• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hard Disk Hot Swap setting in BIOS

Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,826 (1.79/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
I just got a replacement ASUS Z97-A motherboard for a now dead MSI Z97 U3. In the ASUS BIOS, there's a Hot Swap setting for each SATA port. I have a 3-bay HDD cage, and the top of the PC case has a SATA/Power port to quickly plug a drive into. I'm not planning on creating a RAID, already have a NAS for that. And I was going to stick to the default of AHCI mode.

Is there any reason NOT to enable Hot Swap for all of the ports in the BIOS?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
62 (0.50/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Royal 2x16GB
Video Card(s) MSi RTX 3080ti Suprim X
Storage 2TB Corsair MP600 PRO Hydro X
Display(s) Samsung G7 27" x2
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
The only reason to enable the hot swap option is if you intend to hot swap drives for that port. Hot swapping is removing/inserting a drive while the computer is running. That top port could use hot swap enabled. For the hdd cage, probably not.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
4,857 (5.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
A good reason to not use hotswap is if you cherish the data on them
Shut down and disconnect.

I use easy swap 2.5" ssd/ hdd trays and still don't disconnect when running.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,035 (0.38/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
frist time i saw it, years ago during core duo, i enabled it thinking you never know if it comes in handy.

but yeah never had reason to swap HD's while in the OS so never bothered again.

however never seemed to make a bandwidth/latency difference(or anything else).

enable/disable for your use case.

e: did i say never enough . . :confused:
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
62 (0.50/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Royal 2x16GB
Video Card(s) MSi RTX 3080ti Suprim X
Storage 2TB Corsair MP600 PRO Hydro X
Display(s) Samsung G7 27" x2
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
Hi,
A good reason to not use hotswap is if you cherish the data on them
Shut down and disconnect.

I use easy swap 2.5" ssd/ hdd trays and still don't disconnect when running.
Just work within the limitations of hot swapping and there is no reason to not use it, if you really require it. You can't hot swap the OS drive, for hopefully obvious reasons. If you disable write cache in Windows, you can basically yank the drive at will. But mid write is stupid for any device. With write caching enabled you need to use the same disconnect device function as you should do for usb devices.

If you look at the sata power connector, some pins are longer than others. Those are like that for hot swapping purposes.

Never seen any negative effect on performance of having it enabled. Other than having your drives show in the disconnect device menu if you ever use that to remove a usb device. Hit the wrong disconnect option and you either crash or need a reboot if it is enabled for all your sata devices.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,826 (1.79/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
The only reason to enable the hot swap option is if you intend to hot swap drives for that port. Hot swapping is removing/inserting a drive while the computer is running. That top port could use hot swap enabled. For the hdd cage, probably not.

It's a 3 Bay hot swap cage. I've got stacks of Hard Drives, many of them I don't even know what's on them lol
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
630 (1.12/day)
On my motherboard enabling the hot swap option derates the SATA connection to SATA 2 from SATA 3 (it actually says this in the motherboard manual for that BIOS setting). If I don't enable the hot swap function I don't get the option in Windows to disconnect my eSATA HDD instead I have to uninstall it from device manager before turning it off. I've read the differences between SATA 2 and SATA 3 for HDD's are insignificant from a perf. standpoint.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
15,379 (2.59/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K 1.25vcore
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A Gaming WiFi D4
Cooling EK 360 PE/EK 360 XE/AQ Ultitube 150 D5/Heatkiller IV/Byski full cover GPU block
Memory Teamgroup T-Force Dark Pro 2x16gb 4000 16-16-16-38 DR B 1.45v
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080TI Gaming 11GB Byski full cover water block +200 +575
Storage Silicon Power Gen3x4 256gb M.2, 2 x WD SN850 Gen4x4 1TB M.2, SanDisk PLUS 2TB sata ssd
Display(s) Dell S2721DGFA 27" 1440P 165hz LG Nano IPS 1ms G Sync
Case Lian Li o11 Dynamic XL Rog
Audio Device(s) Cambridge DacMagic 100/Onkyo CR-715/Cambridge Min12 speakers/yamaha Sub
Power Supply Corsair RM750x 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Ducky One 2 Mini Cherry MX brown
Software Win 11 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter https://i.postimg.cc/Z5qyDfJC/20220421-021955.jpg
My board has hot swap, i have been using for one of my old hdd's a 2TB WD green with seemingly no problems at all.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,826 (1.79/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
My board has hot swap, i have been using for one of my old hdd's a 2TB WD green with seemingly no problems at all.

TBH, I've never used it! Do you have to "disconnect" the drive in windows before physically removing it? I'll add that the ASUS Z97-A also has the ability to name each SATA port from the BIOS... I assume the name would show up in the OS.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
4,857 (5.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Just work within the limitations of hot swapping and there is no reason to not use it, if you really require it. You can't hot swap the OS drive, for hopefully obvious reasons. If you disable write cache in Windows, you can basically yank the drive at will. But mid write is stupid for any device. With write caching enabled you need to use the same disconnect device function as you should do for usb devices.

If you look at the sata power connector, some pins are longer than others. Those are like that for hot swapping purposes.

