since I am using 3 way SLI right now.

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=48146&stc=1&d=1345225251
If you wouldn't mind, I'm actually curious as well.:toast:
I know that setup works for 5-Series cards. Whether it works for 6-Series cards is yet to be seen.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Marietta, GA
Processor Intel 3930K
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula
Cooling Corsair H-100
Memory 16G Mushkin Redline 2133
Video Card(s) 4 x MSI GTX680 FROZR III/OC
Storage OCZ Vertex3 240G - Intel 520 240GB
Display(s) 3x BenQ 2420TX
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion 5
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 Professional 64bit
#7
Thanks for all the feedback. 20MMRain, if you wanna give it a go, I'd appreciate it. I have various brand/lengths of 2-way cables I've either bought or collected through upgrades. I'm going to try them when I get home from work today. If you test too, then maybe we can rule out an additional variable if one works & the other doesn't. Otherwise, I'll reply with the results later today.

Also, I took the fan shround off one of the card last night (absolute nightmare), but it still wouldn't fit. It came very close, but when I pushed the bridge onto the connector it pushed the other side up at an angle. The part that's blocking the bridge with the fan shroud off is the main aluminum arm that mounts to the faceplate and supports the weight of the card. I can't really cut that without making the card unstable. In other words, if the above doesn't work, then I'm out of luck. Someone ought to make a 3-way bridge with longer feet!!!

Thanks again...
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#8
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
836
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#9
If you wouldn't mind, I'm actually curious as well.:toast:
I know that setup works for 5-Series cards. Whether it works for 6-Series cards is yet to be seen.
Thanks for all the feedback. 20MMRain, if you wanna give it a go, I'd appreciate it. I have various brand/lengths of 2-way cables I've either bought or collected through upgrades. I'm going to try them when I get home from work today. If you test too, then maybe we can rule out an additional variable if one works & the other doesn't. Otherwise, I'll reply with the results later today.

Also, I took the fan shround off one of the card last night (absolute nightmare), but it still wouldn't fit. It came very close, but when I pushed the bridge onto the connector it pushed the other side up at an angle. The part that's blocking the bridge with the fan shroud off is the main aluminum arm that mounts to the faceplate and supports the weight of the card. I can't really cut that without making the card unstable. In other words, if the above doesn't work, then I'm out of luck. Someone ought to make a 3-way bridge with longer feet!!!

Thanks again...

Sorry guys it took me so long to get back to you..... But the answer is....

YES it does work in the configuration I listed above.... I am on my computer writing this to you now while my cards are plugged in with that configuration. As soon as I took the 3rd SLI bridge off again it started missing the 3rd card. So I think you have to have either this setup or a 3 way sli bridge for it to work. Otherwise it won't work with just two.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Marietta, GA
Processor Intel 3930K
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula
Cooling Corsair H-100
Memory 16G Mushkin Redline 2133
Video Card(s) 4 x MSI GTX680 FROZR III/OC
Storage OCZ Vertex3 240G - Intel 520 240GB
Display(s) 3x BenQ 2420TX
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion 5
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 Professional 64bit
#10
Thanks for the help! I managed to get it working by following the diagram on the post. :D