• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Help!] HDD usage stuck at 100%

CaTunez

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
28 (0.08/day)
Just randomly after starting a steam download yeaterday my computer became extremely sluggish, after shutting down the pc for hours at a time still the same 100% I’ve tried unplugging the hard drive for a good 2+ hours and same 100% usage, ill include usage of the task manager and and performance
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    5.7 MB · Views: 79
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    6.1 MB · Views: 86

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,779 (6.82/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Services.Msc, and expand the task manager out, look at task scheduler as well, and msconfig

Could be auto defragging being a HDD
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
435 (0.07/day)
System Name Desktop |Laptop Eluktronics Max 17
Processor X5675@4.8Ghz|Intel Core i7 9750H -140mW undervolt
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright True Black Ultra-120 Extreme | pk-3 | conductonaut
Memory 16Gb Trident DDR3 2400Mhz@2095Mhz | 10-9-10-20 | 64Gb DDR4 @ 2666 laptop
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 280 | RTX 2070 Max P
Storage Vertex 4 Raid 0 | 2 x 2Tb Inland Premium nvme
Display(s) Dell fpw 2005 20.1" 16:10 1680x1050
Case Tt Black Armor
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatality platinum & Extrememusic x-fi
Power Supply Evga P2 1000 | Corsair H1000i
Mouse Razer Viper ulti
Keyboard Saitek
Benchmark Scores (PR 9750H Cne15 2100|Cne20-3150) (as-SSD-7000 &6600pts 2 Tb Nvme) (PR x5675 Cne11.5 -1102Pts)
disabling wsearch may help, but isnt a permanent fix. Go ahead and shut off windows search/wsearch in services.msc and disable in startup and in recovery modes as well as stop the service. Im on win 11 now and cant do the rundown myself on win7/10. services.msc was one location, but theres also another somewhere else to completely stop the process when its already running.
wsearch.png
 

CaTunez

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
28 (0.08/day)
disabling wsearch may help, but isnt a permanent fix. Go ahead and shut off windows search/wsearch in services.msc and disable in startup and in recovery modes as well as stop the service. Im on win 11 now and cant do the rundown myself on win7/10. services.msc was one location, but theres also another somewhere else to completely stop the process when its already running.View attachment 256509
Alright ill try
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,779 (6.82/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
56,201 (8.40/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
What exactly am i looking for in services.msc?
he showed you in the screenshots, the windows search service


This could be the sign of a dying drive, or a drive being heavily used in a poor way.
It is your C: drive, so a lot of applications could be using the disk - antivirus, defraggers, etc.


Most options get ruled out of it was working normally without any changes - With the PC off, have you tried unplugging and replugging the power and SATA cables to ensure they're simply not loose or damaged?

Can you run HWinfo64 in 'sensors only' and screenshot either everything at once (arrows in the bottom left let you spread it out horizontally), or just the sections relating to your HDD

These are my drives, showing they're not overheating, their history and expected lifespan
1659249987600.png

and the second section showing 'what its doing right now'
1659250061229.png


We can see that my C: drive hit "100%" usage at just 143MB/s, which would be something to investigate further since the drive can do faster (In this case, I simply havent done enough for the drive to reach its full speed)
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,779 (6.82/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
1,078 (0.88/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5600x
Motherboard MSI MPG x570S EDGE MAX WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS XAF-F1451
Memory 32gb G.Skill F4-4000C18D-32GVK
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra Gaming
Storage 15.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, Rival 3 + Rival 3 wireless, Razer Orochi V2
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB + K57 RGB Wireless + Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
Just wanted to add my system does this occasionally too, it stops on its own after a bit so just let it do its thing, as pointed out already it's probably either defragging or indexing, usually defragging runs when computer is idle and stops when you move the mouse, indexing will run until it has completed its quota or whatever even after waking the machine.
 

CaTunez

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
28 (0.08/day)
Most options get ruled out of it was working normally without any changes - With the PC off, have you tried unplugging and replugging the power and SATA cables to ensure they're simply not loose or damaged?
i have checked this.
Can you run HWinfo64 in 'sensors only' and screenshot either everything at once (arrows in the bottom left let you spread it out horizontally), or just the sections relating to your HDD
im doing this rn
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
6,467 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dark Hero
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (Not sure what to do :/)
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero Bios 4201
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black (Only middle fan)
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 16-17-17-35 T1 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6800 XT Red Devil 2400/2000MHz@1.050V | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage OS/Games:Gigabyte M30 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 1xExos 16TB 1, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) LG UltraGear 27GP850-B 1440p@165Hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum (Backup Seasonic Focus PX 750W Platinum)
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win11 Pro 22H2 UK (Build 22000.832)
Benchmark Scores Not benchmarking anymore only Gaming. GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/3dq6f
Why not get like a 250GB SATA SSD and use the 1TB HDD as a storage/Game library?

