• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hello I think to overclock my screen it smart to do?

Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
30 (0.52/day)
Hello I think to overclock my screen it smart to do?
my screen is samsung s24d300

I afraid for bad thinks and don't see a lot of info on internet hope for your help
thank guys !
 
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
297 (0.17/day)
System Name DUX
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard MSI X570 Gaming Plus
Cooling Fortron Windale 6 blue LED
Memory Crucial Balistix Sport 3800MHz CL16,19,19,39
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage ADATA 512GB M.2
Case Zalman Z1 NEO
Audio Device(s) Kingston HyperX Cloud II
Power Supply Corsair TX850 Gold
Most 60Hz LCD's will OC to 70-75Hz. I overclocked 3 of them. Never had any issues.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,946 (1.99/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Hello I think to overclock my screen it smart to do?
my screen is samsung s24d300

I afraid for bad thinks and don't see a lot of info on internet hope for your help
thank guys !

Better yet buy a new fast Hz monitor, they don't have to cost that much.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,009 (2.87/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
I don't think you can break a monitor by trying for higher resolutions. it will either work, or not work.

The worst-case scenario is you get your PC stuck in a mode that the monitor can't handle, at which point you need to use safe mode and fully uninstall the monitor from device manager.
 

Gruffalo.Soldier

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,783 (2.17/day)
I don't think you can break a monitor by trying for higher resolutions. it will either work, or not work.

The worst-case scenario is you get your PC stuck in a mode that the monitor can't handle, at which point you need to use safe mode and fully uninstall the monitor from device manager.

had Same problem, safe mode, uninstall video driver and it reboots to default m$ driver.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
30 (0.52/day)
Most 60Hz LCD's will OC to 70-75Hz. I overclocked 3 of them. Never had any issues.
and nothing happened to the screens ?

Better yet buy a new fast Hz monitor, they don't have to cost that much.
it cost a lot and i won't invest for now on FHD in future i'll buy 4K screen

I don't think you can break a monitor by trying for higher resolutions. it will either work, or not work.

The worst-case scenario is you get your PC stuck in a mode that the monitor can't handle, at which point you need to use safe mode and fully uninstall the monitor from device manager.
buy I can kill my monitor right?
or even kill some pixels
 
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
464 (1.96/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, 2x XD5 pump/res, Heatkiller IV SB block for chipset
Memory 4x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) ASUS RTX 3070 TUF OC
Storage Corsair Force LE SSD 500GB, Fusion IoDrive 2 1TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB, 11TB on server used for steam
Display(s) 1x Dell U2913WM 2560x1080 75Hz, 1x BENQ XL2411Z 1920x1080 100Hz, 1x Acer XB1 xb271hu 2560x1440 144Hz
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 2004
and nothing happened to the screens ?
buy I can kill my monitor right?
or even kill some pixels
Nothing will happen physically to the monitor. It'll just not accept the signal.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,009 (2.87/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
and nothing happened to the screens ?


it cost a lot and i won't invest for now on FHD in future i'll buy 4K screen


buy I can kill my monitor right?
or even kill some pixels
I've never heard of anyone killing their monitor. Like @kayjay010101 says, it will just not accept the signal and either display a message saying "signal out of range" or show a scrambled/distorted image.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
30 (0.52/day)
and nothing happened to the screens ?


it cost a lot and i won't invest for now on FHD in future i'll buy 4K screen


buy I can kill my monitor right?
or even kill some pixels


so if I do from 60hz to 80hz-90hz I can be relax and don't worry about bad thinks?

if I do it have more electricity on the screen it isn't problem?

Nothing will happen physically to the monitor. It'll just not accept the signal.
one reply up^
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,245 (0.31/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor R5 1600 Pinnacle Ridge @ 3,9Ghz || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard B450 I AORUS PRO WIFI || default
Cooling Corsair H100i + frankenstein loop || Stock
Memory 2x16GB G Skill @ 3200MHz || 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Vega 56 under EKWB UV @ 1700Mhz+ 1030HBM || RX 560X
Storage Samsung 960 Evo + Striped Tiered Storage Space (2x 128Gb SSD + 2x 1TB HDD) || 128GB SSD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Power Supply Thermaltake 700W || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Nothing will happen physically to the monitor. It'll just not accept the signal.
Can confirm, also overclocked a bunch of monitors. Works on most of them and if it doesnt, the screen will simply not work but won't get damaged. The CRU program usually used for this has a nice utility to reset to defaults and as other have said, when all else fails you can just uninstall the monitor via safe more.

If it is an option for you, I'd use a 2nd monitor (as your main monitor for the duration of testing) so that you can use that monitor to reset the monitor you are overclocking in case it won't show an image. Can save you a lot of hassle, if it's an option ofc.

so if I do from 60hz to 80hz-90hz I can be relax and don't worry about bad thinks?

if I do it have more electricity on the screen it isn't problem?


one reply up^
I'd try to overclock in small steps only, and poweruse will probably not noticeably change, or at most in a very minor way.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,009 (2.87/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
If it is an option for you, I'd use a 2nd monitor (as your main monitor for the duration of testing) so that you can use that monitor to reset the monitor you are overclocking in case it won't show an image. Can save you a lot of hassle, if it's an option ofc.
Yes, indeed. Makes like a LOT easier.

S24D300 supposedly clocks to 72 or 75Hz based on a (very) quick forum search.
After applying any overclock it's important to check for frame-skipping, I use testufo.com for that sort of thing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,929 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
through display setting
 
Top