• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help Overclock I5 4670k to 4.3ghz

Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
70 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
#26
cpu ratio: 4.3 ghz
cpu cache ratio: 35 ghz
cpu input voltage: 2.010v
vcore override voltage: 1.317 vcore
cpu cache voltage: 1.230
DRAM Voltage: 1.600v
Ram: 1333mhz
System Agent Voltage Offset: +0.050v

still crashes I am doing something wrong? or I just have a bad chip.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,417 (2.69/day)
Likes
5,431
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#27
I question the chip at this point.

Did you purchase the Intel Performance Tuning plan? They will allow RMA for overclocking-related issues only if you buy this...cost me $25. Covers the 3-year warranty period from purchase for a one-time OC related failure/issue. Might be worth considering, I had issues with my CPU...the replacement was MUCH better.

If you have the newest BIOS, and everything is stable stock...ideally you should hit 4.2-4.3GHz on stock or +.010v. That's been my experience with most 4670k's I've been asked to OC.

I don't mess with many of the in-depth settings anymore..I have found with newer bios versions on my Asus board that I cannot find better stability with manual tuning. I do, however adjust CPU input voltage (I do leave the monitoring set to AUTO so I can see wattage consumption), I adjust Core voltage, I leave my cache voltage on AUTO since it stays at stock and stays stable at 39x (I might be running 40...I believe 39 now tho...but it has been shown even that doesn't do much). Set the memory to XMP profiles, and also try manually setting specs.

You shouldn't need to modify half of your settings in Bios for such a simple overclock IMHO. And, 1.30v and still unstable at 4.3Ghz, that's no bueno. Really beyond using XMP settings for ram and adjusting your multi's and basic voltages, you should be there by now IMHO.

My settings:

- XMP for my G.Skill 2133, manually adjust voltage to 1.58 to read 1.60v.
- CPU voltage set to 1.156v or 1.150v
-Max multi set to 43
-Cache set to min 8x and max 39 (or 40)
-Cache voltage set to auto
-CPU input set to 1.71v
-Monitored Input or whatever the setting is, I leave on Auto... Asus notes that disabling it helps OC-ing...the only thing I notice is that I lose wattage readings in monitoring applications for CPU/Core/iGPU. So I leave it on.

-I'm fairly certain that's about all I adjust anymore...I tried other settings and ended back to auto on many of them.

I have OC'd on Asrock and Asus boards, and so far haven't had many issues...the worst was my first 4770k. I had similar issues at 4.3Ghz iirc....check out the Haswell OC thread in the first several pages...I'll be in there. You might ask for help there and see if you can get Cadaveca's suggestions, he's been a lot of help to many OC-ing haswell cpu's.

I fought my chip for close to 6 weeks before I replaced it. I tend to use OCCT 4.x's CPU and PSU tests for 1-6 hours. AIDA too. I like OCCT because the PSU test covers so many aspects...and the CPU test has AVX tests as well iirc. I like the timer, sensor tracking and reporting.

I think you may have a lesser capable part than average for overclocking though. A different board or CPU would let you know for sure imho.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
70 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
#28
I question the chip at this point.

Did you purchase the Intel Performance Tuning plan? They will allow RMA for overclocking-related issues only if you buy this...cost me $25. Covers the 3-year warranty period from purchase for a one-time OC related failure/issue. Might be worth considering, I had issues with my CPU...the replacement was MUCH better.

If you have the newest BIOS, and everything is stable stock...ideally you should hit 4.2-4.3GHz on stock or +.010v. That's been my experience with most 4670k's I've been asked to OC.

I don't mess with many of the in-depth settings anymore..I have found with newer bios versions on my Asus board that I cannot find better stability with manual tuning. I do, however adjust CPU input voltage (I do leave the monitoring set to AUTO so I can see wattage consumption), I adjust Core voltage, I leave my cache voltage on AUTO since it stays at stock and stays stable at 39x (I might be running 40...I believe 39 now tho...but it has been shown even that doesn't do much). Set the memory to XMP profiles, and also try manually setting specs.

You shouldn't need to modify half of your settings in Bios for such a simple overclock IMHO. And, 1.30v and still unstable at 4.3Ghz, that's no bueno. Really beyond using XMP settings for ram and adjusting your multi's and basic voltages, you should be there by now IMHO.