In general it's just faster and you don't have to struggle with Windows Search or another thing trying something to the HDD.
 

CaTunez

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
28 (0.08/day)
Can you run HWinfo64 in 'sensors only' and screenshot either everything at once (arrows in the bottom left let you spread it out horizontally), or just the sections relating to your HDD
here ya go

Why not get like a 250GB SATA SSD and use the 1TB HDD as a storage/Game library?

In general it's just faster and you don't have to struggle with Windows Search or another thing trying something to the HDD.
cause i had no other pc parts and i got this pc for free off craigslist and just took a 1tb laptop hard drive and put it in this machine lmao
 

Attachments

  • 1659256535120.png
    1659256535120.png
    31 KB · Views: 36
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
6,467 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dark Hero
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (Not sure what to do :/)
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero Bios 4201
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black (Only middle fan)
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 16-17-17-35 T1 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6800 XT Red Devil 2400/2000MHz@1.050V | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage OS/Games:Gigabyte M30 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 1xExos 16TB 1, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) LG UltraGear 27GP850-B 1440p@165Hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum (Backup Seasonic Focus PX 750W Platinum)
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win11 Pro 22H2 UK (Build 22000.832)
Benchmark Scores Not benchmarking anymore only Gaming. GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/3dq6f
cause i had no other pc parts and i got this pc for free off craigslist and just took a 1tb laptop hard drive and put it in this machine lmao
Okay, well they are between 20-30USD for a brand new 240-250GB SATA SSD and I am sure you can find better deal locally or on Cragslist.

Just saying that HDD's as fine as they might run it's not a Windows OS drive anymore and I suggest a SSD any day.
 

CaTunez

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
28 (0.08/day)
Okay, well they are between 20-30USD for a brand new 240-250GB SATA SSD and I am sure you can find better deal locally or on Cragslist.

Just saying that HDD's as fine as they might run it's not a Windows OS drive anymore and I suggest a SSD any day.
Im buildin a new tower in the next week or two so yeah but on the new tower its gonna have a 1tb ssd and 2 tb HDD
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
56,201 (8.40/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
here ya go


cause i had no other pc parts and i got this pc for free off craigslist and just took a 1tb laptop hard drive and put it in this machine lmao
That's showing the drive has had almost no use, with 25GB of data read and written - its basically new
and that it thinks 1.75MB/s is 100%, which it shouldnt unless its doing something that maxes the drive while not writing much - like defragging, indexing, etc.


It's a laptop hard drive and you 'put it in' - where did the OS come from? Did you clone it, fresh install? UEFI or MBR?

Can you check any and all programs running in the tray, and see if any could be using the disk... is something antivirus scanning, is a defrag running, etc
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,391 (0.56/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SC Single Fan Model
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
That an easy fix you have to disable sysmain, wsearch and add folder excluded in window defender to stop it searching in the hard drive you choose as I had a similar issue like that with multi hard drives in my system. No more issue since I did the fix
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,779 (6.82/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Im buildin a new tower in the next week or two so yeah but on the new tower its gonna have a 1tb ssd and 2 tb HDD

