• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HD 5850 GDDR5 types.

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#1
So, I just took one of my Diamond HD 5850's apart to have a look at what kind of GDDR5 it's using so I would know what kind of overclocks to expect. I have the same RAM as the 5870 but I just want to make sure of something. Does the vram need any kind of voltage or timing tweaks if I want to go 1250+ mhz on it? Pic of my card's RAM in the attatchment. Can anyone else with a HD 5850 confirm that other types (brands) of GDDR5 is used?
 

Attachments

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#2
Mine has Qimonda. Sapphire 5850. The voltages for DDR5 is different between the 5850 and the 5870.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#3
I have the SAME ICs on my HD5770. I was able to net 5200Mhz stable w/o Heatsinks on them... I believe they will benefit greatly if you have HS's on them.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Ok, so just go for it and see what I get. From searching around I take it there is no way to adjust the ddr5 voltage?
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#5
There is, but you can't do it with RBE. XFX and ASUS found a way, but you need to have their ID. XFX's voltage tool can't be used in a 64 bit environment. It's a huge hassle.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Thanks for the info! :toast: I'll just take what I can get, it's not like it's necessary for me to do it anyways, just testing the waters.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2009
Messages
276 (0.09/day)
Likes
33
#7
Qimonda would definitely make sense.

Xbit labs usually takes the cover off and looks at the brand of chips when they do product reviews.
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.16/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#8
The GDDR on my XFX 5850 is Samsung... And 1300MHz is definitely its ceiling :/
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#9
I have a HIS 5850 running Samsung here. However I haven't gone past 1125.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#10
I have the SAME ICs on my HD5770. I was able to net 5200Mhz stable w/o Heatsinks on them... I believe they will benefit greatly if you have HS's on them.
5400Mhz (5.4 from 4.8) is my max stable with HS's on them. :) 5,441Mhz DDR at least I think.. trying different ways of OC'n.

EDIT-
If I keep the fanspeed nominally high, they attain the original OC I had on them of 5680 DDR. The max stable as stated in prev sentence is if the fan is left at factory default speeds.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
424 (0.10/day)
Likes
94
Location
Morrow, Oh
System Name N7
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600 @ 4.0Ghz @1.4v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling EKWB custom loop
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB @ 3200Mhz @ 22,22,22,40
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 64
Storage Patriot BLAST 240gig, Samsung 840 series 250 gig, WD Green 1tb
Display(s) Acer XF270H
Case Bitfenix Pandora ATX
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike 18099
#11
I've got Samsung on my Diamond 5770. And at 1350mhz my computer crashes.