My settings:

- XMP for my G.Skill 2133, manually adjust voltage to 1.58 to read 1.60v.
- CPU voltage set to 1.156v or 1.150v
-Max multi set to 43
-Cache set to min 8x and max 39 (or 40)
-Cache voltage set to auto
-CPU input set to 1.71v
-Monitored Input or whatever the setting is, I leave on Auto... Asus notes that disabling it helps OC-ing...the only thing I notice is that I lose wattage readings in monitoring applications for CPU/Core/iGPU. So I leave it on.

-I'm fairly certain that's about all I adjust anymore...I tried other settings and ended back to auto on many of them.

I have OC'd on Asrock and Asus boards, and so far haven't had many issues...the worst was my first 4770k. I had similar issues at 4.3Ghz iirc....check out the Haswell OC thread in the first several pages...I'll be in there. You might ask for help there and see if you can get Cadaveca's suggestions, he's been a lot of help to many OC-ing haswell cpu's.

I fought my chip for close to 6 weeks before I replaced it. I tend to use OCCT 4.x's CPU and PSU tests for 1-6 hours. AIDA too. I like OCCT because the PSU test covers so many aspects...and the CPU test has AVX tests as well iirc. I like the timer, sensor tracking and reporting.

I think you may have a lesser capable part than average for overclocking though. A different board or CPU would let you know for sure imho.
I didn't avail for Intel Performance Tuning plan because I didn't know it existed. I think I just should stay at 4.2ghz because the vcores are too high at 4.3 ghz, thank for the suggestion by the way because changing other setting yield the same results.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,164 (4.31/day)
Likes
3,715
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#29
cpu ratio: 4.3 ghz
cpu cache ratio: 35 ghz
cpu input voltage: 2.0v
vcore override voltage: 1.317 vcore
cpu cache voltage: 1.230
DRAM Voltage: 1.600v
Ram: 1333mhz

This is my parameters before have achieve 4.3 ghz but not impressed with the temps the maximum 85 so now I am trying Hunter's new info to lower the vcore.

Edit: Not achieve 4.3 ghz on this parameters :(
1.31v is quote high for that speed. Do you have any idea what the stock input voltage is? 2.0v seems high.

Also you are able to change the digital and analog i/o voltages right? because realistically you want the cache voltage to be just below or same as your digital and analog i/o. your cache voltage seems way way to high.

When trying to tweak Haswell its pretty much all about finding the right combination of voltages, because one voltage too high or too low can throw everything off. Its not about just feeding the chips voltage anymore, thats a good way to kill the chip instead.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
70 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
#30
1.31v is quote high for that speed. Do you have any idea what the stock input voltage is? 2.0v seems high.

Also you are able to change the digital and analog i/o voltages right? because realistically you want the cache voltage to be just below or same as your digital and analog i/o. your cache voltage seems way way to high.

When trying to tweak Haswell its pretty much all about finding the right combination of voltages, because one voltage too high or too low can throw everything off. Its not about just feeding the chips voltage anymore, thats a good way to kill the chip instead.
My default cpu input voltage is at 1.900v

So what voltage should I put in the cache voltage and the digital and analog voltage is only on offset there is no fix mode.

And anymore other suggestion?

By the way I haven't tweak my ram I just put the frequency to 1333 and dram voltage to 1.600v does this affect overclocking my cpu
 
Joined
May 25, 2013
Messages
712 (0.39/day)
Likes
207
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name -Finally Complete- :D
Processor Intel I5 4670K - 4GHz @ 1.28V Adaptive
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Hero
Cooling Swiftech H220 (2 pumps burnt. Saving it for GPU later...), CM Hyper 212X (in push-pull) for CPU
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Dual Channel 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RX 580 4GB Dual
Storage WD Blue 1TB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
Display(s) 24" AOC G2460VQ6 (Freesync, 75Hz, 1ms), 22" Benq G2222HDL (half dead)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 III (Transparent side panel) - illuminated with NZXT HUE RGB
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150>Dolby Home Theater>SPDIF>FiiO Taishan D03K DAC>Behringer HA400>ATH M50/Samson SR850
Power Supply Corsair RM 850
Mouse Redragon M901 PERDITION 16400 DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS Mechanical Gaming Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown)
Software 7-64bit MBR, 10-64bit UEFI (Not Multi-boot), VBox guests...
#31
My default cpu input voltage is at 1.900v

So what voltage should I put in the cache voltage and the digital and analog voltage is only on offset there is no fix mode.

