• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HDTV As Monitor Advice?

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#1
Currently I use a 32" Sharp Aquos 1080p HDTV as my computer's monitor. I've had this for about a year and it's been great and lately I've been thinking of upgrading to a bigger screen. I have two in mind but I'm not really sure what to go with, and I'd like to decide and order soon.

There's a 40" 1080p 60hz from Sceptre for $500,
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16889112027

There's also a 46" 1080p 120hz from Sceptre for $700,
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16889112034

I took out a measuring tape to see exactly what the view would look like while sitting in my computer chair, it seems like either will be nice. I'm pretty sure anything over the 46" would be too much. I'd be at the point where I literally have to turn my head to look at different parts of the screen.

I have a friend wanting to buy the screen I'm using now for $300, which is about the price I could sell it for according to the auctions on ebay. So upgrading to a 40" would essentially cost $200, upgrading to the 46" 120hz would be $400.

I do a lot of computer gaming, and to be honest I don't really know the difference between 60Hz and 120Hz. nVidia has some product for $200 that comes with 3D glasses and turns games into 3D which seems interesting, that requires a 120Hz screen. Though I'm using a 4870X2 from ATI right now so that's not a possibility anyway. Any thoughts or input to help me make a decision would be greatly appreciated.
 

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217 (0.38/day)
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#2
if you have your mind set on using a tv for a monitior why not use a plasma?
Newegg
a friend of mine has one and the picture is amazing and before anyone screams burn in he games on it 24/7 and the screen looks the same as the day he bought it :toast:
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#3
Yeah I wasn't really concerned about burn in, from things I've read the newer screens coming out now aren't really affected by it. The cost however is a slight issue, $865 is a little beyond my budget, I was really hoping to spend $700 at most. In terms of using an HDTV as a computer monitor, do Plasma's produce a hugely different image quality than LCD's? For $700 I could get a 46" screen with 120Hz, whatever that means. The plasma is $865 and 42", but like I said I don't know how much better the image quality would be.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,360
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Just as an FYI, most 120Hz HDTVs(all that I've seen) still only allow you to set 60Hz as the refresth rate, and internally double it to 120Hz, they will not accept a 120Hz signal. The same goes for those 240Hz screens, they only accept 60Hz signals and quadruple it.
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#5
I'm not even sure I want a new screen to be honest. I've just been bored lately and figured buying something new would keep me entertained for a little bit. Everything I played in the past already would be shiny, new and exciting on a bigger screen. But instead of buying a bigger screen couldn't I just replicate the same effect by moving my 32" closer to me? I keep it like 2-3 feet away. I imagine moving it closer would give me the same effect as buying a larger screen kept farther away. This usually happens to me this time of the year, I've got cash to burn and try to find something to entertain me.
 

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217 (0.38/day)
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#6
if your bored why not get yourself one of these and one of these? Hell if you sell that 4870X2 you can get a second one of these
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#7

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#8
Well, I have a 4870X2 already and a 32" 1080p screen. Those seem like silly buys. I really need a hobby or something, something to keep myself busy lol. I used to go to this card shop nearby and played Magic and Yugioh with people there but it closed down. All I'm left with is online gaming but even that gets boring. I wish I found console games interesting but for the most part I don't =/ I guess I'll figure something out. Thanks for the help though.
 

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217 (0.38/day)
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#9
lol start a savings account then start investing....buying selling trading oh my :p
i would be rich by now if that was my hobby instead of building rigs :shadedshu
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#11
Why not get an LED Monitor. Much better picture quality than your Aquos. We've got one downstairs and it looks much better than my monitor (Aquos aswell)