Never seen any negative effect on performance of having it enabled. Other than having your drives show in the disconnect device menu if you ever use that to remove a usb device. Hit the wrong disconnect option and you either crash or need a reboot if it is enabled for all your sata devices.
Hi,
I'm not the op here
But I find it easier to take a couple minutes to restart/ disconnect rather than deal with possible corrupt files and waiting to restore system images because of no telling how many files are messed up after finding one that is.

Personal preference
I only play yank it with usb connected devices but do use safe to remove often instead :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
62 (0.50/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Royal 2x16GB
Video Card(s) MSi RTX 3080ti Suprim X
Storage 2TB Corsair MP600 PRO Hydro X
Display(s) Samsung G7 27" x2
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
TBH, I've never used it! Do you have to "disconnect" the drive in windows before physically removing it? I'll add that the ASUS Z97-A also has the ability to name each SATA port from the BIOS... I assume the name would show up in the OS.
Like I wrote above, that really depends on the write cache setting for the drive. But best practice is absolutely to use the safe remove option. Not just due to less risk for data loss, but it will also spin down the drive before you pull it. If you do the "just pull it out" option the head is not necessarily parked and the platters are still moving. Holding a rotating mass in your hand can be an interesting experience (of which I have some) :p
Hi,
I'm not the op here
But I find it easier to take a couple minutes to restart/ disconnect rather than deal with possible corrupt files and waiting to restore system images because of no telling how many files are messed up after finding one that is.

Personal preference
I only play yank it with usb connected devices but do use safe to remove often instead :laugh:
I have no use for it either. Not personally at least.

I have worked with servers where hot swapping dead drives while the server is running was a necessity.

It's a 3 Bay hot swap cage. I've got stacks of Hard Drives, many of them I don't even know what's on them lol
It's a question of how badly you need to swap drives on the fly. Hot swap will only change when you can change the drives. If you need to do it while the computer is running, leave it enabled. If you can shut down the computer before swapping drives, leave it disabled.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
4,857 (5.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Yeah tough to kill a dead drive unless you drop it and void warranty in that process :laugh:
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
15,379 (2.59/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K 1.25vcore
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A Gaming WiFi D4
Cooling EK 360 PE/EK 360 XE/AQ Ultitube 150 D5/Heatkiller IV/Byski full cover GPU block
Memory Teamgroup T-Force Dark Pro 2x16gb 4000 16-16-16-38 DR B 1.45v
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080TI Gaming 11GB Byski full cover water block +200 +575
Storage Silicon Power Gen3x4 256gb M.2, 2 x WD SN850 Gen4x4 1TB M.2, SanDisk PLUS 2TB sata ssd
Display(s) Dell S2721DGFA 27" 1440P 165hz LG Nano IPS 1ms G Sync
Case Lian Li o11 Dynamic XL Rog
Audio Device(s) Cambridge DacMagic 100/Onkyo CR-715/Cambridge Min12 speakers/yamaha Sub
Power Supply Corsair RM750x 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Ducky One 2 Mini Cherry MX brown
Software Win 11 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter https://i.postimg.cc/Z5qyDfJC/20220421-021955.jpg
TBH, I've never used it! Do you have to "disconnect" the drive in windows before physically removing it? I'll add that the ASUS Z97-A also has the ability to name each SATA port from the BIOS... I assume the name would show up in the OS.

I just pull it, and if i need it, slot it back in
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi,
A good reason to not use hotswap is if you cherish the data on them
Shut down and disconnect.

I use easy swap 2.5" ssd/ hdd trays and still don't disconnect when running.
You still have to use the disconnect icon in the taskbar like USB Drives
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
4,857 (5.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
You still have to use the disconnect icon in the taskbar like USB Drives
Hi,
Well I do disable hibernation in cmd with powercfg -h off so I've not had any issues seeing shut down now is actually shut down.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi,
Well I do disable hibernation in cmd with powercfg -h off so I've not had any issues seeing shut down now is actually shut down.
Im saying if you want to hotswap them.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
15,379 (2.59/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K 1.25vcore
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A Gaming WiFi D4
Cooling EK 360 PE/EK 360 XE/AQ Ultitube 150 D5/Heatkiller IV/Byski full cover GPU block
Memory Teamgroup T-Force Dark Pro 2x16gb 4000 16-16-16-38 DR B 1.45v
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080TI Gaming 11GB Byski full cover water block +200 +575
Storage Silicon Power Gen3x4 256gb M.2, 2 x WD SN850 Gen4x4 1TB M.2, SanDisk PLUS 2TB sata ssd
Display(s) Dell S2721DGFA 27" 1440P 165hz LG Nano IPS 1ms G Sync
Case Lian Li o11 Dynamic XL Rog
Audio Device(s) Cambridge DacMagic 100/Onkyo CR-715/Cambridge Min12 speakers/yamaha Sub
Power Supply Corsair RM750x 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Ducky One 2 Mini Cherry MX brown
Software Win 11 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter https://i.postimg.cc/Z5qyDfJC/20220421-021955.jpg
I don't have the option to safely remove, i thought that was a USB only thing.
 
Top