And anymore other suggestion?

By the way I haven't tweak my ram I just put the frequency to 1333 and dram voltage to 1.600v does this affect overclocking my cpu
I think your RAM's spd defaults to 1600MHz. No point in keeping it at 1333. Now, I hope you have tested to make sure that the voltages you are using for 4.2GHz are absolutely the bare minimum required for stable operation. If that's the case, then I would probably bring down the multiplier even more, so as to use lower voltages - just so that the cpu lasts longer. In most of the games the cpu clock speed barely makes any difference anymore. Whether it's 3.4GHz or 4.8GHz - you"ll barely see any frame rates difference. The GPU is what matters. After bringing down the cpu multiplier and voltages, try to up the cache multiplier to match the core, and you may even enable the xmp for RAM, or even try to overclock it a bit. GSkill RAMs do OC quite good.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
70 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
#32
I think your RAM's spd defaults to 1600MHz. No point in keeping it at 1333. Now, I hope you have tested to make sure that the voltages you are using for 4.2GHz are absolutely the bare minimum required for stable operation. If that's the case, then I would probably bring down the multiplier even more, so as to use lower voltages - just so that the cpu lasts longer. In most of the games the cpu clock speed barely makes any difference anymore. Whether it's 3.4GHz or 4.8GHz - you"ll barely see any frame rates difference. The GPU is what matters. After bringing down the cpu multiplier and voltages, try to up the cache multiplier to match the core, and you may even enable the xmp for RAM, or even try to overclock it a bit. GSkill RAMs do OC quite good.
Yup I have already successfully OC my gpu to its max out put and yes oc CPU has no practical use for now but maybe in the future I can use it. but for now I just wanted to explore overclocking because I am very interested in this kind of stuff and I wanted to see what my cpu can handle, tnx for you help:).
 
Joined
May 25, 2013
Messages
712 (0.39/day)
Likes
207
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name -Finally Complete- :D
Processor Intel I5 4670K - 4GHz @ 1.28V Adaptive
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Hero
Cooling Swiftech H220 (2 pumps burnt. Saving it for GPU later...), CM Hyper 212X (in push-pull) for CPU
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Dual Channel 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RX 580 4GB Dual
Storage WD Blue 1TB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
Display(s) 24" AOC G2460VQ6 (Freesync, 75Hz, 1ms), 22" Benq G2222HDL (half dead)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 III (Transparent side panel) - illuminated with NZXT HUE RGB
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150>Dolby Home Theater>SPDIF>FiiO Taishan D03K DAC>Behringer HA400>ATH M50/Samson SR850
Power Supply Corsair RM 850
Mouse Redragon M901 PERDITION 16400 DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS Mechanical Gaming Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown)
Software 7-64bit MBR, 10-64bit UEFI (Not Multi-boot), VBox guests...
#33
Yup I have already successfully OC my gpu to its max out put and yes oc CPU has no practical use for now but maybe in the future I can use it. but for now I just wanted to explore overclocking because I am very interested in this kind of stuff and I wanted to see what my cpu can handle, tnx for you help:).
My chip maxes out at 4.4. And when I try to use Asus' 4-way optimization (auto oc), it fails completely, giving me 3.8 max.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,332 (0.60/day)
Likes
696
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1418MHz
Storage Intel SSD, Crucial SSD
Display(s) Samsung C27FG73 144HZ
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS3 64Bit
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#34
Im sure you dont need a whooping 1.23v for cpu cache @ 35x.
Leave it at auto.
*just to give you an idea; I need 1.135v @ 42x multi, mobo auto sets to 1.22v..


Also leave cpu input voltage at max 2.0v for now, preferably 1.90v or so..


As for the rest, I think you need more cpu current (by me its in %) - aka cpu power under load.


