• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help me improve d2 performance

Choai

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hello everyone i am a diablo 2 fan but this brings me some trouble because my system doesnt let me play with smooth stable game picture.
i recently upgraded my pc a bit from p 1.5 to intel celeron 2.30Ghz Socket 478 mPGA
Core voltage 1.568 v. sis-651 MOtherboard .transfer rate 4X AGP version 2.0. geforce 4 ti 4200.
DDR 512 MBytes. creative audigy 2. but!!!!!!!!! diablo fps is still low when it gets crowded
why is that? wt can i do to improve the situation, and how i do overclocking safly if its needed. watining impaitiently 4 ur help :toast:
 

Choai

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
its on direct 3d wt i need? more ram more cpu power new graphic card a shoftware of som kind overclocking. i dont uindarstand why 10 year is so demamnding
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,365 (0.39/day)
Likes
109
Location
Alden, NY
System Name Turbo_Fighter/Pitbull
Processor AMD FX-9590/Intel i7 6700K 4.7GHZ @ 1.41 volts
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0/Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H105/Corsair H100iv2
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Ares/32 GB G.Skill Trident-Z
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 Fury X/Sapphire R9 Nano
Storage Mix of HDDs SSDs Externals and a 256GB Samsung M.2 in the pitbull
Display(s) 24" Nixeus 144hz freesync/24'' Benq XL2420TE/21.5'' Asus VH226/Panasonic 42" Plasma
Case White Phantom NZXT/Fractal Define Nano S
Audio Device(s) MayFlower O2 ODAC/HT Omega Claro+/Turtlebeach Earforce DSS
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i/Thermaltake Smart 650Watt(EVGA GS 650 Watt took a shit on me)
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores They can run Crysis.
#4
ur pc must fail hard if it cant play a 2d game, try re-installing?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#5
id look at upgrading ram and that celeron doesnt help either,the older cellys were rather poor to say the least.

really u need a better PC in general as u may be playing a 10 yr old game but your doing so on a 5+ year old PC.
As a minimum to run even older games well ud need something like a P4/AMD 64 ,1gb ram and a more recent gfx card.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#6
D2 ran fine on a ATi rage/old Celeron and TNT2/P4 1.6ghz for me I dont see why he cant run it.
 

Ongaku

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
799 (0.20/day)
Likes
39
Location
Oshkosh B'gosh
#7
It should run fine really, I had it running on my old laptop with a Celeron 2.4GHz...

Like I said turn it to DirectDraw and see how it runs. Run the video test that's in the Diablo II folder.