• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDMI monitor disappears from playback devices

cly

Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
Processor i5 6600
Motherboard Gigabyte Gaming 3
Cooling Hyper 212
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Display(s) LG 34UC88-B 34-Inch 1440
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply EVGA 650G2
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I have a LG ultrawide monitor plugged in to an AMD RX580 graphics card via HDMI. I use the monitor's speakers. However, on almost a daily basis the monitor disappears from the list of audio playback devices so the speakers do not work. I have to unplug/replug the hdmi cable from the monitor to get it to work again. This computer is also used to login in remotely to work PC using remote desktop connection. Not sure if this is having an affect but seems to be correlated. All drivers are up to date. Any ideas?

If i can't fix ill just have to buy computer speakers. Just annoying that this is happening in the first place.

Thank you
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,628 (1.32/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
This computer is also used to login in remotely to work PC using remote desktop connection. Not sure if this is having an affect but seems to be correlated.
What is suggesting to you remote desktop is involved?

Have you tried a different cable?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,296 (4.09/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Probably AMD's funky drivers. Or monitor's.

Does the playback device disappear from device manager as well when it acts up? Have you seen anything in Event Viewer?
 

cly

Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
Processor i5 6600
Motherboard Gigabyte Gaming 3
Cooling Hyper 212
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Display(s) LG 34UC88-B 34-Inch 1440
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply EVGA 650G2
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 64 bit
What is suggesting to you remote desktop is involved?

Have you tried a different cable?
That is what i was suggesting. Like maybe the remote desktop is somehow making the local PC not see the monitor as a playback device. Have no idea if that was possible.

Probably AMD's funky drivers. Or monitor's.

Does the playback device disappear from device manager as well when it acts up? Have you seen anything in Event Viewer?
I will check this next time it happens. How do I look at the Event Viewer?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,296 (4.09/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
I will check this next time it happens. How do I look at the Event Viewer?
Win+Q, type in event viewer, open the app and browse.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Location
Oz down under
System Name K9
Processor i7 7700K @ 5.1Ghz and 32deg C
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Z270X Gaming 9
Cooling Custom water cooling loop - GPU + mobo + CPU
Memory G Skill - Trident Z RGB DDR4 - 3866Mhz x 32Gb @ 3800Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 11Gb GTX 1080 Ti Waterforce Extreme
Storage Samsung 500Gb M2 970 EVO + Samsung 850 Pro SSD + ADATA 512Gb SSD + Samsung 1Tb & 3T +WD 1Tb + WD 3Tb
Display(s) ASUS 27" ROG Swift 1440p @ 165Hz & BenQ 27" LED
Case Thermaltake Core P5 - Open frame
Audio Device(s) 7.2 ch on board - Logitech Z906 5.1ch
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Mouse Roccat LeadR
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores v/fast
hi,
I had the same problem ages ago with my work laptop used for telecommuting/work from home.

Laptop had - Display port & VGA out.

Resolution = Display port (Laptop) to DVI cable on BenQ monitor + VGA (Laptop) to Powered (USB) converter to HDMI on ROG monitor.

The original VGA to HDMI cable wouldn't work = it required a powered converter

hope this helps
 
Top