You check this mini guide for some extra info
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/haswell-overclocking_3.html#sect0
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
225 (0.07/day)
Likes
12
System Name Flash
Processor I5-4670K
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45
Cooling Stock Air
Memory 4x4GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) ASUS 7970 DCU II
Storage Samsung 840 250GB + WD Black 640GB
Display(s) Dell U2412m + 2x Dell 2209WA
Case Corsair 230T
Audio Device(s) Realtek Hi-Def onboard
Power Supply HX850
Software Win7 Pro
#35
OP, some chips just can't make it.

It's very easy to OC in bios, and if the parameter do not work then the chip can't make it.

Mine runs at 4.2Ghz at 1.1v and 4.1Ghz Ring at 1.075v. I have set the voltage dynamically, so I think it sucks 1.15v and 1.1v respectively in windows (unless HWMonitor reports different than BIOS).
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
70 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
#36
Im sure you dont need a whooping 1.23v for cpu cache @ 35x.
Leave it at auto.
*just to give you an idea; I need 1.135v @ 42x multi, mobo auto sets to 1.22v..


Also leave cpu input voltage at max 2.0v for now, preferably 1.90v or so..


As for the rest, I think you need more cpu current (by me its in %) - aka cpu power under load.


You check this mini guide for some extra info
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/haswell-overclocking_3.html#sect0
I am currently running my at
Cpu 4.2 ghz
Chache 3.8
Vcore 1.270
Ram 1600mhz
And the rest is set to auto but it still crashes on aida64 in 1 hour and 13 min

I have try to tweak the system a bit
Cpu 4.2 ghz
Cache 3.8
Input volatage: 1.900
Vcore 1.270
Cache voltage 1.150
System agent voltage offset 0.100
Ram 1600mhz
Dram: 1.600

And it still crashes in aida64 with in 1 hour so same results
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
70 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
#37
OP, some chips just can't make it.

It's very easy to OC in bios, and if the parameter do not work then the chip can't make it.

Mine runs at 4.2Ghz at 1.1v and 4.1Ghz Ring at 1.075v. I have set the voltage dynamically, so I think it sucks 1.15v and 1.1v respectively in windows (unless HWMonitor reports different than BIOS).
Yup my cpu pretty much sucks I can't even boot my pc at 4.5 ghz at 1.2 vcore so my pc is below average.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,332 (0.60/day)
Likes
696
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1418MHz
Storage Intel SSD, Crucial SSD
Display(s) Samsung C27FG73 144HZ
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS3 64Bit
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#38
I see, is your ram 1.65v or 1.60v?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,332 (0.60/day)
Likes
696
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1418MHz
Storage Intel SSD, Crucial SSD
Display(s) Samsung C27FG73 144HZ
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS3 64Bit
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#40
Keep ram at 1866 and enable xmp settings @ 1.50v.




When you stress test Aida64, do you use fixed voltage?

Usually if it crashes after such long time its cpuv just a little too low., try ie 1.275v

by 4.3ghz you can try 1.325v




Here is a really quick and effective test,
run LostPlanet 2 benchmark windowed mode, dx9, noaa, 720p - test B, its very cpu demanding,

same by Resident Evil 5 benchmark, same settings, - test variable (part 3 & 4).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
70 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
#41
Update I have found out that all bsod error is 0x124 but I dont know if it the vcore or system agent is the problem because
This is what I found on a forum
0x124increase or decrease QPI/VTT first, if not increase or decrease vcore. Test to see which one it is. On i7 45nm, usually means too little VVT/QPI for the speed of Uncore. On i7 32nm SB, usually means too little vCore

But it is a vague description
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,332 (0.60/day)
Likes
696
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1418MHz
Storage Intel SSD, Crucial SSD
Display(s) Samsung C27FG73 144HZ
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS3 64Bit
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#42
yeah, I have that thread bookmarked
http://www.overclock.net/t/940091/bsod-codes-when-ocing-must-have-info

&


http://www.overclock.net/t/1120291/solving-fixing-bsod-124-on-sandybridge-read-op-first

but by Haswell its either cpuv too low or uncore(cache) too high with too little voltage or VCCSA too low.
Btw dont use more then 0.100v+ offset, 0.030-0.050v+ is enough for up to 4.7Ghz with ram at ~ 2400mhz.


Looks like you got kinda bad chip.. And I think you wont do much, for example my 4770k needs 1.274v for 4.7Ghz with HT on. But I got really lucky there, didnt see a lot of people with such volts.
 
Top