Just get a 256-512 for the OS Only
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
435 (0.07/day)
System Name Desktop |Laptop Eluktronics Max 17
Processor X5675@4.8Ghz|Intel Core i7 9750H -140mW undervolt
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright True Black Ultra-120 Extreme | pk-3 | conductonaut
Memory 16Gb Trident DDR3 2400Mhz@2095Mhz | 10-9-10-20 | 64Gb DDR4 @ 2666 laptop
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 280 | RTX 2070 Max P
Storage Vertex 4 Raid 0 | 2 x 2Tb Inland Premium nvme
Display(s) Dell fpw 2005 20.1" 16:10 1680x1050
Case Tt Black Armor
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatality platinum & Extrememusic x-fi
Power Supply Evga P2 1000 | Corsair H1000i
Mouse Razer Viper ulti
Keyboard Saitek
Benchmark Scores (PR 9750H Cne15 2100|Cne20-3150) (as-SSD-7000 &6600pts 2 Tb Nvme) (PR x5675 Cne11.5 -1102Pts)
The operating system win7/10/11 is tied to the laptop using a hardware code. If you install an ssd into your laptop, you dont need a software code to activate the new operating system. get a usb to sata data cable off amazon
1. Manaul way - FRESH install of Operating system-what id do
format usb drive for win10/11. Backup all your data off old hdd - then take out of laptop, install new ssd into latop, and install new OS using usb drive with win X. THEN manually Reinstall backup data - photos ect and install any and all programs you may need.​
A really good paid backup program to use "AOMEI BACKUPPER". backup programs are more complicated than backing up manually most of the time for me unless you know exactly what you are doing it can still save you the headache..
2.Automatic way -RETAIN the operating system and existing profile data to keep all your OS and profile data intact without all the manual install hassle
Use backup program, if you dont have one AOMEI is a good one to make an entire partition backup of all the partitions on the existing "bad" hdd first. (you need to transfer these partitions to the new ssd)
Your old hdd is slow AF so transferring ALL that data to the new ssd via usb is gonna take forever. (Thats why you should do a fresh install.)
if you get this far you have to PM me the details.
basically, transfer the partitions from old hdd to new ssd. install new ssd. Now ALL your data is the same but now you are running the laptop on a SSD.
You will need a USB to SATA cable to complete this process, UNLESS you have an external backup device.(PICK the fastest one you got)

 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,391 (0.56/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SC Single Fan Model
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
The operating system win7/10/11 is tied to the laptop using a hardware code. If you install an ssd into your laptop, you dont need a software code to activate the new operating system.
1. Manaul way - FRESH install of Operating system-what id do
Backup all your data, install new ssd, format usb drive for win10/11 and install new OS. THEN manually Reinstall backup data - photos ect.​
A really good paid backup program use AOMEI BACKUPPER. backup programs to me are more complicated than backing up manually unless you know exactly what you are doing.
2.Autmatic way -RETAIN the operating system and profile data to keep all your OS and profile data intact without needing a fresh install
Use backup program, if you dont have one AOMEI is a good one to macke a entire partition backup of all the partitions on the existing "bad" hdd
get a usb to sata data cable off amazon
install the new ssd.
now theres 2 ways you can transfer data. but if you get this far you have to PM me the details.
basically transfer the partitions from old hdd to new ssd. install new ssd. Now ALL your data is the same but now you are running the laptop off of a ssd.

Only way you get the windows activation to pop up is when you changed hardware like motherboard not changing the hard drive from HDD to SSD it unclear the way you said it
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,981 (4.39/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Just randomly after starting a steam download yeaterday my computer became extremely sluggish, after shutting down the pc for hours at a time still the same 100% I’ve tried unplugging the hard drive for a good 2+ hours and same 100% usage, ill include usage of the task manager and and performance

Don't unplug it, don't turn it off; let the task complete.
 

CaTunez

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
28 (0.08/day)
It's a laptop hard drive and you 'put it in' - where did the OS come from? Did you clone it, fresh install? UEFI or MBR?
Os came from microsoft, i didn’t clone it, it was a fresh install, and its mbr

That an easy fix you have to disable sysmain, wsearch and add folder excluded in window defender to stop it searching in the hard drive you choose as I had a similar issue like that with multi hard drives in my system. No more issue since I did the fix
Yeah i did that and i believe it might have fixed

Manaul way - FRESH install of Operating system-what id do
format usb drive for win10/11. Backup all your data off old hdd - then take out of laptop, install new ssd into latop, and install new OS using usb drive with win X. THEN manually Reinstall backup data - photos ect and install any and all programs you may need.
Yeah i did this but not the backing up part because i was coming from mac to pc
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,391 (0.56/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SC Single Fan Model
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
Os came from microsoft, i didn’t clone it, it was a fresh install, and its mbr


Yeah i did that and i believe it might have fixed


Yeah i did this but not the backing up part because i was coming from mac to pc
While your on a fresh OS make sure you convert from MBR to GPT while in the operating system as commands is available to convert it
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
56,201 (8.40/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Use RUFUS and make a UEFI/GPT install USB, theres no need for MBR in this decade
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,391 (0.56/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SC Single Fan Model
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
Use RUFUS and make a UEFI/GPT install USB, theres no need for MBR in this decade
It running MBR according catunez so it needs to be converted using mbr2gpt command without having to fresh install as it don't give that option to select gpt during the installation

 
Last edited:
Top