• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Help Needed] HD 7970

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#1
hey guys, my 7970 was working great with the accelero hybrid 7970 but one of the mini heatsinks I noticed fell off so I decided to re attach the heatsink and re liquid pro the gpu die and put the case back on, come to find that my screens get no signal from the gpu and windows wont boot if I have the power supply connectors attached to it even if I use the GTX 570 with the monitors... however if I remove the power supply connectors from the 7970 and use the 570 windows boots fine... whats this mean?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
First thing I'd try would be to take the card back out and make sure none of the heatsinks are touching anything they shouldn't be. Check to make sure the Liquid Pro didn't spill over the GPU onto something else. Also make sure the cooler isn't on too tight (over-tightened).
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#3
First thing I'd try would be to take the card back out and make sure none of the heatsinks are touching anything they shouldn't be. Check to make sure the Liquid Pro didn't spill over the GPU onto something else. Also make sure the cooler isn't on too tight (over-tightened).
ill do that in the morning really tied atm
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#5
Check the power supply inputs ..looks like a short or no power to card Fans running?? ... Did you flip the OC's gpu1 switch?? Page 45 OC manual.. If you have power then prob some Liquid Pro on the GPU or card. I would Strip it down & give it a good cleaning both sides with some 99% alcohol then let it air dry for 24 Hr or give it a blow job with a WARM air dryer .... STill no joy then RMA
Good luck F
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#6
are you getting a LED code with the 7970 ?
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#7
are you getting a LED code with the 7970 ?
LED code? no the monitors haven o signal on the gpu at all and if I use my 570 as the host card the monitors turn off when you get to password screen but shows windows 8 loading, only iff I remove the power supply connectors from t he 7970 will my pc fully boot, if it is a short, ive already cleaned the pcb front and back and with a que tip to get the smallest places... how can u fix shorts?
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#8
Check the power supply inputs ..looks like a short or no power to card Fans running?? ... Did you flip the OC's gpu1 switch?? Page 45 OC manual.. If you have power then prob some Liquid Pro on the GPU or card. I would Strip it down & give it a good cleaning both sides with some 99% alcohol then let it air dry for 24 Hr or give it a blow job with a WARM air dryer .... STill no joy then RMA
Good luck F
well the gpu fan turns on the fan that's plugged into the 7970 pcb so power supply is getting enough power to the port that runs the fan
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#9
what's the led code on the mb when the doen't boot?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#10
if I use my 570 as the host card the monitors turn off when you get to password screen but shows windows 8 loading, only iff I remove the power supply connectors from t he 7970 will my pc fully boot, if it is a short,
Try booting to dos & see if atiflash can 'SEE' the card ... looks like the ati drivers don't like what they find when they load
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#11
Try booting to dos & see if atiflash can 'SEE' the card ... looks like the ati drivers don't like what they find when they load
yes but this is just when the 7970 is used as a secondary card, nothing at all happens when its used as main
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#12
With the NV card as primary you will @ least have output to see if the ati card is alive enought for atiflash to see it ...if not IE 'no adapter found'... then you will need to look at the power supply chain to the card ...from the input plugs through the Vrm's to the gpu.. to do this you will need to know the read points & values ....witch are almost impossible to find .... I'v tried
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#13


the camera seems to show shit I cannot see with the naked eye, I don't see that cluster fuck of brown near the capacitors



just cleaned it again this time without q-tip
 
Last edited:

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#14
well aftert he cleaning windows now boots up with the 7970 as secondary with all power connectors in, however also previous to the cleaning I uninstalled all amd drivers... so I dunno which fixed what, and the hd7970 is not being read at all
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#15
If its not booting with the 7970 alone, I'm not sure if its 53 or 63 led code if your using the asrock OCF in your specs the card is dead

So just try the 7970 alone if you haven't yet and see what the led code you get
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.59/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#16
If its not booting with the 7970 alone, I'm not sure if its 53 or 63 led code if your using the asrock OCF in your specs the card is dead

So just try the 7970 alone if you haven't yet and see what the led code you get
I had a 64 error code recently
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#17
Then I would have to say its dead.....:(

When you notice the small hs fell off was it working fine before ?