• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! Pc aint’t post when OC ram

Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
983 (0.22/day)
Processor Intel core i9 13900ks sp117 direct die
Motherboard Asus Maximus Apex Z790
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ 3 x mo-ra3 420 +Dual D5 pump and dual ddc pump
Memory 2x24gb Gskill 8800c38
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 4090 Strix
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) Sammsung G7 32”
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
I switch from dark z690 to z790 apex and pc posted fine at first. Then oc ram to 8200c32 and it did get to window then shut down when stability test it. Then it wont post any more. Pc will shut down when I see code 73 76 or 79 when posting if I remember correctly. Pc will work only when I use default bios setting now. I tried to install latest ME firmware, tried other bios, use different ram but it is the same. What is going on?
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
29,406 (4.50/day)
System Name EVA-01
Processor Intel i7 13700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Z690 HERO EVA Edition
Cooling ASUS ROG Ryujin III 360 with Noctua Industrial Fans
Memory PAtriot Viper Elite RGB 96GB @ 6000MHz.
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 24GB OC EVA Edition
Storage Addlink S95 M.2 PCIe GEN 4x4 2TB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT OLED PG42UQ
Case Thermaltake Core P3 TG
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vegas
Power Supply be quiet DARK POWER PRO 12 1500W
Mouse ROG STRIX Impact Electro Punk
Keyboard ROG STRIX Scope TKL Electro Punk
Software Windows 11
Can you give up the specs of the kit you are trying to clock?

I saw your specs, but that doesn't do much good.

I have to assume at this point you are either pushing the sticks past stability, or your IMC is not that strong.
 

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
3,599 (0.64/day)
Location
USA
Did 8200 work on the Z690? Need more details. Troubleshooting 101.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
983 (0.22/day)
Processor Intel core i9 13900ks sp117 direct die
Motherboard Asus Maximus Apex Z790
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ 3 x mo-ra3 420 +Dual D5 pump and dual ddc pump
Memory 2x24gb Gskill 8800c38
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 4090 Strix
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) Sammsung G7 32”
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
Gskill 7600c36. I passed tm5 xmp with that kit on dark z690. I tried the gskill 6400c32 and it does not work also on the apex z790. Planning to reseat the cpu and check for short. It usually show the code then stuck with power on but now it hit the code 76 or 79 then shut down. Its kinda weird.
 

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
3,599 (0.64/day)
Location
USA
Well at least you know it works with (X) DRAM voltage and whatever timings you had on the Z690 Dark. Now comes the tricky part. Assuming its not a mounting pressure issue. You are left with a few possibilities.

A) ASUS MB is faulty / cannot run DDR5-8000+
B) Auto CPU voltages do not work
C) Mem timings are not the same

This is the boring part where you need to narrow down one variable at a time. Let assume for now the MB is fine. Start the whole process over again. Boot to the highest freq you can with the previous settings from the Z690 Dark. See where you land go from there. Say that is DDR5-7800, now loosen the timings and go up again. Post > it was the timings. Doesn't post, probably something to do with the auto voltages used. So manually set the SA, TX and VDD2 and try again. Repeat until you are out of options.

If noting works, try to find a XOC BIOS. Since the MB just got released those may not be floating around yet.

I'm dealing with the exact same problem right now. Though I can get a few kits to boot at DDR5-8000, but none are stable on anything but one MB so far.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
983 (0.22/day)
Processor Intel core i9 13900ks sp117 direct die
Motherboard Asus Maximus Apex Z790
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ 3 x mo-ra3 420 +Dual D5 pump and dual ddc pump
Memory 2x24gb Gskill 8800c38
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 4090 Strix
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) Sammsung G7 32”
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
The problem is it does not post xmp 7600c36 and it shut down during post. I think its either bios or mobo faulty.
 

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
3,599 (0.64/day)
Location
USA
The problem is it does not post xmp 7600c36 and it shut down during post. I think its either bios or mobo faulty.
Yeah kinda points in that direction. Shutting down during post is often a auto voltage issue. Have you tried manually setting the SA, TX and VDD2?
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
983 (0.22/day)
Processor Intel core i9 13900ks sp117 direct die
Motherboard Asus Maximus Apex Z790
Cooling Custom loop 3*360 45mm thick+ 3 x mo-ra3 420 +Dual D5 pump and dual ddc pump
Memory 2x24gb Gskill 8800c38
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 4090 Strix
Storage 1TB Samsung 860Evo,2*2tb Samsung 970Evo Plus, 1tb Intel 660p nvme
Display(s) Sammsung G7 32”
Case Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni 5.1 usb sound card
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Model O-
Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Origin Core
Finally pc posts normally now. I pushed too much pressure on the rgb ring on the direct die so it must be the problem. Removed it and now xmp works on new mobo.

Pc keep restarting or shut down when run r23 now. Likely the mobo?
 
Top